We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see if you're in/around Helmsley”
Review of Helmsley Castle

Helmsley Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$97.02*
and up
York Super Saver: North York Moors and Whitby Day Trip plus Yorkshire Dales Day...
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must see if you're in/around Helmsley”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

As always, the English Heritage staff were wonderful - friendly and full of information. The visitor's center is very modern and pleasant, and I really enjoyed the short walk up to the castle. The east tower is such a landmark, but I have to say I especially loved my visit to the west range and west tower.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kbunje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    201
    29
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Helmsley Castle”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Really enjoyed exploring the castle ruins and that area that had been restored. Very good interpretation panels which gave a goo impression of how the feature might have been in the past. Very good views from the castle of the surrounding areas. I had a very short time for my visit and would easily have spent 2-3 hours. Very helpful staff in the visitors centre.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fraser C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My partner, granddaughter and myself love looking round old ruined castles and this one didn't disappoint us. The rooms were lovely and you can imagine yourself living in a castle. We walked around the perimeter on the top of the moat. The outside of the castle was as beautiful as the inside.. Our next trip will be the near by Rievaulx abbey.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

As always English heritage score 10/10 for making history come alive. Helmsley castle is adjacent to the town and provides a complete day out. We went on a Friday which is market day. A traditional market square that has been the home of a market for centuries. The parking availability was very limited because the market takes up a lot of the car parking space and the car park next to the castle was full as well. Thought we might have to turn round and leave but we found parking space on a town street and had to walk in. So go early on Fridays or leave it for another day is our advice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Barnes746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Castle is great to visit. Steeped in history and the audio handsets are a real boon to the visit. Lovely site to walk around especially in the sun! a very enjoyable morning.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bluexandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helmsley Castle also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Helmsley Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing