We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Natural Beauty and Power - Fantastic!”

National Centre for Birds of Prey
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.52*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The National Centre for Birds of Prey at Duncombe Park is the largest collection of these amazing birds in the north of England. You will find over 100 owls, eagles, vultures, falcons, hawks kites and more in a spacious 10 acre setting. We are a leader in the captive breeding, welfare and conservation of these awesome birds. Please don't compare us to other bird of prey centres, we are in a different league! We have a team of trained bird who fly three times a day (11.30, 14.00 & 16.15 ) Different birds are flown at each demo. We even have an indoor area if the weather isn't being kind. In recognition of the quality of the National Centre for Birds of Prey - we won our category in the White Rose Awards, the UK's largest regional tourism awards.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Guisborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Natural Beauty and Power - Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

I have had several days out an a wonderful Owl evening at ICBP Duncombe since it opened this year. They have a fantastic collection of birds from the smallest Burrowing Owls (very cute for the kids) to the Vultures and Steppes Eagles. The flying demonstrations are unbelievable and the commentary most informative from enthusiastic falconers whose love for the birds and their work comes across clearly. As photographers we have always been made welcome and there is nowhere else you can get so close to the action. Different birds at each demonstration make for a full and most enjoyable day.

In between the demonstrations you can either look round the aviaries or take a stroll through Duncombe Park and its extensive grounds. Absolutely wonderful Yorkshire attraction with very friendly and helpful staff.

Have a great day out and support conservation at the same time.

Oh and don't forget the wonderful town of Helmsley with its castle next door.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stefan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    813
    95
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Really lovely day out. We arrived in time for the first display of the day, after which there was just the right amount of time before the second to have a wander around the site and see the huge variety of impressive birds (and have a cup of tea!). After the second display we wandered into Helmsley for lunch, and then headed back to the centre for the final display of the day. Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable and, given the variety of birds and displays, the admission price was fantastic value for money. We will be returning!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirkempk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a lovely day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We arrived at the Birds of Prey centre on a lovely cold day with brilliant sunshine. We visited all the bird, went to the first demonstration, walked into Helmsley for an hour and came back for the second demonstration. Unfortunately, we then had to return home so missed the third demonstration. The staff were very friendly and extremely information. Would recommend this centre as a must-see for anyone visiting Helmsley.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireHarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Birds of Prey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

This International birds of prey centre is situated in the beautiful estate of Duncombe Park. They have a huge selection of birds including two injured Vultures from Spain.
The flying demonstrations are definitely worth seeing and the two girls we saw were so informative and enthusiastic it was great to see.
A must see if visiting Helmsley.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tinytobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Remember to duck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a really good few hours at the ICBP. The flying displays were well put together and very informative. The staff were very well informed and very approachable.
There was a large selection of birds from all over the world.
Just one point you may wish to remember. Regardless of whether you are watching or, in my case, taking a photo, you need to duck when the big eagle soars over your head. Otherwise you will have it bounce off your head.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Centre for Birds of Prey also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to National Centre for Birds of Prey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing