We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely lovely!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Bolthole

Cozy living room with 40 inch Smart TV, and Blu-ray DVD
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cozy living room with 40 inch Smart TV, and Blu-ray DVD
Snuggle up or stretch out on the cozy sofa - the choice is yours! Warm your toes in front of the woodburner while watching your favourite movie
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Cozy living room with 40 inch Smart TV, and Blu-ray DVD
Snuggle up or stretch out on the cozy sofa - the choice is yours!
Warm your toes in front of the woodburner while watching your favourite movie
Spacious sitting room
Fully equipped kitchen
Dine in after a lovely day out in The Dales!
Plenty of room for a relaxed dinner
Spacious master bedroom
Choose a good book to read or just watch TV relaxing in the leather armchair.....
And relax.....
Wake up to the sight of exposed beams in the vaulted ceiing
Mirror mirror on the wall - this is the most relaxing cottage of all
Bathroom refitted in 2014
Recently refitted bathroom
Cozy second bedroom with full-sized bunks
Welcome to The Bolthole!!!!!
Leyburn, only a few moments walk from the cottage
James Herriott's Watersplash!!!
The heart of The Yorkshire Dales!
View from The Leyburn Shawl across Wensleydale
Aysgarth Falls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Leyburn, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deborah H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely lovely!”
Reviewed February 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Bolthole is a beautifully converted, tastefully decorated, well equipped cottage in the heart of Leyburn. We had a lovely weekend, exploring, eating out, and really enjoyed the cottage. Would love to return. Thank you Nick - you have created a little gem! Darren, Deb & Daisy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. I'm glad you had a great time, Darren, Deb and Daisy!
Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monksy57
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay, very convenient”
Reviewed February 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for the weekend, very well situated in the fabulous market town of Leyburn. A very cosy traditional cottage with all modern requirements.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda W
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Peaceful, Perfect”
Reviewed January 8, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We spent a wonderful Christmas here. Fiona was incredibly helpful even the day before when we asked if we could get in a little earlier so we could make visiting times at the hospital. Fiona checked with the cleaners and we were able to get in early. Thank you

The cottage was spotlessly clean and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. It is decorated beautifully has a very comfy bed and a great shower. The bedding was lovely (so good I have ordered some). The kitchen is well equipped, I cooked a large Christmas dinner and had everything I needed.

We took our 2 dogs with us, they loved the log burner. The flooring is very sensible for canine visitors and wet weather (we rolled the rug up when we arrived as we didnt want wet dogs ruining it!).

The bolthole is very central and there are beautiful countryside walks on the doorstep and the local pubs are lovely and there is a great choice.

We wouldn't hesitate in booking the Bolthole again and would highly recommend it.
Thank you for sharing your beautiful cottage with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything it was perfect.
Liked least: That we didn't stay longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham243
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy and clean”
Reviewed November 17, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The bolthole was one of the nicest cottages we have stayed in ,well equipped and clean but I'm sorry to say the traffic noise spoilt it and we couldn't rate it 5stars for that reason the area was lovely but unfortunately we wouldnt return to this particular cottage .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the area
Liked least: the traffic
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed after reading earlier reviews”
Reviewed May 22, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

stayed at the cottage for week after reading good reviews, we found the cottage a bit tired and in need of a redecorate and good clean. We found crumbs between the settee seat cushions, kitchen cooker and hob greasy, cobwebs on bedroom ceiling, carpets are getting a bit grubby. having said this the bathroom and shower were good and the bed cumfortable

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2015
I am so sorry you were disappointed but do thank you for your feedback. We have invested heavily in the cottage over the last 12 months including a new bathroom, sofa and other items which guests have really appreciated. We will look into the cleaning issues you mention and have already investigated your comments on the carpets as I think you left a note in the cottage which was fed back to us. Thanks again for your point of view.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
128are
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great second stay in a fab cottage”
Reviewed January 16, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The Bolthole is in a great location in the centre of Leyburn in the Yorkshire Dales. The cottage itself is very clean, tidy and homely. The facilities include wifi and a good size TV (ideal for X Factor!) and all modern facilities that are sometimes lacking in these types of property. Ideal for short stay or longer the downstairs has an ample living room and the kitchen is well fitted with a large table. We have stayed here twice and wouldn't hesitate to stay again, in fact we'll be in touch soon to book. The owners are evidently house proud and the standard does not feel like a 'rental', it's more like staying in someone's home. Highly recommended (the only difficulty was trying to keep our little pug in the kitchen at night).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2015
I've just found out how to respond to these review!!! Rebecca, thank you so much for such a glowing review! We do love our cottage and enjoy our stays there - we used 15 years of "holiday cottaging" ourselves as our research for our own cottage and we are so glad that you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you both back again!!!! Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed November 15, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

First cottage stay in North Yorkshire and we picked a real gem with The Bolthole. Location is perfect, and the cottage is nigh on faultless (door lock is slightly tricky) but that is being really pernickety....the attention to detail for the guest is faultless...you feel totally relaxed and at ease...10 out of 10 ...bed was really comfy and without hesitation would highly recommend and will be back...even our dog ( yes dogs allowed) was at ease and even barked at passers by to protect his new home!....well done!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fire
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing