We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 28, 2010

I stayed at the Feversham Arms with a friend on a suite package and we stayed in one of the spa suites. WOW WOW WOW!!!! This was the best hotel I have ever stayed at - The place was very welcoming, staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help us, the food was outstanding and our day and a half in the Verbena Spa was as lovely as it could possibly be.
We had a balcony with our suite so we had breakfast delivered to our room and we ate it on the balcony in the sunshine. The beds were very comfortable and luxurious, pillows too.
The bathroom had a built in radio and the bath and shower were just amazing.
There was a free car park and the hotel is 1 minutes walk from the local shops and market square which is very quaint.
I can honestly say that neither of us had one grumble!!!!!

Now we just need to get saving for our return trip!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay1h1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    330
    212
    116
    48
See reviews for
159
865
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
brewood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2010

My 50th birthday was spoilt. When we booked we asked if the room was away from traffic noise. We were told not to worry as the location was a small market town and there was very little traffic.....not true as we listened to lorries - one after another - from 6am - quite spoiling the break. We had planned on extending the stay if we lhad a good experie nce but went somewhere else for our other 2 nights. Check that your room is away from the road. Attitude when we checked out was very dismissive.
Not good that you have to pay a daily rate to use the spa - you can't even get a sauna - only the outside pool is included in the room rate. On a positive note; the food was fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaybrewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one night as part of my 30th birthday present. She had booked us on a 'food lovers' package which included afternoon tea on arrival, dinner and breakfast.

We arrived early in the afternoon and were greeted by the concierge who efficiently dealt with our bags and then parked the car for us (not something we would ever expect people to do but this is clearly the norm for them and made us feel a bit special from the beginning!). We were checked in promptly and shown round the public areas to help familiarise us with everything on offer. The pool was open and in use but despite this and it being a lovely sunny day we opted to pass on this occasion. The receptionist then showed us to our room and gave a brief overview of its amenities, including the TV which was very impressive to say the least!

Having unpacked, we went and sat in the lounge enjoying the sunshine through the window and had a lovely afternoon tea which really helped us wind down after a long journey. Being already familiar with Helmsley, having lived in this part of the world several years ago, we decided against a wander into the town (no more than two minutes' walk) and borrowed a film from reception. A note on the inventory of their DVDs on offer in the bedroom - whoever wrote it, I admire your creativity! We spent a good quarter of an hour reading all the descriptions and having a good chuckle.

Dinner was, in a word, superb. We had the tasting menu with wines to match and enjoyed every element of it. Service was smooth and unhurried and we were looked after well.

We woke up the next morning still full from the previous night's dinner, but went to see what was on offer for breakfast anyway. Rather than the 'Full English', I opted for a bacon ciabatta with home made brown sauce, which was just right for my appetite.

Last but not least, before our stay was complete we indulged in the Rassoul mud treatment at the Verbena spa, which until was definitely something I had never done before! It was really good however and being able to use the rest of the spa amenities once the mud treatment was over meant we didn't feel rushed either. The staff were pleasant and unassuming which made me feel more at ease in a predominantly female environment (and females who clearly had more idea what they were doing than I did).

Overall we had a great time and we will definitely look to come back for a future special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kizcom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This was the second time we have stayed here at the Feversham Arms within a 6 month period and on both occasions it was lovely. We booked for one night on the food lovers package which includes afternoon tea, pre dinner champagne cocktail, 5 course meal, breakfast and use of the spa. The food is fantastic, although both my husband and I had to ask for an alternative to one of the courses as fois gras morally is not to eveyones liking. We booked a basic room on both occasions and on both occasions we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite, which are gorgeous. We made use of the hot tub and pool (yes even in March) and the indoor hot and cold steam room. We go away for nights in hotels on a regular basis and I have to say this is one of my favorites, I have noticed that the prices have increased quite considerably recently, the package we booked was £220 in March and is now £270 so that is quite a difference, only because of this we might have to think twice about booking again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracieEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goole
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I stayed here for my anniversary in a pool /courtyard suite.

The hotel is very impressive and the staff are extremely attentive.

Valet parking on arrival, followed by booking in and a guided tour of our room. The room had a log burner, two bang and oulsfen tvs, piped music, bose ipod dock, beautiful bathroom, with bath and separtate shower / wet room with fantastic complimentary toiletries. The lounge area had plenty of reading material and it was really luxurious.

Breakfast in bed was served at no extra cost.

Outdoor hotel pool was lovely and warm and very clean.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent. The service was second to none. We really did feel pampered and fully attended to by the staff.

After ordering drinks in the bar, we decided to drink them by the outdoor swimming pool. The staff insisted on carring them out for us which was great, as I said earliar service from the staff is excellent and nothing is too much trouble.

In the middle of Helmsley there is loads to see and do. I would most reccomend the mouseman museum and white chalk horse in Kilburn, the shopping in Helmsley is good too.

For foodies out there the Star Pub at Harmome just 2 miles away is a mitchelin stared gastro pub. We ate lunch in this pub and were very impressed. The food was out of this world.

I would reccomend this hotel to friends and families alike.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baronvondominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

A truly five star welcome greeted us when we arrived at the FA last week. The ambiance of the entire hotel was wonderfully relaxing and calm, the room was superbly comfortable, although Americans would probably find it on the small side. The food in the restaurant was fabulous well presented, tasty and the portion sizes just right. The only thing not fabulous was the bill at the end of our stay, but then we didn't expect it to be cheap.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Spent 2 nights at the Feversham as a surprise birthday treat for my Mother. Overall, we were very pleased with the welcome and service we received. The staff are pleasant and attentive. My husband, daughter and I stayed in one of the Classic suites in the old building (Room 10). Nice room but extremely hot as there is no air conditioning so make sure to ask for extra fans! My parents had the only deluxe king (Room 27). I would definitely recommend this room as it was probably larger then our suite. It was one of the newly refurbished rooms (complete with air conditioning!). It has a lovely view over the outdoor pool. Save your money and go for this rather than a suite.
We ate in the restaurant both evenings as part of our package and the food was excellent. The attire is smart casual so very relaxed.
We took advantage of the Verbena Spa which was wonderful. We all felt thoroughly revitalised. Make sure you book your treatments well in advance as they get booked up very quickly.
One bit of advice, make sure you read the guest information folder in your room as this details all those expensive extras that you might not be aware of. For example, £10 for an ice bucket if you are not ordering any of their wine / champagne. Also, they will charge corkage if you drink any alcohol not purchased from the Feversham. If you were thinking of brining your own bottle of champagne be discreet unless you want a £20 corkage bill!
All in all, we had a wonderful stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozartonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,561 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
705 reviews
23.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
376 reviews
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
20.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Property: Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing