We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find, in a delightful town”

The Black Swan Tearoom
Ranked #4 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Black Swan Tearoom, located in the picturesque market town of Helmsley in the North York Moors, is both charming and traditional, and offers a fabulous quintessentially English Afternoon Tea experience which even the connoisseurs of Afternoon Tea wouldn't be able to fault. In addition to the traditional Afternoon Tea which changes seasonally making best use of the fresh, local produce available, a wide selection of brasserie style dishes are also served making the Tearoom the ideal place to meet up for lunch or simply just a cup of tea and a chat.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful find, in a delightful town”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was a fantastic lunch stop for us on our way to see Rievaulx Abbey and Ampleforth Abbey. Indeed, it clearly would be a fine stop for any meal, at any time of day. We were recommended by some well-informed local women in Welburn close to where we stayed; we also noted the Black Swan in a most useful brochure we had, "Delicious Trail". We thoroughly enjoyed some excellent, imaginative food. Service also was delightful

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    98
    39
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wimbledon 2013”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We came to the Wimbledon Event that was held for the Men's Finals on Sunday 7th July. We didn't quite know what to expect, but it was lovely. We were met on arrival with a glass of champagne and shown to our table in the garden at the back of the hotel. A beautiful setting for a warm Sunday afternoon. The garden was decorated in a tennis theme, with decorations around the garden and on the tables - complete with a bowl of 'Murray' mints for the occasion. We were all left with details of how the afternoon would be spent - when we would be served our afternoon tea etc. There was a big screen at the top of the garden so everyone could see the tennis clearly.All the food was lovely, and the desserts with the tennis theme were a lovely touch. All staff were friendly and helpful - although clearing tables at match point didn't go down very well. All in all a really pleasant day - helped by the result of course. Only gripe is maybe staff needed to wait until breaks in play before clearing up, but still worth every penny - thanks!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Afternooon Tea”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Afternoon Tea Experience is amazing, a wonderful selection of freshly baked cakes and sandwiches and they'll box up anything you can't manage for later too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmfirth
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“how nice!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

called in for just a drink and had a lovely time. it is very posh .loads of different rooms with some lush furnishing and a lovely beer garden. slightly pricey but you pay for the setting

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiaHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Disappointing lunch in the tearoom!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have previously stopped at the Hotel and experienced the superb taster menu for dinner. On that occasion the service and experience were second to none. I would even go so far to say that I enjoyed the meal more than the Michelin starred meal at L'Enclume (Cartmel). What a disappointment the lunch was in the tearoom!! The head waitress was distinctly frosty and all I can assume is that she was having a very bad day. The ham sandwich was perfectly acceptable if a little underwhelming. For £8.50 I would at least expect some salad on the side. I would rush back to the restaurant but will give the tearoom a miss until they up their game.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Swan Tearoom also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Black Swan Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing