We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcolme awaits”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Black Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool uk
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“warm welcolme awaits”
Reviewed June 6, 2010

excellent stay ,outstanding food , helpful staff , all descibes the Black Swan at Helmsley . We recently visted with our two year old Westie Dog Molly and what a warm welcolme we recieved, nothing was to much trouble for the staff and Molly even recieved a welcolme bowl and treats !! . This is an excellent location and with much to do in Helmsley itself you can be in Whitby /Scarborough in just under an hour with many other attractions within 30-40 mins . We enjoyed tea in the walled garden any downsides well none really .So stay at the black swan enjoy the food company and you will want to return soon ,we will be !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulmaureenandmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    390
    161
    86
    39
See reviews for
194
1,072
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Didn't book through tripadvisor as we normally do and have commented more fully on booking.com. Agree totally with others about tired rooms, especially if you get a discounted rate and are stuck in the back rooms. Dinner a joke especially at £33 a head although unlikely you'll eat their standard stuff and will go for chef's specialities which are a lot extra.

Didn't eat there as noted other reviewers disliked the nouvelle-cuisine style which we can't abide. Went to the pub across the road which was great.

What was totally inexcusable was the lack of heating in the back rooms that night and no attempt to rectify. The sysytem wasn't broken - the person on reception told me they didin't have the authority to turn it on. Laugh - I nearly cried. They gave us a 1Kw fire to heat the room - no way even though we left it on all night.

It's the only time the wife and I have gone to bed with pullovers on.

Breakfast great but never again will I stay in a boutique style hotel. That's the second time and both have been expensive disasters.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2010cm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We booked our trip to the Black Swan in spite of some of the reviews written, basing our judgement on the review that said how the hotel would appeal to some, but not others. If you want boutique, don't come here. If you want a quirky ex-coaching inn with fabulous food, then do come here!

Our room was very pleasant, and the restocking of teas, coffees, etc in the evening was a lovely touch. The staff were wonderful, friendly and attentive. Our room overlooked the lovely little town of Helmsley. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were a delight.

We tried the gourmet taster menu on our second night, with the extra option of the wine choices, and it was the best meal I have had in a very long time! Absolutely outstanding and highly recommended. You get 6 small courses of the finest food and a wine to match. The other meals we ate were of equally good quality and a sensible amount of food. If your idea of a good meal is a vast overflowing plate of food, then the Black Swan will not be your cup of tea. But if you love excellent quality and the feeling of having eaten sufficient without being overstuffed, then it really is the place for you! The choice of wine was great, and we will be returning in the autumn to try the new gourmet menu.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fmslater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Stayed 2 nights for once a year get way with hubby. A little shabby and tired, asked to move room as room very pokey, and very low ceilings. Room given in need of good spring clean. Staff very helpful and courteous. Restaurant food good but took over 2 hours to be served 3 courses. Rather pricey.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latchfordfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

My partner and I decided to have a short break in York and stumbled upon The Black Swan's website and immediately booked up. Helmsley itself is a charming little village. Little delis and bakers. Would definitely recommend the Cinnamon Twist bakers, delicious cakes and scones for very reasonable prices!

On first arrival we did find the reception staff quite unfriendly but didn't take much notice. The decor in the hallway is a bit outdated but is easy to see past. The rooms themselves have a nice traditional feel with complimentary bottles of water, flavoured tea and biscuits. Nice touch.

We booked in for dinner that night. The restaurant was very formal, we didn't feel that comfortable at first but soon settled in. The restaurant was definitely our favourite part of the whole trip! The staff were absolutely excellent! They talked us through each course and seemed genuinely happy to serve us. The food was delicious and presented beautifully! The food looked like little works of art on the plate! Delicious.

In our deal we also had use of the heat experience at the Verbena Spa. What a lovely way to spend the day. However I think we were the only ones to brave the outside pool in the middle of April! Elemis products in the changing room, left looking all dewy skinned.

We also had our breakfast delivered to our room. The staff were so friendly when they arrived with it. Lovely touch.

We had a fantastic stay at The Black Swan. A little bit pricey, worth saving up for though, even if it is just for the lovely meal at night.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxymackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambs
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2010

very VERY OVERPRICED AND BEDROOMS in desperate need of decoration. Most of the chairs and settees in need of refurbishment. Tables were very squashed into the dining room- couldn't hold a private conversation. Staff circled us all the time not a relaxing and gentle atmosphere. Breakfast portions were very small.Didn't think the menu and how the food was served fitted the setting. Nothing like this hotel used to be. Thought the tea room that used to be the bar was the best part of the hotel. Had to wait ages for drinks that were ordered no bar as such. Very disappointing and very very overpriced.Have written to the owner but hasn't replied.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mothrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Pretty village, hotel poor though the bed was very comfortable. Most furnishings could do with a makeover. Went with friends as a special treat for the lady's birthday. £175 for dinner, bed and breakfast!! Portions of food were miniscule,( beef the size of oxo cubes!!!) had I required works of art, then I would have gone to a gallery. Dinner was priced at £33 PER HEAD - WITH SUPPLEMENTS ADDED FOR SOME DISHES. As the hotel is in "walking country" one would expect hearty meals and not a plate of garnish. We will stick with Loftsome Bridge in future - their food is second to none. This was a very disapointing excursion and we will not be repeating it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.0 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
705 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
668 reviews
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,017 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Property: The Black Swan Hotel
Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing