We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth a visit”
Review of Inspired Chocolate

Inspired Chocolate
Ranked #2 of 8 Shopping in Leyburn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: We are an artisan chocolate maker and our purpose built factory is open to visitors - a popular tourist attraction in Leyburn. Watch our chocolatiers at work and learn all about chocolate from its history, to where it is grown and how it is made. We have example cocoa pods, beans and nibs to view as well as a film to watch and a chocolate quiz. We run workshops most weekends and holidays suitable for children and adults - try your hand at making a chocolate pizza or lolly. We also offer bookable events such as truffle and chocolate classes as well as parties. We have an on site cafe serving premium coffee, homemade cakes and savoury light bites (such as panini's etc). The cafe also has free WiFi. Our factory shop is crammed with our chocolate creations for you to browse or indulge. Together with a loose chocolate counter and a selection of giftware and hampers you are sure to find a lovely gift or special treat. Free parking, accessible facilities, toilets and nappy change.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Reviewed September 23, 2013

good place to go to liked the idea that you could see the people working and making the chocolate but agree with other reveiws that the choclates are abit on the expensive side but you donot have to buy any. just look around. my husband and i had a lovley cup of hot chocolate it was fab well worth a visit

Thank lesley53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Owner at Inspired Chocolate, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Many thanks for the positive review.
Due to the labour intensive process we use our cost are never as low as mass produced products , which tend to be used as a bench mark.
We intend to stay a free attraction unlike many other attractions.
Again many thanks for the positive review on a damp and miserable day in the Dales.
Regards
Jim & Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"chocolate pizza"
in 25 reviews
"an industrial estate"
in 7 reviews
"cakes"
in 13 reviews
"small factory"
in 4 reviews
"chocolate products"
in 3 reviews
"short visit"
in 6 reviews
"gift ideas"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 13 reviews
"quick tour"
in 2 reviews
"shop sells"
in 2 reviews
"small attraction"
in 2 reviews
"viewing area"
in 2 reviews
"worth doing"
in 2 reviews
"quick visit"
in 3 reviews
"free attraction"
in 3 reviews
"information boards"
in 4 reviews
"children aged"
in 2 reviews
Filter

169 - 173 of 177 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited the shop as staying in local area and brought our 2 children. I thought the prices were ok, if you want to just buy something small for the kids, there are some good options. The girl in the cafe, I think she was scottish, was very nice and helpful giving us some local tips of places to go etc and myself and son had the hot chocolate which was lovely, I liked the idea of the chocolate stick in it. The girl serving behind desk was also very nice and helpful.

Thank michwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine H, Owner at Inspired Chocolate, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback
- much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We visited the Little Chocolate Factory today and bought 6 White Chocolate Cointreau Truffles and a packet of Dark Chocolate Buttons. The buttons were only 59% cocoa solids and I expected at least 70% which you would expect in a comparable product. The Cointreau truffles were most disappointing as no orange flavour could be tasted by any of the four people in our party. The Chocolate Factory is very well laid out with viewing areas but I would be very wary about purchasing any of the truffles without first sampling.

Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine H, Owner at Inspired Chocolate, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

I am sorry you were disappointed with your chocolate choices.
We are grateful for any feedback which we can then improve our product further.
We compromise by using a 58% belgian chocolate which gives us a sweet enough balance but yet also gives an intensity expected of dark chocolate. Some chocolate with higher cocoa solids become very bitter and would not work with our filled chocolates.
We shall review the cointreau chocolate truffles - we use cointreau and do not add any further orange flavouring - we shall add some more cointreau to intensify.
We regularly have samples available - however as a commercial enterprise with no charge to enter , we have to have to be careful to not give away all our product.
Many thanks for the comments and we will endeavour to rectify where possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I recently visited the little chocolate shop, with me two cousins and sister, first of all we had a look round the chocolate making area which was quite interesting to see how the chocolate is made. Following this we moved on to the cafe area and were greeted by a very helpful counter assistant who was very friendly. The area was small but comfortable and the cakes on selection were excellent. After sitting in the cafe for 10-15 mins we moved on to the shop area, the chocolates are extremely expensive for what you get but this is understandable because it is "proper" chocolate. Upon buying some smaller chocolates the service we received was almost rude because my cousin chose a certain type and the shop assistant put a different chocolate in and told her they were the same. At the end if the day she should have given my cousin the exact chocolate she wanted as she is the customer. The assistants attitude to the job isn't very good either, sometimes it's polite to smile and look like you enjoy your job. Apart from the service from the shop asssistant we had a nice time at the chocolate shop.

Thank cornforth_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine H, Owner at Inspired Chocolate, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Many thanks for your comments.
As the owner and currently working in the cafe area - many thanks for the compliment.
I have taken the matter up with the staff member.- and apologise.
We sometimes do change the shape of the chocolates, but the customer should have received what they preferred in shape.
I you would contact us by telephone or e-mail, we shall send the correct ones free of charge.
Many thanks for you comments and we shall, repeat shall, increase our service standard in our shop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We called here whilst touring the area and the first thing that hit us was the gorgeous smell as soon as we walked through the door. It has a small cafe area where they serve all things chocolate and good. My granddaughter thought she was in heaven. If you visit this charming place you will find you can walk through this small factory and watch the chocolates being hand made then enjoy a cup of hot chocolate (other drinks are available) and we availed ourselves of the delicious chocolate fudge cake. Whilst you are eating and drinking there is a very interesting video on how the chocolate begins as a plant right through to the finished product. As you progress through the place there is a shop which has the most amazing chocolate dlights, animals and they will even take on commissions as I discovered when wanting something special for a birthday for someone who has most things. We thoroughly enjoyed this chocolate experience, a must for chocolate lovers.

Thank Angela U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine H, Owner at Inspired Chocolate, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Many thanks for your positive review.

Whilst we will not always be everyone`s cup of tea, we strive to keep our chocolate at the best of quality and remain a free exhibit even in these economic times.

Very glad you have enjoyed our chocolate experience and have taken the time to tell all.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inspired Chocolate also viewed

Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Inspired Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing