We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely day out”

National Centre for Birds of Prey
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.31*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The National Centre for Birds of Prey at Duncombe Park is the largest collection of these amazing birds in the north of England. You will find over 100 owls, eagles, vultures, falcons, hawks kites and more in a spacious 10 acre setting. We are a leader in the captive breeding, welfare and conservation of these awesome birds. Please don't compare us to other bird of prey centres, we are in a different league! We have a team of trained bird who fly three times a day (11.30, 14.00 & 16.15 ) Different birds are flown at each demo. We even have an indoor area if the weather isn't being kind. In recognition of the quality of the National Centre for Birds of Prey - we won our category in the White Rose Awards, the UK's largest regional tourism awards.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

All the other reviews are correct and I can add little more !
But I wanted to say what a great day it was watching the birds of prey.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Billy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    846
    99
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Janice smith”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Came across the centre purely by seeing the sign in Helmsley. Wish we had found it sooner. Great place. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Will be returning many times in the months to come.

Helpful?
Thank janicesmith63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

A delightful couple of hours in a fabulous park setting, just 15 minutes walk from the town centre. The birds are magnificent and the 'show' is informative, interesting and the enthusiasm and knowledge of the bird handlers was terrific.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank northumbrianbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“a Must Do in North Yorkshire”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We went there yesterday with our 3 yr old. It was a great place with some beautiful birds to see and the flying shows are fantastic entertainment. The grounds are worth visiting on their own (assuming decent weather).

The cafe is also decent and there is a playpark for young kids.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tammer1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
1 review
“Fantastic birds of prey”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is a fairly new facility in duncombe park in Helmsley. It has a great variety of birds of prey including lots of owls. There are great flying displays with friendly and clearly very dedicated staff. The staff are really happy to stop and chat about the birds and their conservation. We went with adults, grandparents and two teenagers and everyone enjoyed it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 768Mrmagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Centre for Birds of Prey also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to National Centre for Birds of Prey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing