We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Friars Head

Friars Head
Ranked #13 of 32 Restaurants in Leyburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $65
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
kidderminster
Level Contributor
156 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had dinner there twice in the week we spent in Bedale. The food was good, service excellent and the price not too heavy for what we got.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    30
    23
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“family party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

an 80th birthday celebration for a disparate group of 16 people hosted in a private area. The food was excellent and all meals came at the same time. Service was discreetly attentive - we felt welcomed and unhurried. Easy to find and easy to park.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Saturday evening meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

After spending the day touring the Dales we stopped here for dinner as it had been recommended by our hosts. Menu was promising, unfortunately the food when delivered was disappointing. Pigeon stuffed with haggis was over cooked to the point of dry and the rowan jus was too sweet and overpowering. Tuna nicoise was ok but hard to mess up really. We chose not to have desert and with water and one pint of beer the price was £34.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharpe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An evening out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We were staying in Patrick Brompton and had been recommended to Friars Head. We are so pleased we went, in fact during our week stay we ate there on two occasions. The food was beautiful, a very relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere. The staff are very attentive and even recognised us on our second visit. Locals speak very highly of Friars and I can see why

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
147 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Quantity over quality and at a price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

First impressions were not good....stained, dirty seats covered in food debris. Starter of twice baked soufflé was a gelatinous mound in an alarming shade of yellow drowning in a sea of tasteless sauce which tasted of little other than grease. Linguine pasta with mushrooms was fairly bland and boring but filling especially with the accompanying salad and veggies. You won't leave here hungry but you may not exactly enjoy the food either. It is also overpriced for what it delivers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allexie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friars Head also viewed

 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Friars Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing