We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation & great location.”
Review of Dale's Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dale's Haven
Ranked #9 of 20 Leyburn B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Stayed here on a "boys own walking adventure" for a week.

Stayed the first night in the annex, a room just outside the main building which was cosy & fine. Would have been happy to stay there the whole week but there is no WIFI reception there currently.

Moved inside after the first night to the Manhattan room which was spacious, nicely appointed & had a really comftorble & large bed. Lots of nice little touches too, like a complimentary chocolate in the fridge & free bottle of water & nice (not the horrible cheap ones you sometimes get) biscuits.

Breakfast was excellent (& if you get in early & get the window seat - the view is superb) & at night there is a good selection of pubs and restaurants (recommend Safron) to pick from.

Martin & Alex were great hosts & went the extra mile (even offering to come & get me if I suffered mid walk collapse!). Fabulous.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony_davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 92 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2010

This is quite a good located base, right in the town of Leyburn and therefore close to everything. Good also for any trip further into the dales. We stayed here some years ago when it was under different management. We were allocated the room called 'Chocolate'. It gives the feeling of being shoved in a friend's spare room and is strangely configured with a 4'6"double and a single bed which looks like it shouldn't be there. The decor is I suppose, meant to convey warmth and smoothness of chocolate but just looks dated, dark and dingy. The shower is nice if you like the bracing contrast of scalding then freezing, but the enclosure and room is spotlessly clean. The hosts got the dates wrong on my booking confirmation and although I paid in full at time of booking and was sent an acknowledgement, I was asked to pay the 'balance' on departure.......basic stuff that you shouldn't get wrong when running a business. Maybe if we'd stayed longer a better impression would have resulted. I can only comment on what we found during our two night stay. But on the positive side, breakfast and coffee was very good quality.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thetruthgoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Stayed at Dales Haven during our retirement Grand Tour of the North (Oct 2008) and again en route to Scotland (Sep 2009). Both stays really enjoyable and excellent value for money. Rooms spotless and beds comfortable. Breakfast passed the sausage test with flying colours. Dales Haven is excellently located in the heart of the town, at the top of the market square, and with its own off-street car park to the rear it's about as good as you could wish for in a B&B. Alex and Martin looked after us so well that we're bound to keep coming back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJBowieRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Had a lovely time at Dales Haven, room was very clean and well decorated. Breakfast was of a high standard and the owners were very attentive.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timmaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

We stayed here with 5 friends for a weekend visit. As we'd booked 4 rooms we managed to see them all before everyone checked in. The rooms are comfortable, but all double beds are only standard 4'6" size and all ensuite bathrooms are shower only - it would be nice to relax in a bath after a day walking on the Dales...The owners are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is fantastic - probably the best bacon I've had in years!! B&B is not my usual style - but Leyburn has no hotels. We've tried 2 other B&Bs in the area and this one is by far the friendliest and has the best breakfast. I would recommend this place to friends - but expect cosy family accommodation rather than smart "hotel wannabe" style.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quin-i-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Choosing a guest house for a short family break with 3 children under 4 can be so tough! The Dales Haven was spot on though. We stayed in a great comfortable family room with a fridge and drinks facilities and lots of soft towels. There were special touches such as teddies on the beds and a good selection of dvd's for children and bedtime milk. Martin and Alix were so understanding about the noise levels we created in the morning too! They made fabulously fun breakfast for the children and even sold us a delicious chocolate birthday cake for us to take to a party! There are some lovely walks locally and swings and we came back to tea and ice-cream on the terrace at the rear. The guest house is comfortable enough so that you do not feel embarrassed about your children being children, but you don't compromise on quality of food and service.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madgeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2009

The rooms were fabulous, as was the breakfast. The owners were incredibly friendly. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pebbles1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leyburn
2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
431 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#2 of 4 in West Witton
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clyde House
Clyde House
#2 of 20 in Leyburn
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#3 of 20 in Leyburn
178 reviews
4.9 mi away
Temple Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Westfields Farm B&B
Westfields Farm B&B
#1 of 2 in Bellerby
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale's Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale's Haven

Address: Market Place, Leyburn DL8 5BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Leyburn
Price Range: $94 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dale's Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale's Haven Leyburn, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing