We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A coffee stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Feathers Hotel

Feathers Hotel
Ranked #7 of 35 Restaurants in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Feathers hotel is situated on the market square in Helmsley on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors. This country inn offers a delightful mix of historic charm and Yorkshire hospitality with high standard of cuisine and modern standards. Its 23 bedrooms have all been recently refurbished. The hotel has an excellent local reputation for good food and fine ales. The Pickwick Bar with its low ceilings and open fire boasts a bar which is the longest piece of work created by Robert Thompson, famous for his Mouseman furniture. Bar meals are served in the cosy Feversham Bar using the very best local produce, the restaurant serves good English food both at lunchtime and in the evening. There is private parking at the rear of the hotel.
Leeds
Level Contributor
323 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A coffee stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Visited here on New Years Day en route home from a cold, wet and windy Scarbough in need of coffee and cake. The hotel's public rooms are several and all very cozy and welcoming but wish we could say the service was good.. We wanted coffee and cake and was told the 'food is finished' at 3pm so just ordered coffee. This was delivered to our table by a waitress who just slammed the tray on our table - no comment or anything. Whilst enjoying our coffee we noticed tables being prepared so assumed that even if food was off then they must be opening up again in the evening. Our question is that as a hotel why wasn't there any cake or scones or even a dessert to offer us. Will not be visiting again

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    175
    54
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good value food and pleasant surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We visited this hotel a few days before Christmas. It's right in the market square of Helmsley; a lovely location. We ate in the pub, which is an integral part of the hotel. Beautiful Mouseman furniture. The food was very reasonably priced. We both had baguettes - large portions, one was steak and onions and the other brie and cranberry (delicious) which arrived with chunky chips. Fast and courteous service too. We would definitely eat here again. I would recommend this venue.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
158 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

The pub and the area outside was heaving with late afternoon drinkers when we walked into town but we managed to book a table with little problem. Restaurant very busy but service was efficient and the food was really excellent - I had fish and my husband had pork, both absolutely spot on, could not fault anything about them, would certainly eat here again.

The only negative was being unable to avoid having to listen to the loud self-important drivel being spouted by the most boring man in the pub - possibly in the whole of the North Riding - standing at the bar. Not the pub's fault though, obviously.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank alchemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“excellent sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Short and sweet but not a carvery fan but this is the best ever and fresh good food.
Loads of meat, yorkshire puddings are huge which if you dont get a starter then you can have the yorkshires and gravy as a starter at no extra cost. Staff lovely and great beer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ipad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst attending a Dinner at the Black Swan. I booked it online and got a good deal on a superior double room. The room was huge with a lovely big bed and very clean. I have two criticisms there was no light near the dressing table or electrical sockets which made drying my hair and putting make up on very difficult. I thought I might be able to put my make up on in the bathroom but there was no light working on the mirror in there as we only stayed one night not a huge problem but would have been on a longer stay. On a positive note staff were friendly and helpful even lending my husband a phone charger when he had forgotten his. The breakfast was superb well cooked and locally sourced

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sue1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Feathers Hotel also viewed

 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing