We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B for walking in the Dales.”
Review of Dale's Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dale's Haven
Ranked #8 of 20 Leyburn B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Had a lovely time at Dales Haven, room was very clean and well decorated. Breakfast was of a high standard and the owners were very attentive.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timmaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 92 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2009

We stayed here with 5 friends for a weekend visit. As we'd booked 4 rooms we managed to see them all before everyone checked in. The rooms are comfortable, but all double beds are only standard 4'6" size and all ensuite bathrooms are shower only - it would be nice to relax in a bath after a day walking on the Dales...The owners are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is fantastic - probably the best bacon I've had in years!! B&B is not my usual style - but Leyburn has no hotels. We've tried 2 other B&Bs in the area and this one is by far the friendliest and has the best breakfast. I would recommend this place to friends - but expect cosy family accommodation rather than smart "hotel wannabe" style.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quin-i-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Choosing a guest house for a short family break with 3 children under 4 can be so tough! The Dales Haven was spot on though. We stayed in a great comfortable family room with a fridge and drinks facilities and lots of soft towels. There were special touches such as teddies on the beds and a good selection of dvd's for children and bedtime milk. Martin and Alix were so understanding about the noise levels we created in the morning too! They made fabulously fun breakfast for the children and even sold us a delicious chocolate birthday cake for us to take to a party! There are some lovely walks locally and swings and we came back to tea and ice-cream on the terrace at the rear. The guest house is comfortable enough so that you do not feel embarrassed about your children being children, but you don't compromise on quality of food and service.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madgeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2009

The rooms were fabulous, as was the breakfast. The owners were incredibly friendly. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pebbles1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

stayed here on two occasions first a catered murder mystery weekend.excellent food ,hilarious script,never laughed so much.lovely themed rooms and big breakfast next morning all locally sourced.
second time for golf ,same excellent service from hosts martin and alix.golf at bedale (on the 2 for one list ) and catterick.other courses in the area also

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leoSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

We booked in at the Dales Haven for their speciality Murder Mystery Weekend. Everything was sorted for us, from being informed as to our character though the post along with all the info we needed. On the night we had an absolutely delicious 3 course home-cooked meal by Alix(owner) and the murder mystery was hosted by Martin (owner) who was an hilarious host for the evening!
The Dales Haven is welcoming, friendly, great local food, spotless, modern...the hosts, Martin & Alix go out of their way to make it a special stay!
We will definately return and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burtie-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed February 18, 2009

This is a lovely B'n'B, and this was the second time we'd been there. We stayed in a family room (1 adult, 1 teenager and 1 nine year old) which was warm, comfortable and immaculately clean. I had a peek at some of the other rooms and they are all differently furnished and decorated, which is a nice change from some identikit places I've stayed in.

Breakfast was delicious, and my son's coeliac disease didn't cause a bother - I'd told the owners in advance and there was no fuss; they knew how to cater for him which was brilliant.

Alix and Martin, the owners, are friendly, helpful and professional. We head up to the Dales about once a year, and will be returning to Dales Haven. I have already recommended it to friends and family heading up to the Dales, and have no hesitation in recommending it here.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leyburn
2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clyde House
Clyde House
#2 of 20 in Leyburn
301 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#2 of 4 in West Witton
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 4 in West Witton
1,657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#3 of 20 in Leyburn
176 reviews
4.9 mi away
Temple Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale's Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale's Haven

Address: Market Place, Leyburn DL8 5BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Leyburn
Price Range: $94 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dale's Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale's Haven Leyburn, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing