We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury with some nice touches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    322
    206
    113
    46
See reviews for
152
836
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2006

I stayed at the Feversham Arms as a surprise valentines gift from my boyfriend.

The room, although a standard, was wonderful. Really nicely decorated with everything complimenting each other. The TV/DVD player was top of the range and had my boyfriend raving about it. The bathroom was lovely with a huge shower area and incense by the sink.

The food is absolutely fantastic and I can thoroughly recommend it!!!! We eat out alot and have yet to find any worthy competition
...although I would advise you to stay away from the Stinking Bishop cheese...it's very strong!

The hotel also provided us with a picnic and information on various walks, and although I'm not exactly 'into' walking, we had a fabulous time. I would recommend seeing Rivoulx Abbey and Helmsley Castle.

I am definately going to go back there. What a wonderful hotel.

  • Liked — The room and food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat in the restaurant, it's fantastic
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twisters_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2006

Sadly, we did not discover the Feversham Arms Hotel until the last day of our holiday in Yorkshire and so could not take full advantage of the Pool Suite's splendid accommodation and facilities. One needs to stay at least two or three nights to fully appreciate the luxury. We loved everything about the hotel, the staff were friendly and relaxed, there was lots of laughter and good humour from them, creating a very good atmosphere. Both dinners were excellent. As the previous writer mentioned, the souffle is superb. We had an amazing breakfast with the best porridge and Whitby kippers we have ever tasted, served with friendly efficiency. There were no 'buts', we believe that this hotel and the surrounding countryside are outstanding.

  • Liked — Spaciousness, good quality bedlinen, state of the art baths/showers
  • Disliked — Everything good
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blandings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2006

The Feversham markets itself as a fully pampered get away sort of place, and it is.

THe room we had was a bit tired, for example the decoration was due, the controls for the speaker system for the bathroom fell of the wall when persuaded to work. The TV/DVD?CD library is a good idea.

THe bed and bedding was fantastic. We didn't use the pool, but it looked good, although they have (Polish) builders working on an extension to the side.

The lounge area is wonderful and comforrtable to just chill or take a drink before dinner.

Dinner was very good, but not fantastic. I must say the soufle's are brilliant though.

Breakfast really good.

In summary, go and stay it's good, but might there be better for your money????????????????

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brookway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2006

We popped in here for a drink on our way to look at a nearby (Michelin Starred) hotel as a wedding venue. Whilst we were having a bit of a surreptitious nosey, one of the staff noticed and asked if we'd like to have a proper look around. We did! It was lovely! We booked immediately! I have never been to a lovelier wedding!! Obviously I'm biased about that - but the whole experience was exceptional, the staff, the room we were married in, the champagne and canapes after the wedding, the dinner, the service, the poolside suite, the breakfast and all our friends and family's rooms - just perfect.

Don't tell anyone else about it.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beartours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
20.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
23.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Property: Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, HRS, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing