We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good "set up".” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scotts of Helmsley

Scotts of Helmsley
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A fabulous family friendly, award winning fish and chip cafe. Just voted Best Fish and Chip shop 2013. Either take away or eat in. With 80 covers there is plenty of room, coach parties welcome. We aim to provide the best fish and chips available from sustainable and local sources at a value price. Gluten free and veggie chip shop chips. Served with a smile. Our premises are not your usual fish and chip cafe and are a pleasurable and inspiring place to spend some time.
Aylesbury, Bucks
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A very good "set up".”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

A very well laid out restaurant with a very good range of choices on the menu. I cannot get use to the idea of the comparatively early closing times which prevents using the facility for an "evening" meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daydreamer143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hello and thank you for the review,
Pleased you liked the place and the opening hours are simply driven by customer demand.
We open later, 9pm Friday, Saturday & Sunday. And we are also open later now for the next 6 weeks of the summer on the other days.
Thanks again
Regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    113
    50
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
northeast england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stopped off for coffee and cake on 20/7/14 the sun was out and everything was perfect including the coffee and cake

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smartyspanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hello and thanks for the review,
We are a fish n chip cafe, so more than just fish n chips.
Coffee and cake are also very popular, with a wonderful dessert display to greet you on arrival.
Come back soon.
Regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We visited Scotts take away last week and it was the best fish and chips I have every tasted - and believe me I've tasted a few! I love fish and chips but sometimes the grease doesn't like me, there was no grease at all on these. We had a take away in a box and sat on a seat in the market place watching the world go by, when we finished eating there was no trace of grease in the bottom of the box at all, amazing! The young lady who served us was very friendly and efficient too. Certainly will and already have recommended to family and friends. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flossie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hello and thanks for the great comments,
"Simply the best" - sounds like a song, Tina Turner I think.
Great place to be, sitting in the market square watching the world.
But there is a lot more to Helmsley than the square, search visit Helmsley for all the info.
All fish is cooked to order, using Chef Shane's secret recipe batter and we always serve with a big smile.
Thanks again
Regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice but not brilliant ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Ate lunch here with my family and while the staff were friendly and efficient the food was merely nice. We had high expectations based on the reviews and their award last year but we felt we'd had better, maybe our expectations were too high.

Helpful?
Thank macnaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hello and thanks for the review,
Obviously we are disappointed with your comments and can't understand them. You can see from many reviews on here that the majority think we are excellent, so maybe you were expecting too much?
All I can say is we serve fresh quality food, at value for money , served with great smiley service constantly.
That's why we get the positive review and win awards.
Thanks anyway. Can't win them all, I guess?
Regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice fish shame about the rest”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We visited this restaurant on the 5th of July. Myself, husband and a friend. It is a nice place we had been the year before and found it to be ok.We were given a table and left menu's, after about 15 mins the waitress came back to take our order. they were busy but not rushed off their feet as there were empty tables. My friend ordered the" Fabulous Cap’n Scott’s Special" at £9.95 I ordered the mince pie and chips. My husband who is just recovering from surgery asked if it was possible to order just the 8oz fish on its own. he was told by the young girl this was indeed ok. We had quite a lenghty wait for the meal to arrive. when it did arrive we had to ask for knives and forks as there were non. My pie was no better than the ones you buy in a supermarket. The Special arrived without any tatrtar sauce and bread bun and the the 8oz fish was the same size as the special which was advertised as 5oz. The fish was however very tasty as were the chips. We finished the meal and went to pay the bill only to be charged for two specials. when I asked about this the girl said it was the same price for just the fish as it was for the special. Really???? The staff were very good at apolgising for not getting things right. Will not be going back think everything was overpriced and £10 for a piece of fish was not on.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elystoreuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hello and thank you for your review, which really is not very helpful to anyone.
I have stated on here before, if customers have issues, why do you not speak to the manager on the day rather than write lengthy critical reviews?
On the day in question it was a unique one off day for more than one reason, which I will explain and I will answer your points.
Regarding the food, the £10 fish was a actually a fish salad, as that is what was requested.
The pies are made by an award winning baker in the north east and not from a supermarket.
The day, 5th July was the day of the steam rally in Helmsley and whilst the restaurant may not have been too busy, there was a 100 yard queue out of the takeaway for most of the afternoon. Our busiest day of the year.
To compound that, one of our staff fainted & collapsed and was receiving paramedic treatment upstairs when you were in the restaurant. She was taken away in an ambulance and all staff were clearly affected and distracted by the events.
I hope you do try us again.
Regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotts of Helmsley also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts of Helmsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing