We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

National Centre for Birds of Prey
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.11*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The National Centre for Birds of Prey at Duncombe Park is the largest collection of these amazing birds in the north of England. You will find over 100 owls, eagles, vultures, falcons, hawks kites and more in a spacious 10 acre setting. We are a leader in the captive breeding, welfare and conservation of these awesome birds. Please don't compare us to other bird of prey centres, we are in a different league! We have a team of trained bird who fly twice a day (three times in the summer) (11.30 and 14.00) Different birds are flown at each demo. We even have an indoor area if the weather isn't being kind. In recognition of the quality of the National Centre for Birds of Prey - we won our category in the White Rose Awards, the UK's largest regional tourism awards.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Brilliant day out, brilliant displays and brilliant staff and value for money. All the birds were very clean and their shelters were excellent. Very child friendly

Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Heap, Owner at National Centre for Birds of Prey, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

I'm glad you think we are child friendly - we certainly try to be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

866 - 870 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were so impressed with this centre. A huge range of birds can be seen and they are obviously well cared for and much loved. The staff were outstanding, the flying display memorable, and the space given to each bird is extraordinary. Moreover the site itself is extremely attractive. Do go!

Thank James_M190776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

only been open for a year - but there are lots of interesting birds to see and to watch flying.Staff were very knowledgeable and helpful.

Thank sharon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Heap, Owner at National Centre for Birds of Prey, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank for your kind comments. We aim to be the best - its good to know that we are getting there!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had a fantastic time today at the ICBP. We hadn't actually intended to visit (as we didn't even know it was there!) and instead was headed through Helmsley when we noticed the signs.
The birds are of course amazing and I'm sure lots of people have commented on how many types there were and also the sheet number of them, but I'd like to give a special mention to the staff.
Both the lady in the gift shop and those working in the centre was absolutely lovely. They were extremely friendly and welcoming and also very knowledgable and could answer any question thrown at them. It's so nice to see people who genuinely enjoy what they do and it's obvious they all have a real love for the birds.

Great day out, great value and set in the most beautiful countryside. Please make the effort to go!

Thank DaveHaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Have been meaning to visit for a while but was waiting for a sunny day. I've been to a number of bird of prey centres and this is the most impressive in terms of variety of birds, quality of accommodation for the birds and the type of display. The handlers clearly love their birds and know their "personalities" very well. We had a great day and will definitely be returning for another visit. Looking forward to hearing about the special events such as photography days.

1  Thank TME67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Heap, Owner at National Centre for Birds of Prey, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

I am glad you had such a nice day to visit - I do hope this is the start of spring! We'll be updating the website shortly with the dates for our photography days. Linda Wright is a professional wildlife photographer and an ex teacher - there really is no one better at helping every photographer (whatever their level) take better pictures. Linda will be hosting our photography days - we'll be providing some stunning backdrops - and some birds too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Centre for Birds of Prey also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to National Centre for Birds of Prey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing