We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great traditional chippy”
Review of Scotts of Helmsley

Scotts of Helmsley
Ranked #6 of 37 Restaurants in Helmsley
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A fabulous family friendly, award winning fish and chip cafe. Just voted Best Fish and Chip shop 2013. Either take away or eat in. With 80 covers there is plenty of room, coach parties welcome. We aim to provide the best fish and chips available from sustainable and local sources at a value price. Gluten free and veggie chip shop chips. Served with a smile. Our premises are not your usual fish and chip cafe and are a pleasurable and inspiring place to spend some time.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We went here on the back of a discount provided when you visit the nearby International Centre for Birds of Prey (there is a reciprocal arrangement should you visit Scott's first).
The service was slow, but we put this down to arriving mid-lunch on Good Friday, and the place was full. Everyone seemed to enjoy their food, as did we.
The menu is decent with a range of fish and sizes of portions, plus a kids' menu. Not the cheapest, so make sure you use the discount, but the food was delicious and nicely cooked.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravellerMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hello and thanks for the great comments,
Good Friday proved to be our busiest day ever, so you picked a busy day. The whole team worked really hard that day to ensure all customers enjoyed great food and service.
We have partnered with the birds of prey centre and have a reciprocal 20% discount when presenting receipts from each outlet. The centre is a major addition to Helmsley's attractions and should be on everyone's list to visit.
Hope to see you back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

605 - 609 of 763 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

Enjoyed fish, chips and mushy pies at this restaurant. Lovely clean place with attentive, friendly staff. Our meal was freshly cooked and the fish had lovely crisp batter, we only waited a short time to be served, but it was lunchtime during the week.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terri1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hello Eve and thanks for the review,
Chef Shane and the team aim for high quality, value for money and great service and it sounds like you experienced that on your visit.
Spread the word and come back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Went here last week, after having it a while ago I thought it still would be very good. The fish was excellent but the chips where hard and under cooked, this is very poor. Both parts of the dish need to be to the same standard I hope this changes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Andrewhelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hello and thanks for the review,
Delighted the fish was excellent but disappointed at your comments on chips. We have the same supplier, the same variety and the same Chef. We blanch the chips first to ensure better flavour, crispness and consistency, so a little puzzled!! Please speak to staff or the manager when you're in the restaurant.
Apologies and hope to see you back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Lovely easter sunday in Helmsley,staff in the shops so friendly, and best part of the day was fish and chip lunch Scotts, very warm welcome from the girls and chef Shane, so full at lunch so called back after a long walk to enjoy a cup of Yorkshire tea and gorgeous apple crumble, we will be back again very soon,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank webbyeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hello and thank you for the review, with great comments.
Chef Shane and the team work hard to ensure great quality and service at Scotts, but as you say all shops in Helmsley aim to offer a warm welcome. We are all in a business group aiming to promote Helmsley with our own web site for anyone to visit helmsley.
Delighted you were tempted back by the puddings and hope to see you back soon. That's maybe the way forward, have fish n chip lunch, go for a walk and come back for pudding!!!
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We went here on Good Friday so it was quite busy, but the staff worked hard to serve everybody as quick as possible. This chip shop is expensive as far as fish & chips go, but worth it! You must try it if you visit Helmsley.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hello Eve,
Good Friday proved to our busiest day ever, so we were all a bit stretched that day, but the team all worked hard to ensure customers were served as quickly as possible.
Prices are constantly reviewed and we are mid range for our area, which maybe different to Hull?
Hope to see you back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotts of Helmsley also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts of Helmsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing