We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing too much trouble!”
Review of Grove House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grove House
Ranked #3 of 20 Leyburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nothing too much trouble!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

great place ...........friendly, faultless & good value, some really nice touches fresh fruit at breakfast and cafetiere in room. good town centre location. Luxurious room more 4* standard - this is not a B&B

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jedlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove_House_Grove_Sq, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Many thanks for your great review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed our special choices at breakfast and appreciated your room condiments.
We also liked your photos.
Regards
Jean & Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
93
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely b&b with lots of character. Jean & Nigel are very friendly and make you feel at home right from the start. We received homemade cake & tea on arrival which was a lovely touch. The room was perfect, very clean. Great breakfast which set us up for the day. We are only sorry we didn't book for more than one night.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove_House_Grove_Sq, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our "home from home" B&B.
Regards
Jean and Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Fabulous place to stay in Leyburn with lovely hosts Jean and Nigel. We were made most welcome throughout our stay. After been shown to our room which was beautifully decorated and immaculate waiting downstairs in the snug was a cup of tea and cake. Had a great nights sleep and then served a fabulous breakfast. Lots of choice on the menu and all the food sourced locally and perfectly cooked. We were sorry that we had not booked longer, however will be looking forward to a return trip. Great place to stay and welcomed cyclists, we had bicycles with us and Jean and Nigel have a secure bicycle store, just the job. Great area to visit and Grove House well located. Treat yourself and visit Grove House you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexR728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove_House_Grove_Sq, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We really appreciate your lovely comments and hope your charity bike ride wasn't too gruelling due to the awful weather. We look forward to seeing you both again and hopefully for a longer stay next time.
Regards
Jean and Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskoga, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2014

As "B&B hoppers" we first thought Grove House to be a bit over our budget, but soon found it worth every penny.
In this 1600 cent'y building we found ourselves cared for to an embarrasingly high extent!
When you go here, do mind all the details this couple have thought of, for your stay to be just memorable.

Room Tip: As this house is so old, spaces are somewhat limited (this is well compensated by the charm and atmo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staffan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove_House_Grove_Sq, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our 1757 Grade II listed building. It was lovely meeting you both and hope you haven't had to use the umbrella too much!!!
Regards
Jean and Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Visited end of may. A very warm greeting by Jean. Very cozy snug place. Room and en-suite very clean and comfortable with lots of homely touches. Breakfast was fabulous (best bacon we have tasted for a long while) and YES, we got to see the chef, Nigel, who was allowed out of the kitchen for compliments! Just a lovely couple, who also gave us a great recommendation of where to eat in the town. Superb stay and we would love to return sometime.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove_House_Grove_Sq, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and the bacon is thanks to our great butchers at Campbell's of Leyburn. Hope to see you both in the future.
Regards
Jean and Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bridgford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We've stayed at Grove House twice over the last few months and will definitely go again. Nothing is too much trouble for Jean and Nigel. They are very welcoming, the rooms are immaculate and the breakfasts are superb. Highly recommended for a weekend in beautiful Yorkshire.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneAbba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove_House_Grove_Sq, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
It was lovely to see you both again and with friends this time. Glad you achieved your recce of the area ahead of the Tour de France weekend. Look forward to seeing you all again.
Regards
Jean and Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough england
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Jean and Nigel make you feel at home the minute you walk into their lovely house. The rooms are spotless and the attention to detail is immaculate. The breakfast menu was what you expect from such a lovely couple.We only stayed the one night, but intend to return for a weekend asap.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cowton57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove_House_Grove_Sq, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Swaledale room. We're happy you appreciated our attention to detail. Looking forward to seeing again soon for a longer weekend break soon.
Regards
Jean and Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leyburn
2.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
405 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clyde House
Clyde House
#2 of 20 in Leyburn
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 5 in West Witton
1,522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House

Property: Grove House
Address: 8 Grove Square, Leyburn DL8 5AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Leyburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grove House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove House Leyburn, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing