We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Winter Walking Break"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 20 Leyburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“"Great Winter Walking Break"”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed at Eastfield Lodge for the Colletts walking break in January. The whole package was excellent and great value. There were nine guests in the group and all generally like minded got along very well. Pauline and Dave really go out of their way to make every little thing just right.
The accommodation is very good and our very comfortable en-suite room with king size bed had loads of space and was cosey and warm. Most of our meals were included with buffet breakfast, packed lunch and dinner on all but one evening.
The daily guided walks of approx 10 miles were all interesting and as you expect in January it was not always warm and dry but Dave is a great leader and has good local knowledge and always a story to tell as you walk.
Then there were the many extras, every afternoon returning from our walk we had tea and home made cake waiting for us in the cosy lounge. One day Pauline sent some flapjack for us during the day and a couple of days we had a bag of jelly babies, all nice touches. When it came to dinner it was all home cooked and there was plentiful wine for those who wanted it.
Overall an excellent walking break and comfortable accommodation.

Room Tip: Room three is large and has a comfortable sofa but is at the front of the house where there is some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    22
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
125
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed at Eastfield Lodge in August 2011. It was thoroughly enjoyable and is in a great location, whether it be for wandering around town or for exploring the rest of the Yorkshire Dales.

As my review is rather late(!) improvements may have been made since my stay as recent reviews suggest no issues. Elements of the twin room I was in were a bit lax (e.g. musty smell in cupboard so I didn't store my clothes in there, pages of guest info booklet stuck together with something resembling mould - this was replaced when I let the staff know), however other elements were stand-outs. The bathroom was lovely and clean, and the lounge was a great place to just sit and relax, especially when the fire was going. There were plenty of booklets available with information on walking tracks, maps etc. which I found to be very useful.

Dave and Pol made me feel very welcome and didn't hesitate to help (including solving the mystery of the boot release on my hire car!). I didn't hear the church bells at all, and the dining room setup wasn't a bother as I was on my own and it encouraged conversation with other guests.

If I ever had the opportunity to visit the Dales again (fingers crossed) I would certainly consider staying again, but would also look around for other options.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyjane31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed there pretty much by accident. The in-laws had booked, and when I came free, I joined them for the weekend.

Pretty much nothing could have been improved. Large, comfortable room. Lovely breakfast, additional sausages and bacon offered then cooked for sandwiches, lovely staff, fast free wifi.

Would unhesitatingly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LichfieldGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We chose this lovely B&B as a link for the larger family get together at Wensleydale House and can't praise it highly enough. It provided lovely rooms, fab breakfast and an extremely warm welcome. Thank you for looking after them so well.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Had a fantastic couple of nights here. We were certainly made to feel very welcome. Bedroom was an excellent size and extremely comfortable, ensuite was very clean and had a great shower. Breakfast had a good choice of cereal, yogurts, fruit etc. Cooked breakfast was served well and enjoyed by all. All the staff and other guest's were very friendly. Allan welcomed us and showed us the various rooms and then offered to book a table for our evening meal at the Sandpiper Inn which was lovely. See our review.
The lounge is a lovely bonus for a B&B with a warm fire and a small kitchen for you to make your own drinks & a fridge for wine etc. Wonderful. Thanks to the TEAM we will look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purple022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Our extended family spent a wonderful weekend at this B&B. It has lovely large ensuite rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a pleasant lounge with fireplace for relaxing and really wonderful breakfasts. The staff were friendly and helpful and everything far exceeded our expectations. Even better, we enjoyed lovely sunny weather to explore the surrounding beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rswith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Just returned from four nights at Eastfield lodge, had a fantastic time in good company. We were made to feel very welcome at this very comfortable well positioned lodge, being just a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Leyburn where we enjoyed a variety of well cooked food from Indian to Italian. Many thanks to Pauline and Dave for the excellent breakfasts which set us up for a days walking or cycling. We will be back.

Room Tip: No preference with rooms - all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juganddenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leyburn
1.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
394 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
3.3 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clyde House
Clyde House
#2 of 20 in Leyburn
280 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 5 in West Witton
1,501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#4 of 20 in Leyburn
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse
Address: 1 St. Matthews Terrace, Leyburn DL8 5EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Leyburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastfield Lodge is a charming Victorian guesthouse Bed & Breakfast in the Yorkshire Dales with 8 en suite bedrooms and a delightful location a few yards from Leyburn's traditional market square. Set in delightful Wensleydale we offer many special deals including 5 day Walking Breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse Leyburn, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing