We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Black Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic and Relaxing”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Me and my partner visited one weekend on a whim after a less than enjoyable trip to nearby Knaresborough. Helmsley is a beautiful little village without any of the Royston Vasey vibes some others exude. After a restorative cup of coffee at a nearby coffee shop we went looking for a place to stay. Right in the market center is The black Swan, it's small old world facade masking a larger interior. As you step in the place is very warm and welcoming and great to come in from the cold to.
We checked in with minimum fuss and soon made off to our room. Very clean with nice furniture and finish with good well thought out aesthetics and use of the cosy space available. We had a relaxing bath while listening to music from the television and soon went down to the bar to enjoy some classic cocktails and lovely live music. The barman Thomasz was really on form and we had a lot of fun. We had so much of a good time we were too late for dinner :/ but the restaurant staff were very apologetic and so we opted for room service which was just the ticket. We then chose a cigar from the bar, opting for a late night stroll through the peaceful streets before bed.
In the morning we went down for a full English which had a great black pudding (if that is your thing) and pretty much all that you would want, the staff were extremely professional and polite as were the staff on reception (and pretty much all staff there come to think of it).

Pros:
Clean bedroom and bathroom.
Comfortable bed.
Staff very pleasant and willing to help.
Excellent food and drink.
Idyllic setting.
Traditional charm and ambiance.

Cons:
Windows are not double glazed.
No on-site spa or swimming pool.

A big thanks to all at The Black Swan for a lovely weekend from M Fisher.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    379
    160
    86
    39
See reviews for
187
1,053
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

As with all reviews, i take into account what, where and the decisions i made to the hotel. What room choice i made, the time of year and my expectations.

The Black San came highly recommended, and a previous stay in this area, at The Pheasant in Harome, kept the expectation high.

So what was good?

The location is excellent for the market town and the numerous walks you can do (despite snow and rain). It's a great hotel in a great location. the bar was friendly - locals with dogs, warming by the fire, a wedding in another room. The food was great too, although with one of the menu choices, i was left with 90% side elements, to 10% main item.
Also, our room was well appointed and spotlessly clean.

So why no 5 stars?
It just lacked something in the final hurdle. Our room was at the end of a long (long) featureless corridor (ok, it is narrow) and the exterior of the doors lacked attention. It felt very much like any chain hotel.
Inside the room it was spacious and well laid out, but lacked personality and some furniture was looking tired.
In the bathroom, the toilet roll holder was coming away from the wall. Not broken, but not perfect.
The main thing for mw though was it all felt quite impersonal. Staff were friendly, but i not particularly genuine (ok, some exceptions here). The bar service was functional, as was reception. The restaurant was more engaging though.
Finally, and this is my fault for not reading all detail on the website. Pets are welcome. Ok, there was absolutely no evidence of this in out room (no smell, no hairs) - but the room next door had a VERY vocal dog, obviously left alone. So, 10:30 to 10:50 - lots of continual barking.

All in all, it was good, but I went for a special occasion, and it lacked that special edge.
Great hotel - yes. A Boutique hotel...? Unsure is my opinion.

Room Tip: The old rooms may be smaller, but may offer more personality. If i was staying again, i would try th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the Black Swan for only one evening, but it was a good one. When we checked in we had been upgraded as our booking was for a room that was being re-decorated. We had been put into a feature room and it was lovely. It is a charming, very comfortable, quaint old hotel. The staff were friendly and our meals were very good, the venison melted in the mouth. We would return again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I've been to The Black Swan for a drink before, and finally managed to stay over for a night just before Christmas and - wow! The hotel is beautify and picturesque, the staff were so friendly and helpful, and the restaurant was first-class. There was a slight mix-up with our rooms which was unfortunate however the staff more than made up for it with how helpful they were. 10/10 for this hotel and 11/10 for the restaurant! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Thank you Black Swan staff for a wonderful overnight stay. The staff were great and you were made to feel very welcome from the moment you arrived. Our room was just wonderful, spacious and luxurious. We had dinner in the restaurant, the food was superb and exceptionally tasty, we would definitely recommend staying in to eat. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

the food is to die for , it deserves a michelin star. Service in the restaurant needs to match the standard of the food youngsters needing a little training ie, crumbing down , placing napkins on ones lap, helping seating customers menu knowledge etc , then it would be quite perfect. Our family room was spacious , beds comfy just let down by some of the furniture being a little scratched in places. Helmsley is a quaint market town with interesting shops , not too far from castle howard stately home. All in all nearly, perfect would defo stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archiem3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Yet again we find ourselves at the lovely friendly yet luxe bolt hole I. Helmsley. My husband and I love this place and visit for our Wedding Anniversary and Birthdays etc... The building is stunning and the reception friendly and professional. Parking is to the front, ask for a permit :) We stayed in a lovely room overlooking the gardens, it was warm and inviting and immaculate, the bathroom was bright and the Molton Brown toiletries really added that special treat feel. We had a lovely Black Swan afternoon tea, really pretty and really scrumptious, worth a treat. We dined there after enjoying drinks in the bar, the wine list is extensive and quite reasonable. The restaurant service is amazing and the food to die for. We recommend the lamb and sea bream, also check out the deconstructed apple crumble for the bestest yummiest different dessert ever, nothing like the name suggests. We sat back near the log fire and enjoyed relaxing time until retiring to our lovely room. Perfect and has never disappointed. Would recommend 100%.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pandapopslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.0 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
662 reviews
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Property: The Black Swan Hotel
Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing