We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Black Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have just arrived home after spending an unforgettable 4 nights at The Black Swan over Christmas. Everything was just perfect the room, the food, the atmosphere,and the staff here are just in a league of there own with special thanks to James on reception, Laura in the bar and lounge, Rad and Alison in the tea room, and last but not least Stuart nothing is to much trouble for any of the staff here and I would just like to extend my thanks to everyone who has made our Christmas just such a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,627)
There are newer reviews for The Black Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,627 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

My partner and I ( and our dog ) spent a wonderful Sunday Evening here recently and took advantage of one of their special offers....half a bottle of champagne in the room on our arrival ( already chilled), a five course tasting menu with wine pairing, a lovely room overlooking the square and breakfast the following morning. Great Value for the £98.00 pp ! The evening dinner was very very nice indeed with great attention to detail.The room was comfortable and our dog Rupert was made very welcome. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: The Feature rooms are extra and are in the " old" part of the hotel. The newer rooms at th...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galileo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed on 22nd December 2013 on the Sunday is the new Saturday Package. We were greeted in the room with a chilled half bottle of champagne on arrival which set the tone nicely for the stay. The room was spacious with an array of complimentary toiletries, coffees etc. On going down to the bar we were greeted with roaring log fires and excellent service. The ambience was relaxed and pleasant. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Following a long walk with the dog we then returned in the evening for our 6 course extravaganza. Each course was put together beautifully with a different taste sensation with every mouthful which just got better as the meal went on. I could not fault this at all and each dish was complimented ideally with a selected wine. At the conclusion we then retired again to the bar where yet again another log fire was creating a perfect atmosphere. Went to bed extremely contented and the beds we're comfy and large. The overnight stay was topped by a fantastic breakfast and again I had time for a quick coffee and read of the papers in the snug where yet again the fires were burning. A quick walk around Helmsley completed the experience with its market town shops deli's and cafés. I would not hesitate to recommend this whole experience and will return again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

That was brilliant...Food: Amazing, Room: Amazing, Service: Impeccable. The guys at Black Swan made our Christmas Party something to be remembered. Thanks everyone for all the time and effort you put into everything. We loved the 10 course taster menu too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The hotel looked lovely and 'Christmassy' as we arrived in the quaint market town of Helmsley. We we greeted with a warm welcome from the staff and relaxed with a drink in the bar area by the fire. The hotel has a really cosy atmosphere, with it's wooden beams and log fires but is deceptively larger than we expected with an array of winding corridors and hidden snugs to explore. The room was very comfortable and our every need was catered for by the friendly staff. After a day of shooting it was great to get back to the comfort of the hotel. The rest of the evening was spent realxing at the hotel and the highlight of our stay was the evening meal in the beautiful Gallery Restaurant. The 10 Course Signature Menu has to be some of the best food we've ever tasted and the Beetroot and Goats cheese was just incredible!!! All in all a hugely enjoyable stay at the Black Swan - Highly recommended and can't wait to come again and with the dogs too!

Mark, Cheltenham

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank speedyreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Had a lovely stay at the BLack Swan. The 10 course dinner was exquisite, the people friendly and the room was very comfortable and well presented. Also loved the open fire on a cold winters day, will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was our third visit to the Black Swan on a Sunday night - they do a very good special package of B and B,champagne,tasting menu including matching wines for just under £200 per room. As ever we left very happy. Helmsley is a nice spot for an overnight stay. Rooms in the old part of the hotel have character but also creaking floor boards. Each course at dinner was very accomplished but we felt the balance could be improved - hence the overall very good rather than the excellent ranking - with perhaps a little too much sweetness. We finished with a good breakfast. Well worth going to.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.0 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
765 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,078 reviews
11.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
681 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range: $139 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing