We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food, great service, lovely refurbished rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Black Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, great service, lovely refurbished rooms”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have stayed many times over the years and always wanted to go back. This time however the staff at The Black Swan really got everything perfect. Every staff member seemed to really care about our stay, nothing was too much trouble. The food was really outstanding, both in presentation and more importantly flavour. A really comfy friendly place I couldn't recommend highly enough. Looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the market square are nice but a bit noisy, the floor boards also squeak if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gamp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments following your stay at the hotel. I am so pleased to read that all of the team here made your stay perfect, and you found the food to be outstanding, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    401
    162
    87
    39
See reviews for
203
1,095
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Once again our last visit was a delight. We had chosen to stay for our Silver wedding anniversary and opted for the new 10 course gallery signature menu stay and wow what a dream of a menu. Chef Paul Peters has once again dreamt up a delicious tasting menu. My favourite was the Bougin blanc course and the smoking rosemary in the jar did enhance the taste(very clever), my husband has a shell food allergy and has always chef adjusted the course to accommodate this but the tastes were exquisite. We have visited many Michelin starred restaurants and the Black Swan is up there with the best, surely their 3rd rosette is awaiting. From the warm welcome from the reception to the wonderful Jean at breakfast you will feel spoilt as we always do. The nice touches such as complimentary upgrades to the postcard on our return we won't be long till we return in November for my birthday. Well done!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Following your visit to The Black Swan, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, in particular, the new ten course Signature Menu. Thank you for your lovely comments - we've got our fingers crossed for the 3rd rosette! Congratulations on your Silver Wedding Anniversary and we look forward to welcoming you back again next month for your Birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

For the first time in some time, I managed a night away without work commitments. This visit was during a week off, where we decided to stay local and do all those things that you promise yourself to do, but never do!!!

We booked their "Sunday is the new Saturday" offer, which seemed very reasonably priced, including their 6 course taster menu on the evening and a full breakfast the following morning. Wines were also included with the evening meal and we were treated to a half bottle of Champagne to greet us in our room.

The deal breaker for us though, was the ability to take our two Labradors with us. They are very well behaved and enjoyed their stay as much as we did. Fortunately, I had booked a premium room which was at the rear of the hotel, which meant we could use the back entrance, thus not needing to take the dogs through the hotel. There was also plenty of room to put down the dog duvet and not keep tripping over them to get ready.

So, to the stay........................ Just excellent. We were greeted very warmly and given a brief explanation of where we needed to be and how the hotel operates. Our room was large, airy and very comfortable. The bed was massive, as was the en suite. Fixtures and fittings were of high quality and nothing looked grubby or worn. The complimentary Champagne went down a treat as we prepared for our culinary evening.

In the lounge area, we ordered a glass of Prosecco and a glass of Chablis, which were both chilled beautifully, given our menus and allowed time to relax and contemplate the meal. After about 10 minutes, we were called through and the meal began. With every course we were given a matched glass of wine (and it all started stacking up a bit), but they were superb. Who would of thought of having red wine with the fish course, but it worked brilliantly. Each dish was presented with artistry and care, but most importantly, each dish tasted sublime and was cooked to perfection. Delicate little twists occurred in all the dishes which you would never thought would matter, but they do. Taste sensations occurred with each course and mouthfuls to savour became commonplace. Without doubt, one of the best meals we've ever had.

After coffee and a relax back in the lounge area, we headed up to the room, briefly let the dogs out and the crashed on the huge bed............content.

In the morning, after taking the dogs for a quick walk, we went for breakfast, which was an equally wonderful affair. There was an ample selection of cereals, fruit juices, fruits, pastries etc for all tastes and the tea, coffee and toast came quickly and without any fuss.
The cooked offerings were of the highest quality, I had the full breakfast but my partner had smoked haddock with poached eggs in a mustard sauce and said it was sublime. Just a lovely relaxed breakfast in comfortable surroundings.

At all times during the stay, the staff were excellent. Sufficiently attentive to your needs, without being intrusive to your stay. Often, these kind of quality establishments can feel a little ostentatious and claustrophobic, but the Black Swan is quite the opposite. It's welcoming, relaxed and homely.

So after all this indulgence and calorie munching, we grabbed the dogs and went for a beautiful 8 mile walk through the dales and forests at the back of Helmsley, which was gorgeous.

This hotel seems to delight in it's guests enjoying their stay, which is a very rare thing indeed. We will be going again and hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IDavidRowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the hotel. It is always lovely to receive comments such as yours, and we are delighted that you (and your dogs!) had such an excellent stay. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed our Sunday's the new Saturday package along with its Tasting Menu and wines, and that you found your room to be very comfortable, and all the staff to be welcoming and attentive. We really do look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds west yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

my wife and I visited the Black swan as a surprise given by my brother and Julie his wife as part of our golden wedding celebrations .what a charming place is Helmsley ,it was market day when we arrived at lunchtime and we spent a most enjoyable one & a half hours taking in and purchasing from the market stalls.
we then went to the black swan which is at the top of the market square,introduced ourselves and were shown to a table with a view of the square ,our afternoon tea food was delicious and plentiful ,this was a wonderful visit and one that will remain in our memory of our first visit ,but hopefully not our last to the Black Swan

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bremic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
I am so pleased that you and your Wife had such an enjoyable day in Helmsley for such a special occasion - congratulations on your golden Wedding Anniversary! It's lovely to hear that you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the Tearoom's delicious Afternoon Tea. Hopefully we will see you both again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have stayed at the Black Swan before so thought we knew what to expect. We were wrong to be honest because it was better than we remember.
We received an e-mail from the hotel offering us a package called 'Sunday is the new Saturday' for those of you not in the know that is Bed and Breakfast and a six course tasting menu in the evening with accompanying selected wine and a half bottle of champagne waiting in you room.
All this for £198 a couple per night. The room was large,clean and airy and although they didn't say anything I believe we were upgraded. It was very nice and I think it was larger than the room we had before..
Now for the meal. to start there was Gazpacho soup. we were rather wary of this to be honest as we had this cold soup before in Spain and we hadn't been keen. However it was lovely very cleverly done where they put the liquid into the bowl on top of the ingredients that came already in the dish. It was done at the table and so very clever and very very tasty. The next course was Piggies in the garden. A pressing of pork on a salad bed which believe it or not included snap dragon flowers and also little violet flowers [I think they were violets please don't take my word for it and go raiding the garden] It was unusual and tasty.
Then came a fish dish I believe it was sea bream on a bed of samphire and baby leeks.
Following this came the meat course which was Lamb with mushrooms and spinach.
There followed a little taster to freshen the mouth before the dessert which was pistachio with cherry sorbet and of course all finished off with a selection of cheese and biscuits.
Any complaints. Well only one little niggle. The room was lovely but we were awakened at 6.45 by the deliveries arriving as the delivery entrance was just below our room. pity because the room itself was lovely. Highly recommend this deal

Room Tip: Make sure your not above the deliveries entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I have now made 3 visits to the Black Swan and on each occasion the food has been excellent from the beautifully presented afternoon tea to the delicious Sunday lunch. We have not stayed overnight as of yet but from other reviews I would imagine we would not be dissapointed

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCS54Oldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Title says it all. Excellent, though pricey, afternoon tea. Well worth it for a special treat with impeccable service provided by friendly staff. An added bonus is the fantastic countryside around Helmsley which also boasts its own local attractions - Castle, Duncombe Park, Rievaulx Abbey and Castle Howard nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthYorksNitpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Following your recent visit to the Tearoom, we are so pleased to read that you enjoyed everything about your Afternoon Tea experience, from the food to the service, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.0 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 5 in Helmsley
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 5 in Helmsley
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
677 reviews
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,047 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Property: The Black Swan Hotel
Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing