We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Black Swan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$111
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lastingham Grange(Lastingham)
$249
$231
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Old Manse Hotel(Pickering)
$140
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Three Tuns Hotel(Thirsk)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,767)
Filter reviews
1,767 results
Traveler rating
1,004
441
185
95
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,004
441
185
95
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea roomafternoon teagallery restaurantfeature roombrown toiletriessix course tasting menusconesmarket squarelovely hotelevening mealbar areawedding partyrestaurant staffmarket menubottle of champagnespecial occasionlamb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,426 - 1,431 of 1,767 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We decided to visit the Black Swan for a much needed R & R! We went on the "Winter SOS" package which included B&B and dinner on the first night. I have got to say this hotel "ticked all the boxes" for us. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble for anyone. The food was excellant and the service in the restaurant matched! So much so we had dinner on the second night there as well. We had towels in the bathroom changed whilst we were down having dinner, which is a rarity these days! Good quality toiletries. Good quality teas and coffees in the room as well. Overall a very enjoyable stay and we will certainly return soon.

Room Tip: Check accessibilty if you struggle with stairs.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestYorksKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here on the Great Yorkshire Escape offer. This is an overnight stay with breakfast in your room at no extra charge, plus "a light strawberry afternoon tea" with a glass of bubbly, the evening Signature tasting menu and breakfast. This turned out to be good value at £99 each.
The hotel is ideally situated in Helmsley market plave and is a bit of a Tardis as it looks quite smmall from the outside but it goes back a long way and has over 40 rooms. Our room was nice and spacious with nice views over the garden.
The Afternoon tea was taken in their award winning cafe and was larger than I thought with finger sandwiches, tarts and cream scones. They have a spacious bar with Sky Sports (the sound is turned down so not intrusive) that serves real ale. The main restaurant is also spacious and you ar not close to other diners. The signature menu is advertised as 6 courses (although the 6th is the cheeses which you have to pay extra for) and you have the option of taking a glass of matched wine with each course which is what we did. Not noted on the menu is that you get some lovely warm breads and a bisque to start (so I suppose it is really a 6 courser). The food was excellent and the staff looked after us very well with nothing being too much of a problem. The cheese board is well worth the extra as you are given an Aladin's cave of choices. What really put the icing on the cake was the complementary breakfast in the room. As a nice touch when we got home they sent us a hand written postcard thanking us for the visit. We will definately be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the garden. Although not a busy village for traffic, there is no traffic noise from here. Don't be put off by the church next door you can barely here the bells.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geordiedaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Myself and my fiance stayed here on our way to and from Scotland to break up our journey. Wow, what an amazing experience. The food and accommodation were fabulous but to us it is the service that makes or break an hotel and The Black Swan surpassed all of our expectations. We cannot wait to return and would reccommend it to anyone looking to stay in a beautiful little hotel in a picturesque village!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We enjoyed some super quality downtime at The Black Swan, with the market town of Helmsley also playing a part as it’s a super country location on the edge of the North York Moors.

The hotel is a country hotel gem, set in Helmsley’s main square with open fires, shooting parties, country weddings and even the permitted dogs all mingling well together. Deals such as the Great Yorkshire Break offer (including 6-course ‘signature’ tasting menu dinner and afternoon tea with fizz) represent outstanding value for money. We combined this with another [less grand] D,B+B offer for a 2-night stay and some flexibility was allowed on when taking the meals and extras which was nice.

A main attraction is the fine dining on offer with excellent local produce widely used and imaginatively cooked. Service is extremely pleasant and friendly but a little disorganised, perhaps even verging on the hapless, but somehow in a ‘good way’. Examples of this being our wine and dinner bills were wrong both evenings and freshly prepared breakfasts not as ordered as the waitress relied on memory not notes. This was fine for us, but if they aspire to higher awards like a coveted Michelin Star they will have to improve on this aspect.

Our [standard] room overlooking the garden was nice and very comfortable with a great aspect of walled gardens and main town church. However. the bathrooms are certainly tired (cleaned very well but mould now endemic on the tile grout and sealant) and the old metal window in the room was rusting and couldn’t be held open as the required fixings were missing. Wouldn’t do in a metropolitan or boutique hotel but The Black Swan doesn’t pretend to be these and its country, slightly dilapidated vibe and battered, well lived in charm allow them to get away with it – though any further unchecked decline would certainly negate this.

The hotel competes with the Feversham Arms (its sister hotel) and the nearby Star at Harome, amongst others. We haven’t stayed at either but both are significantly more expensive. Given everything the Black Swan has a lot going for it and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms have a lovely aspect. For older or less mobile people, negoitating the narrow corridors with frequent doors when carrying luggage might be difficult and there is no lift.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Had a wonderful time on Friday evening at The Black Swan, Helmsley. Arrived to a buzzing atmosphere in the Cygnet Bar, checked into a lovely cosy room, before going back to the bar and on to dinner. The food was absolutely fabulous, huge compliments to Chef Paul Peters. It was a pity that the evening had to end.

Beautiful hotel, combined with great service and hospitality, in a lovely location. What more can you ask for.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews