We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Streethead Inn

Streethead Inn
Ranked #13 of 41 Restaurants in Leyburn
Cuisines: British, Pub
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in for lunch. Decent beers, friendly service and The food was OK but nothing more. Sausages tasted a bit cheap

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Reviewer6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stumbled on this pub by accident while out exploring the Yorkshire Dales. The friendly landlord managed to find us a table for the Sunday Carvery. The food was absolutely superb with a choice of Beef,Lamb,Turkey,Pork and Gammon or a mix of all of them accompanied by an excellent choice of vegetables, sauces and a delicious gravy. The best Roast Dinner I have had in a long time can’t believe how much food I ate. My husband had a dessert which he said was delicious. With good beer and wine this busy pub was a real find.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank JillS151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a family group staying in a holiday cottage in nearby Thoralby. This pub is large with a decent menu and a specials board.. There is a bar area and separate restaurant/dining room. As we had the dog with us we were asked to eat in the pool room, which was ok but not as comfortable as the bar area.
Staff were friendly and welcoming.
Food was tasty. there were five adults easting, we each had starter and main course. The only minor complaint was about the burger, which was described as 'not the best burger' all other food was described as tasty. Can't really ask for more than that.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda_Northern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2019

This pub is well worth your time and money. Good choices on the menu at reasonable prices, a pleasant bar dining room with other rooms available away from the bustle. We chose a lamb and a salmon dish both well cooked and presented together with a couple of home-made soups which were delicious, hot and filling(with chunks of lovely bread). All for £39 pounds to include an above average tip...and well worth it too. Great evening.....accomm. available and a large camp site very close, so book ahead.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank SmileySussex22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

We picked this place as it seemed to be close to a couple of places we wanted to see - Aysgarth Falls for example. We arrived early afternoon to find the place closed but there is a useful system whereby ringing the doorbell seems to ring the owner - and he quickly arrived in his landrover, offering apologies which really were not necessary. This pub/lodging is situated on the main road, opposite a farm and the views are exhilarating both front and rear.
The owner was welcoming and helpful, showing us to our room upstairs. Old fashioned, quaint, and more than adequate. Spacious ensuite with an efficient shower room. Another big bed (seems to be common 'oop north'), there was plenty of storage space should you be there for longer stays.
The pub is obviously busy in the evenings and no doubt attracted by the restaurant facility. Extensive and tempting looking menu, we were spoiled for choice and watched a seemingly never-ending parade of plates that included a burger resembling the 'Towering inferno' in size.

Her ladyship went for the Lamb chops whilst I settled on the Haddock with chips. (even I couldn't cope with a burger that size). Both were presented with the minimum of delay and filled the plate, which was some going as my wife's vegetable assortment came in a separate dish). All very well cooked, but this time leaving no time for pudding. Such a shame, because the lemon meringue looked to die for.
Breakfast was equally plentiful the next morning, but we were too full for us both to do it justice - but I did my best and the full English was very good.
Staff throughout our short stay were friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hertsbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Streethead Inn also viewed

 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Streethead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing