We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Black Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

my wife and I had a delicious afternoon tea today, the selection of finger sandwiches , cakes and cream scones was very special and the service was first class. this was by far the best we have experienced, [ better than a well known place in Harrogate ] . we would recommend it to any lover of the " afternoon tea experience" !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are so pleased to read that you enjoyed everything about your Afternoon Tea experience, from the food to the service, and we look forward to seeing you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    360
    152
    83
    38
See reviews for
181
1,007
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed at the Black Swan to celebrate our friends 50th birthday. Lovely buzzing atmosphere in the hotel, the rooms were very comfortable with everything you could need. The meal in the restaurant was superb followed by a super breakfast the next morning. Will be returning soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eliz43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Following your recent stay at The Black Swan, we are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend with us celebrating your friend's Birthday, and that you found your rooms to be very comfortable and the food both at dinner and breakfast to be superb. Thank you for your kind comments and hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

A perfect stay !! The room was nice and the food was out of this world . The room was a little cold but a radiator was delivered which soon sorted that. The evening meal was very nice from start to finish and staff are very helpful. The prices for drinks in the square are a bit pricey and cheaper in the hotel which was a surprise .
All in all though I would highly recommend . Paul ( Doncaster )
P

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Redy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

After a very stressful week we were lucky to have a couple of days break at this charming hotel. On arrival we were efficiently checked in and our bags taken to our rooms for us. We stayed in room 1 which was well decorated and maintained with a plentiful supply on our hospitality tray. The hotels decor is traditionally modern and well cared for especially considering the age of the hotel, and provides plenty lounge areas with cosy log fires to keep you warm. All of the staff that we met were extremely helpful, polite and sociable and made us feel so welcome. Now for the food ..... Fantastic. what a coupe for the hotel to have a chef like Paul Peters, quality ingredients, creativity and an obvious passion for cooking, equals some of the finest food I have ever eaten, and I have eaten lots over the years, the food coupled with excellent waiting staff made the whole dining experience top class, and with 4 menu choices offered something for everyone, fabulous. I hope at some point to be lucky enough to return to this gem in Helmsley, thank you all at The Black Swan for an amazing couple of days.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CandyM888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband & I spent 2 nights at The Black Swan, on "The to dine for" package, as a birthday treat. We stayed in Room 8, in the older part of the building. It has a wonderful window seat, great for watching the world go by in the main Square. The bed was huge & v comfy, and we had everything we could need in the room. The food was fantastic & service excellent. Helmsley is such a lovely place, lots to see and do nearby. We visited Duncombe Park & the birds of prey centre; also Riveaux Abbey. A great w/e!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alison29Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

First the bad: we arrived at 5:30pm but the only place serving alcohol appeared to be the pre-school creche, so we had a drink elsewhere.
The decor is very tired.
Our superior room was not. Red and black on grey with a burnt beige carpet......yes burnt!
I recall a similar bathroom in my grandparents home although I seem to recall one could adjust the water temperature in the shower at Gran's - and her shower could accommodate someone over 5'8" who wanted to wash their hair - so long ago, now.........
The restaurant menu itself is pretentious and largely impenetrable and as a consequence, unattractive.

The good: the staff were attentive, helpful and very obliging. The food, once ordered, was excellent. Dinner was superb and breakfast very good.

On balance, we would eat there again but never stay again (at the price) without a thorough refit etc. There are a lot better places to stay locally, for a lot less money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Black Swan overlooks the town square of a beautiful North Yorks Moor country town. The front is most attractive and inside the rooms wander and interlink in a rather higgledy piggledy way, betraying the age of the inn and the fact that it seems to have been built up from three distinct adjacent buildings. The bedrooms are small but quiet and cosy. The public rooms are great. Small low-ceilinged rooms, some with open fires crackling in the corner or on one side.
The dining rooms interlink and there is a separate room which was ideal for the party of sixteen with which I was travelling. The evening meal was simply superb. Great food served by a team who cared about it as well. Breakfast was OK but not quite up to the evening meal. You can walk out of the hotel and find beauty all around you. I went for an early morning stroll and when I returned at 7 am the fires were being lit and the hotel was beginning to "breathe". It is not a five star hotel in the sense of a great city hotel. This is a country hotel in a small market town. It must, in my judgement, be compared with others of its ilk. As such I rate it five stars and we will be going back to further explore the North Yorks Moors National Park

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.0 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Property: The Black Swan Hotel
Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing