We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Sandpiper Inn

Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #7 of 35 Restaurants in Leyburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $59
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Superb food and wonderful atmosphere... Will definitely be back. Loved everything, disliked nothing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AngelbabyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    116
    37
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ambelside
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fab Stay, Fab Staff/ Service, Fab Room”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Lovely welcome at this warm and friendly historical Inn. Found our room to be extremely clean, lots of old world charm all around with a touch of modern luxury too. Everything you could possibly need and nothing you didn't. Dinner was well cooked and beautifully presented by the award winning chef in the delightful quaint dining room. Andy cooks a great breakfast just to everyone's personal liking. Oh Joy! Didn't want to leave. 18/06/2014

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WestValeOwners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were looking for somewhere to have lunch on a rainy Wednesday and walked into a couple of pubs in Leyburn and felt they were not suitable for lunch with a 3.5 year old. We found the Sandpiper by chance and walked in to a relaxed and nicely decorated clean pub. The staff were friendly and the choice of food was huge, it came swiftly and tasted fab! Will definitely go again when we are next in Leyburn and would recommend to friends.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Pre-concert dinner”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Three of us had tickets for a Swaledale festival concert in the church nearby at 7.30pm. The Inn opens at 6.30pm and we were assured we'd be fine for having dinner and making the concert. Which we did just! The chef came out to help us with the GF vegetarian options which turned into a delicious halloumi cheese main. One of our party had the swordfish and thoroughly enjoyed that. We each had time for dessert all of which were lovely. All the staff from chef, bar and waitress were very nice. The dining room is a nice eclectic mixture of wooden furniture. The piped music was incredibly annoying with screeching songs played out from the speakers hanging above one’s head which somewhat ruined the dining atmosphere for us. The only other negative was the rather small portions for the price. The main seemed like a large starter.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank muchado55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
methley
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Birthday lunch”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We had a great lunch for my partners birthday, great food and Satine (our dog) performed her ice cube and carrot eating tricks for the staff.

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandpiper Inn also viewed

Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing