We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Black Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is a real time review!
It is our last evening of a four night stay. There are not many hotels where to stay can be described as a delight, but this is one of them. The history is that of an old coaching inn. In past years it has been part of Trust House Forte and MacDonald chains. Now I understand it is privately owned.

If you want the ambience of a very comfortable traditional coaching inn, high quality friendly attentive service and an excellent restaurant, this is the place for you. Another reviewer suggests that a Michelin Star for the restaurant shouldn't be far away. He's right! The attention to detail and the quality and presentation of the food is what sets this restaurant apart.

We stayed in what I believe is the oldest part of the hotel...oak beams creaking floors, solid oak doors! Our room was tastefully decorated and very clean with an unbelievably comfortable bed.

If you want to explore York, the North Yorkshire moors and the east coast of Yorkshire there is no better location than Helmsley. And for us there is no better hotel to stay. Thank you everyone at the Black Swan.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlotte061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,073 - 1,079 of 1,663 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here on 1st April, and booked the March into Spring deal in the Junior Suite room. The small afternoon tea included was lovely, plenty to put us on for the afternoon and the room was very pretty - apart from the bathroom, which was very disappointing for a 'Suite' and the shower didn't work. We mentioned this but nothing was done about it. Also included in our deal was a 3 course Market Menu dinner & a bottle of house wine. We decided to pay extra for a nice bottle of wine. The food was amazing - we both really enjoyed it and can't fault it in any way. Presentation & taste fantastic. The main issue came the following morning when we checked out. My partner settled the bill whilst packing up the car and when he came back up to the room he queried it with me, as he wasn't sure it was right and as I had booked it he wanted to double check. We had been charged for 2 bottles of wine at the full price rather than the difference for the one bottle we had above the value of the house wine included with our deal. You would think this would have been very easy to understand & rectify but the receptionist had major problems with this!! We were kept waiting for ages while she queried it with several people & still couldn't get a grasp of what the issue was. Once I had persuaded her we weren't trying to rob them (felt like a criminal to be honest) she then couldn't work out our refund. Very simple mental arithmetic but she wouldn't believe my calculation. Eventually she agreed the refund we were due but we got no apology or a smile as we left. I felt this was very poor customer service. We spent over £200 for one night as a special treat and this totally let the experience down and we left feeling very deflated. Also no apology or acknowledgment when we mentioned again that the bathroom had issues and we couldn't use the shower. I really expected more from this Hotel, it's somewhere I have wanted to stay for a long time & they really need to rectify the receptionist's attitude towards their guests. Otherwise would have been a lovely night away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracymb1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed on a one night break and everything about the hotel was exceptional. All of the staff were helpful and friendly. We had a lovely afternoon tea in the lounge, which is a great place to sit and watch the world go by. The room we had was spotless and beautifully decorated. We even managed to sit in the garden area in the evening to escape from the hustle and bustle with a glass (or two) of champagne. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Can't comment as our room was lovely with a view over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyMrsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Following your recent stay at the Black Swan, we are delighted to read that you found all aspects of the hotel, from the staff to your bedroom, to be exceptional - thank you for your lovely comments and hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

A flying visit, en route North to Scotland. This quaint, characterful hotel is in a classic market-place setting, with charming, individual, businesses near-by. A lovely location from which to explore, on foot, bike or otherwise. We stayed on Friday night, in a quiet, classic room with a small wardrobe. Great, reviving coffee on arrival - always a good start! The quaint lounge with plenty of welcoming seating provided a very pleasant environment in which to unwind.

The bed was especially comfortable, with gorgeous linen. Just the sort of bed you want to take home!

The bathroom was in need of some TLC as the extractor fan had clearly not done its job sufficiently well. Lovely toiletries and an efficient shower over the bath soon diverted my attention, however.

Dinner was superb; faultless. A good wine list, too, with some favourites, at reasonable prices. Attentive staff, careful about allergies; efficient service although the restaurant was busy. Despite the people upstairs apparently herding cats at either end of the night, a good night's sleep preceded a delicious Breakfast.

What a shame we could not stay on... We plan to linger longer, probably choosing a larger room, next time we are heading North.

When booking a room, make reservations for Dinner, too.

Room Tip: If you don't like creaking floorboards, liaise with the staff before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gapdecader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The staff were more than helpful. The food was exceptional as was the service in the dining room.
The room was restful and well appointed and although a short walk this meant it was quiet.
The location was good and the lounges comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Truly lovely setting over looking the market place with beautiful rooms, a lovely relaxing atmosphere and delicious food, especially the taster menu although have been many times. Compliments to the team. Highly recommended and cannot wait to return again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireLass215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Called in for a spot of lunch on Easter Saturday which was a busy time but easily found a nice spot in the bar area, which is a nice relaxing room. Service was good with a friendly female member of staff attending to us. We selected a Caesar salad and a good pint of Theakston's Bitter. We were previously advised to try the Black Shiraz wine which we did very nice indeed. A good spot to call in would definitely go back for a night stay and evening stay when next in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.0 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
814 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,121 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
86 reviews
11.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range: $169 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing