We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to come back to after a long day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Black Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place to come back to after a long day”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had heard conflicting opinions about this property but it was conveniently located so I booked anyway.
I was very happy with the experience. The rooms were well maintained, the staff very friendly and efficient and the food was really delicious.
My room was at the back and really quiet.
Highly recommend it and I will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmostHome5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    390
    161
    88
    39
See reviews for
195
1,074
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for my 40th birthday last Friday on the Great Yorkshire Escape offer. Unfortunately we arrived too late to enjoy the cream tea on arrival but never the less this offer is a fantastic deal. Our room was beautiful, glad we didn't upgrade for an extra £30 as this room was perfect, spacious but warm & cosy, large comfy bed, molton brown toiletries, superbly cleaned & the chocolates & birthday message were a lovely touch. We had a drink in the bar before our meal & were shown the signature 6 course tasting menu & wine list. The restaurant was a beautiful intimate dining room but also cosy & welcoming. Our waitress Cat was lovely, really made us feel at ease - friendly, chatty, attentive & knowledgable about the menu & enormous cheese trolley! The food was faultless, we enjoyed every single course. My husband's favourite was the monkfish & mine was the melt in your mouth steak. My birthday was made really special by the sharing dessert served on a large slate with happy birthday written in chocolate sauce across the top in such a beautiful style & of course the complimentary champagne!

Room service breakfast was fabulous, I highly recommend the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon.

All the staff were lovely, nothing was too much trouble, we didn't want to go home! We will definitely be returning on our next special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have just arrived back from a one night stay at The Black Swan and I have to say it was lovely. As soon as we stepped through the door we were made to feel welcome. We were on the Great Yorkshire Escape Package which included a miniature strawberry afternoon tea with a glass of bubbly, a six course dinner in the Rutland Restaurant and a full english breakfast. This was excellent value for money. The six course dinner was out of this word. It was presented beautifully, the service was impeccable and the atmosphere calming. They even changed the dessert on the menu for me as I wasn't too keen on the one they had. Nothing was too much trouble. This restaurant should definitely aim for a Michelin Star as they are more than capable of acheiving one. After dinner we then went into the bar to have cocktails which were amazing, bit pricey but worth it. Breakfast again service was good, good selection of fruit, cereals and yoghurts. We both had the full english breakfast as it was included in our package.The breakfast was a genourous size and my partner couldn't eat it all. Overall this hotel surpassed our expections and we will be definately returning soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We decided to visit the Black Swan for a much needed R & R! We went on the "Winter SOS" package which included B&B and dinner on the first night. I have got to say this hotel "ticked all the boxes" for us. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble for anyone. The food was excellant and the service in the restaurant matched! So much so we had dinner on the second night there as well. We had towels in the bathroom changed whilst we were down having dinner, which is a rarity these days! Good quality toiletries. Good quality teas and coffees in the room as well. Overall a very enjoyable stay and we will certainly return soon.

Room Tip: Check accessibilty if you struggle with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestYorksKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here on the Great Yorkshire Escape offer. This is an overnight stay with breakfast in your room at no extra charge, plus "a light strawberry afternoon tea" with a glass of bubbly, the evening Signature tasting menu and breakfast. This turned out to be good value at £99 each.
The hotel is ideally situated in Helmsley market plave and is a bit of a Tardis as it looks quite smmall from the outside but it goes back a long way and has over 40 rooms. Our room was nice and spacious with nice views over the garden.
The Afternoon tea was taken in their award winning cafe and was larger than I thought with finger sandwiches, tarts and cream scones. They have a spacious bar with Sky Sports (the sound is turned down so not intrusive) that serves real ale. The main restaurant is also spacious and you ar not close to other diners. The signature menu is advertised as 6 courses (although the 6th is the cheeses which you have to pay extra for) and you have the option of taking a glass of matched wine with each course which is what we did. Not noted on the menu is that you get some lovely warm breads and a bisque to start (so I suppose it is really a 6 courser). The food was excellent and the staff looked after us very well with nothing being too much of a problem. The cheese board is well worth the extra as you are given an Aladin's cave of choices. What really put the icing on the cake was the complementary breakfast in the room. As a nice touch when we got home they sent us a hand written postcard thanking us for the visit. We will definately be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the garden. Although not a busy village for traffic, there is no traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordiedaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Myself and my fiance stayed here on our way to and from Scotland to break up our journey. Wow, what an amazing experience. The food and accommodation were fabulous but to us it is the service that makes or break an hotel and The Black Swan surpassed all of our expectations. We cannot wait to return and would reccommend it to anyone looking to stay in a beautiful little hotel in a picturesque village!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We enjoyed some super quality downtime at The Black Swan, with the market town of Helmsley also playing a part as it’s a super country location on the edge of the North York Moors.

The hotel is a country hotel gem, set in Helmsley’s main square with open fires, shooting parties, country weddings and even the permitted dogs all mingling well together. Deals such as the Great Yorkshire Break offer (including 6-course ‘signature’ tasting menu dinner and afternoon tea with fizz) represent outstanding value for money. We combined this with another [less grand] D,B+B offer for a 2-night stay and some flexibility was allowed on when taking the meals and extras which was nice.

A main attraction is the fine dining on offer with excellent local produce widely used and imaginatively cooked. Service is extremely pleasant and friendly but a little disorganised, perhaps even verging on the hapless, but somehow in a ‘good way’. Examples of this being our wine and dinner bills were wrong both evenings and freshly prepared breakfasts not as ordered as the waitress relied on memory not notes. This was fine for us, but if they aspire to higher awards like a coveted Michelin Star they will have to improve on this aspect.

Our [standard] room overlooking the garden was nice and very comfortable with a great aspect of walled gardens and main town church. However. the bathrooms are certainly tired (cleaned very well but mould now endemic on the tile grout and sealant) and the old metal window in the room was rusting and couldn’t be held open as the required fixings were missing. Wouldn’t do in a metropolitan or boutique hotel but The Black Swan doesn’t pretend to be these and its country, slightly dilapidated vibe and battered, well lived in charm allow them to get away with it – though any further unchecked decline would certainly negate this.

The hotel competes with the Feversham Arms (its sister hotel) and the nearby Star at Harome, amongst others. We haven’t stayed at either but both are significantly more expensive. Given everything the Black Swan has a lot going for it and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms have a lovely aspect. For older or less mobile people, negoitating the narrow corr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.0 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
711 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
669 reviews
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,023 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Property: The Black Swan Hotel
Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing