We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't even fry an egg”

Berrys Farm Shop & Cafe
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Leyburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't even fry an egg”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stopped off here with a friend for a light lunch and we both chose to have "Ham Eggs and Chips" from the menu. When it arrived the eggs placed on the slice of quite nice looking ham were undercooked to the point of being "flibby" and "snotty", (how else can you describe undercooked fried eggs?). We pointed this out to the waiter, and he said he would take them back and cook them a little more. A few minutes later the plates reappeared with the eggs almost solid and the previously cold ham now mildly warm from I assume the whole plate being pinged in the microwave to cure the undercooked eggs . It would have been so much nicer if the eggs could have been cooked properly. I can't believe that any cheff with a bit of pride in his/her cooking would send out a plate of food in that state. Perhaps the cheff needs to go back to cookery classes and brush up on how to cook eggs!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ivydenegh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    80
    21
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a fabulous breakfast!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stopped by this lovely farm cafe for breakfast recently and it is one of the best we have had. Well cooked and good portions but the best bit was that the sausage, bacon and (huge slice of!) black pudding all looked and tasted wonderful. Pretty decor, friendly staff and even animals in the courtyard to keep the children amused. We will most definitely be back to try out the lunches.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank freya136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lovely farm shop and cafe”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Produces all meat on farm or locally, great chutneys and cheeses etc and lovely cafe. Very clean place and great staff, worth a visit as relaxing and chilled

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Whilst staying in the Dales with my family we revisited Berrys for a coffee. As usual and like most visitors, after seeing the food being served my husband ended up having the delicious beefburger and scrumptious chips.I had a salad bowl and other family members had ice cream and scones and jam, yum, yum. Everything was top quality and very well presented. Looking forward to our next visit!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely family lunch”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Delightful family lunch, children (7 & 9) thoroughly enjoyed the kids platter, which included sandwich, crisps, very fresh fruit and a delicious cookie. My cream tea was super, warmed scone.. Will definitely be back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank chictravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berrys Farm Shop & Cafe also viewed

 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Aysgarth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Berrys Farm Shop & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing