We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay here again if you paid me”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay here again if you paid me”
Reviewed June 11, 2009

First things first; qualification.
I always read these reviews and wonder if the person who wrote the review actually has a point of reference to rate this hotel against.

I've stayed in probably around 20 boutique and luxury hotels in the North of England and the Feversham arms is firmly at the bottom of my list.

As the name suggests; this is basically a pub that has revieved investment and they've used this to try to cash in on the boutique hotel craze.
Unfortunatley this hasn't worked out and you get the feeling that this place wants maximum return on the minimum investment which is a good policy for busisnes but in the consumer hospitality market; means you as the customer get small, cramped rooms, poor service and a particularily poor location...

Lets break this down:

It's an old boozer in the middle of a village so it's not got the attraction of scenery or peace and quiet as it's actually quite a busy little village.
The rooms are low ceilinged with locked down windows meaning your time in the room is not particularily pleasant for a country break.
When we stayed; the hot water wasn't working and the staff seemed to think this was perfectly acceptable as we could just get a cold shower!!
The manager is a conceited little man with small man syndrome who seems to think that being a manager in a 2nd rate, so -called boutique hotel is the social equivalent of a peerage.

In summary'; there are numerous other places that will deliver a better value short break, in better surroundings with better staff.

Dont fall for the fancy website and overly courteous reviews on here as I can't imagine anyone could compare this place to hotels such as the Samling, Seaham Hall, etc etc

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    329
    209
    114
    48
See reviews for
157
855
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2009

My family and i travelled up to stay for two nights at the feversham arms . We stayed in a gorgeous room by the pool, it was stylishly cosy and very clean. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and the service was outstanding from the reception to the restaurant. Another delight was the delicious food, probably the best i've ever tasted, they also had fantastic range of wines on offer. We were lucky enough to use the spa which was extremely well run the treatments were excellant. I would highly recommend staying at the feversham arms we enjoyed every minute and we would love to return one day.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathrynLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

This is a hotel which is quite expensive for what you get. Setting the cost aside our stay was very enjoyable. We stayed in one of the suites overlooking the pool, quite small but still managing two televisions and an open fire if needed.Room service was efficient but pricey. The food was nicely cooked although the portions were not copious and the menu limited.Most of the staff were foreign speaking and I have to say difficult to understand at times. Having said that my command of Polish did not compare with their command of English!!!!The staff were all accommodating and pleasant .This is a hotel I would definitely revisit but will look out for the special discounted deals we may be sent by email.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dommyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

It is more than 30 years since we last stayed here and whilst the hotel has moved on, the experience wsa as good, or better than before (so far as I can remember).

The hotel was busy, virtually full, but once one realised that booking dinner for (say) 8.30 meant reaching the table at 9.00, this was not a problem. The rooms were comfortable and the food excellent and well presented. The staff were friendly and well trained, both being put to the test by a small incident occurring during our stay.

On our final evening, just as our party of four was completing dinner (only dessert to come), we were asked to leave the hotel following a fire alarm. Having been mustered outside, we were advised that there had been a minor fire in the basement and that the fire brigade was on its way. We were taken to a sister hotel (The Black Swan) just around the corner where we were well looked after by staff from both hotels, being provided with drinks, our missed desserts and coffee. As we had also brought our unfinished bottle of wine, we quite enjoyed the interlude. We were well attended and kept informed of progress. After about an hour and a half we were told we were able to return and that the situation had been dealt with (one of the industrial washing machines had caught fire). There had been no damage to the rest of the hotel ,except ,we were told, that smoke had travelled up a lift shaft and decided to settle in one room.....ours. We were immediately informed that any damage to our clothes or belongings would be fully compensated and that another room would be provided for the night. This turned out to be one of the best suites and our necessary belongings were transferred without fuss.

In the event, there was no damage to our clothes and no claim was necessary. Had there been, I have no doubt that it would have been trouble free. Furthermore, the room charge for the final night was deleted from our bill as was the cost of dinner and drinks, without any request for compensation on our part.

The whole incident was dealt with calmly and professionally - a credit to the management.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaspierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Impressive entrance but stressed reception staff peering over a slightly too high reception desk. No porter service which means they have to leave their desk to store or take your luggage which is embarrassing as even though you could take your own luggage you expect a porter service when paying over 400 pound a night.

Nice enough suite but nothing special. Dirty mirrors and heated towel rail, poor quality towels and someone else's hair in the shower/bath plug holes - yuck!

Cold and slow service in bar and restaurant which sets the tone of the atmosphere. Some staff struggled to understand and as a consequence messed up our order and we had to asked more than once for certain items. Food very average. Not sure how they managed to get into Small Leading Hotels as they fall well short of their standards but no doubt they will struggle to stay there.

Yapping dogs are a pain and shouldnt be allowed. Would you like to stay in a suite costing over 400 pound when a dog has slept on the bed?

This hotel has a glossy fascade but misses out on attention to detail, calibre of staff and service. Dont even come close to the standards at The Star at Harome and now they have their new sister property, The Pheasant, they will really need to get their act together to compete with their great food, fantastic rooms,& service at a much more reasonable cost. You really feel special and spoilt at The Star something sadly lacking at the Feversham.

Wouldnt return again when there is a much better option so close to Helmsley. Complacency won't wash in this economic climate, people expect more and this hotel doesnt deliver!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibson1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

I stayed at the Feversham arms for 2 nights, dinner, bed & breakfast and had a wonderful time there. The rooms aren't huge but are nicely decorated with modern accessories. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. I'd requested vegan food and was offered a choice of menu options both nights. We had a full breakfast served in our rooms at no extra cost. I had a couple of relaxing treatments, and my husband and I both used the 'heat experience' rooms which were brilliant. The outdoor hot tub was a nice treat - even in the rain!
Helmsley is a pretty (if a bit touristy) village - there are plenty of local pubs and great scenery. We had lunch at the walled garden cafe which is a great vegetarian spot. There were even Morris Dancers in the village square.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilacLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Feversham Arms for three nights at the end of April. I was looking forward to the trip as the hotel's website looked lovely and the reviews were good.

I was impressed with the beautiful reception area and the other public areas in the hotel. However the room we were allocated was awful - dark with mismatching furniture, scuffed walls, a creaky old wall and dingy net curtains which were covering up the view of the road directly outside the window.

I asked to be moved and the receptionist was very helpful - we were offered one of the new spa suites overlooking the pool. This was a lovely, big room. During our stay the cleaning could have been better - the bathroom floor was far from spotless - but apart from that we were happy with the room.

We were on half board and so ate in the hotel each night. The menu was a bit limited and seemed expensive but the staff were very good.

I didn't try the spa but the treatment list looked good although the prices were very steep.

Overall the hotel was OK but way too expensive for what they are offering.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuildfordJellyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,531 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
681 reviews
23.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
362 reviews
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Property: Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing