We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Black Swan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$430
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$191
$133
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lastingham Grange(Lastingham)
$244
$227
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Old Manse Hotel(Pickering)
$137
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,767)
Filter reviews
1,767 results
Traveler rating
1,004
441
185
95
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,004
441
185
95
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea roomafternoon teagallery restaurantfeature roombrown toiletriessix course tasting menusconesmarket squarelovely hotelevening mealbar areawedding partyrestaurant staffmarket menubottle of champagnespecial occasionlamb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,446 - 1,451 of 1,767 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Black Swan this week and had a wonderful time. The hotel is traditional but has been modernised so the bar and the dining room have a more modern feel to them. The whole hotel is clean and looks exceptionally well-cared for.
We stayed in a room overlooking the garden at the back of the hotel. It was quite small but was perfectly adequate. We experienced music from the dining room after 11pm (I suspect the staff were getting the room ready for the following day's breakfast) but as soon as I rang reception they turned it off.
Without exception all the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They really seem to enjoy their job and they certainly work very hard. The unsung heroes/heroines are the housekeeping staff. You don't see them but you notice when they've cleaned and tidied your room.
The breakfast is sensational and certainly set us up for the day. Be warned that the sandwiches at lunchtime are really big, infact too big for us! Our only slight niggle was the Market Menu options didn't really change during our stay so on the 3rd evening we opted for main courses from the other menu.
We were made to feel welcome in the bar and the lounge even if we were just reading the paper and didn't want a drink.
We had a really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milti123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black_Swan_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay at the Black Swan Hotel in Helmsley. We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your break with us and that you found the service that you received from all the team to be friendly and welcoming. Thank you for your feedback regarding the Market Menu, this has been passed on to the management team who will look at this. It’s always helpful to receive constructive feedback which we can use to enhance the experience for future guests. On a brighter note though it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast with us! We really do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just back from a visit with friends to The Black Swan at Helmsley and just wanted to say how much we enjoyed the visit. Although the building is old it is full of character and the rooms have been refurbished and are very comfortable. We had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the walled garden. The restaurant is lovely and has a nice atmosphere, the food was beautiful and of a high standard and the menu changed every night. Also wanted to comment on how lovely the staff were, particularly in the dining room and could not do enough for you. it is so pleasant to stay somewhere where you get some real customer service. The hotel overlooks the town market square, which is full of character and lovely little individual shops. Great base for Thirsk Races.
Would recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel may be slightly quieter, but difficult as the Church Bells rang every morning! (Which was lovely)
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vixalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black_Swan_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay at the Black Swan Hotel. We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel to have a welcoming atmosphere. We are also delighted to read that you found the food to be beautiful, and that the service that you received from the staff to be warm and friendly. We really hope that you will choose to stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here with my partner for one night only on 18th Sept. 2012. Stayed in room 11 on the front of the hotel. We did receive a free upgrade to this room on arrival. Room had an un-restricted view overlooking the busy and picturesque market square, very nice. I did think we may suffer from traffic noise early in the morning but we had no problems at all. Room was well decorated, clean and well furnished, bed was very comfortable. We were booked for B&B only but decided to have the evening meal also at £35/head, not cheap but it did not disappoint. I have to say the food was absolutely excellent as were the polite and attentive staff. I would have no problems recommending this hotel to anyone and would strongly recommend you sample the restaurant.

Room Tip: We booked via the internet, Book-it.com I believe. We did request a free room upgrade and were pleased to receive it on arrival. We stayed in room 11 on the front, very nice indeed. Overlooked market square but did not suffer from any traffic noise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black_Swan_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for comments following your recent stay at the Black Swan Hotel in Helmsley. We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and dinner with us and that you found the food to be excellent and the staff to be polite and attentive. We really do hope that you will choose to stay with us again, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

we went into the exceptionally overpriced tea rooms, £4 for each coffee, it was nice but it wasnt that nice for £8 for two of us to have a cuppa. the toilets were clean and tidy and the place generally had nice decor throughout

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cluster9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black_Swan_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

I am sorry to read that you felt that the coffee served in the Tearoom was overpriced. Our coffee is served in a silver pot and each pot holds at least 2 cups of coffee per person which is waiter served to your table, we actually feel that this is very good value. On a brighter note, I am pleased to read that you found the decor to be pleasing and the hotel to be clean. I do hope that you will consider visiting the Tearoom again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed on the 8th and 9th September to celebrate my birthday and also our grandson's. I was also treating my immediate family so there were 10 of us staying for the first night. Despite the hotel catering for a wedding on the Saturday, we were given personal service and all the prior special arrangements I had made were place. We began with afternoon tea which was served in the tearooms - what a treat! The sandwiches, cakes and scones were beautifully presented and tasted as good as they looked. A few bottles of reasonably priced champagne followed later in the afternoon before dinner was served. The food was excellent - a limited menu demonstrating the freshness of the ingredients - and at no stage did we feel rushed. In fact, we were still in the restaurant at 11.45! The staff throughout our stay were friendly, efficient and very professional. We have short breaks on a regular basis and believe this is the best experience we have had for many years. Whatever you do, please try the scones as they are better than any we have ever tried before! Only one very small negative and that is in relation to the wine list - there is plenty of choice but most are quite expensive. For example, a glass of the only Shiraz they had was £8. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay so much that we are hoping to return very soon.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the courtyard/garden are very quiet
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black_Swan_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Black Swan. We are so pleased to read your kind comments and we are delighted that you really enjoyed your visit to the hotel. It is so nice to receive comments such as yours and we are really pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from the tearoom, to the restaurant, to the service that you received from the staff here at the hotel. We really look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews