We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking break at Eastfield Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 20 Leyburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Walking break at Eastfield Lodge”
Reviewed October 21, 2010

My partner and I have just returned home from our second organised walking break at Eastfield Lodge and we have had a fantastic time. We were incredibly lucky with the weather and we had three glorious days of walking in different dales each day, led by Mike who runs Eastfield Lodge with his lovely wife Paula. There was a lovely mix of guests and we all got on well together. The breakfasts are delicious and substantial - just what is needed before a 10 mile walk - and Eastfield Lodge is a lovely welcoming place to come back to at the end of the day. Dinner is provided on the walking breaks and Paula did an excellent job, with the help of friends, in ensuring we all enjoyed our evenings in the dining room with excellent food, plenty of wine and good company. We would definitely recommend the walking breaks to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    22
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
125
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

My husband and I stay here when we took the opportunity to have a rare night away. What a lovely place to stay. Mike and Paula were very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very clean and beautifully furnished and we had a fantastic nights sleep, followed by a wonderful breakfast.
Thank you, we will be back again
Julie and David Hough

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf
2 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We have just returned from a superb walking break in the Dales at Eastfield Lodge. Mike & Paula were excellent hosts. The walking was challenging and fun. Eastfield Lodge is perfectly located for the Dales and the walking although I don't think we lost any weight, Mike's breakfasts were superb! Would recommend to anyone who needs a relaxing time in a beautiful place!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fireman06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We stayed at Eastfield Lodge just after Easter 2010. Mike and Paula are wonderful hosts who are friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The rooms are tastefully furnished, confortable and very clean. Mike cooks a wonderful breakfast and has lots of local knowledge about walking on the Dales. The lodge is situated just a short walk into Leyburn where there are pubs and restaurants serving evening meals as well as a few shops.
All in all Eastfield Lodge provides a very relaxing atmosphere and we have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank light90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Mike and Paula could not have been more welcoming or helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Mike and Paula were away for our 4 night stay but Pol and Lisa who stood in for them were excellent hosts and cooks. The other guests, mostly walkers, were friendly and shared suggestions for itineraries. Our comfortable room had a view over neighbouring gardens towards the church and was supplied with an additional heater which kept us warm in the very cold weather. Rooms at the front have wonderful views towards the hills but are closer to the main road. Breakfast (the same every day) was excellent, with fresh fruit available and no nasty plastic packets.

This is a lovely area for sightseeing and walking and we definitely intend to stay at Eastfield Lodge in the future, especially if we can have such good weather again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aelfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Eastfield Lodge is a lovely end of terrace guesthouse. Our room was very spacious & very comfortable. Excellent en suite facilities. Lounge & dining room comfortable too.
Paula & Michael could not have been more welcoming,helpful or friendly & the breakfasts were huge & delicious.
The only minor gripe is access?
When you drive out onto the main road it's difficult to see traffic coming from the right?
Maybe a convex mirror on the opposite wall???
We certainly would be very happy for a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrywebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leyburn
1.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
394 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
3.3 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clyde House
Clyde House
#2 of 20 in Leyburn
280 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 5 in West Witton
1,502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#4 of 20 in Leyburn
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse
Address: 1 St. Matthews Terrace, Leyburn DL8 5EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Leyburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastfield Lodge is a charming Victorian guesthouse Bed & Breakfast in the Yorkshire Dales with 8 en suite bedrooms and a delightful location a few yards from Leyburn's traditional market square. Set in delightful Wensleydale we offer many special deals including 5 day Walking Breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse Leyburn, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing