We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely but service has definitely declined.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely but service has definitely declined.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The feversham has been our favourite bolt hole for a relaxed and pampered 2 or 3 day get away for several years. We used to be delighted with every aspect of the hotel however unfortunately , as other reviews highlight, the quality of service has definitely declined.
While some staff still go out of their way to ensure your stay is memorable, there is a huge gap with some very underwhelming service not at all in line with the quality and price of the hotel.
In particular one member of the reception staff has a very bad supercilious attitude and the dining room is understaffed with some young and inexperienced waiters, who should not be let lose in this sort of establishment . The understaffing creates a feeling that everyone is rushing around , sadly sweating profusely, and things are forgotten. This is not a relaxing atmosphere in which to spend hundreds of pounds on a meal.
I think we will be waiting for some better reviews before returning or looking for a new bolt hole to spend a few
Luxurious days.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fvr1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is lovely to hear from a returning guest. We are sorry that you do not feel that your stay was on par with your past visits. The hotel has made many changes of late, from new team members to new technology and upgrades “behind the scenes”, we are sorry that a combination of all of this seems to have affected your most recent visit, but hope that the many positive reviews that have been posted recently (several of which specifically mention our hardworking team) assure you that this was just an unfortunate one-off and certainly not the “norm”.

With kind regards,

From all the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    318
    202
    109
    45
See reviews for
147
819
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I booked us in at the Feversham as a treat to celebrate my girlfriends 30th birthday with some spa time.

Initial confusion as we turned up at 12:30 but check in wasn't until 15:00, not a huge problem as we wandered about the very picturesque village of Helmsley taking in the cheery tea rooms and antique shops before heading back.

Once checked in we were politely shown to our room and the after unpacking were given an induction the the Spa by a very kind lady who after hearing about our problem turning up early invited us to use the facilities the following day after we had checked out! Fantastic as we didn't get to try the hot tub!

Being a bloke who rarely does spa days I wasn't sure what treatment to take but was soon given loads of advice and put at ease after a fantastic full body scrub and back massage, very relaxing!

The evening meal was delicious and extremely we'll presented, my only criticism was how long we had to wait, though I'm not entirely sure this wasn't normal etiquette.

Overall a very good experience.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SupaVas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing to visit the Feversham Arms, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and your time in the Verbena Spa. We hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards,

From all the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed two nights last weekend on a 'Muddy Boots' break and had a great time. Staff were brilliant, had a lovely room and really enjoyed the food. Our packed lunch was excellent - the mushroom veloute was taken on Rievaulx Terrace in glorious sunshine. The weather was superb all weekend so we made the most of the swimming pool and hot tub. Bed a bit soft for my taste but couldn't really fault anything else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review! The “Muddy Boots” break is fantastic if you love a good picnic and a walk (especially if you are lucky with the weather), we are so pleased that you enjoyed yourself! We hope to see you again soon,

With kind regards,

All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Well, we've been coming here for quite a while now...........and never yet have we encountered anything remotely negative. Luck? no...not every time........it's just not possible: perhaps I shouldn't try to reconcile the reviews of others with our own experiences and simply describe our stay on this occasion.

Whilst waiting to check in, the couple in front of us were being offered a guided tour of where everything was......when it was our turn & we said we'd been a few times previously we were complimented on probably knowing more about the place than he did- and we felt instantly at home.

Not particularly brilliant weather but not so bad as to detract from the pool.........or so my wife said.

As for the evening......ensconcing ourselves in the bar & being looked after without seemingly having to ask.......subsequently led to our table and plied with food and drink of the standard we've come to expect..............as was the pitch of the service.

Not that it was any different in the morning.......100% slumber in the room with the difficult bit actually getting up...............but then if I didn't I'd have missed the excellent black pudding for breakfast.......shock horror......

And finally turning right onto the moorland road heading towards County Durham........if your idea of a good hotel is to feel a whole lot better for having been there when you have to leave......maybe you'ld keep on coming back too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ImaxJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review, hearing such lovely comments always makes us smile, but from a regular guest and with such detail is a really lovely way to start the day! Thank you for your kind words, we can’t wait to see you again soon.

With kind regards,

All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Myself and partner fancied a few days away but with our two cats, we had a look around online and found the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa i called and booked for that day and we arrived at around 12 midnight and was greeted by a lovely man called Tony (i think) he was so welcoming and took us to our room, we was pleasantly surprised as we booked a standard double but we was took to a top floor suite, which had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a lovely living room with an open fire. We had Room Service which was different class, the scallops were to die for and the main course was out of this world, The cheese and crackers was excellent too. We will definitely go again and i highly recommend this hotel. Unfortunately we didn't have time to visit the spa but i hear that is amazing too. Cant wait to visit the hotel again. Thank you so much Feversham! I also recommend visiting the castle and the local village, everybody is friendly and especially on a sunny day it is just brilliant..

Room Tip: I would recommend the suite, but the standard doubles look great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HurleyNid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for this lovely review! We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and evening meal. Your comments have been passed on to Tony, who was delighted to hear your kind words. Hopefully if you visit us again you’ll get to take advantage of the Verbena Spa as well!

With kind regards,

All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

second visit to this hotel and didnt disappoint room/suite absolutely gorgeous lovely touches food excellent if you like a la carte
spa pool and atmosphere totally relaxing
perfect get away for romance
need to book treatments in advance to be sure to get what you want
not cheap but you get what you pay for

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 666nico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for coming back for a second visit, we hope to see you again for a third one day!

With kind regards,

All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Wow - the sales pitch talks about the welcome and service, but rarely is the sales blurb not just met but so hugely surpassed! Helmsley is a great little place - typical Yorkshire square but with loads of pubs, good little shops & crafty places. The hotel is very well positioned & looks great. The outdoor pool is fantastic. We booked a overnight & Spa package. The place is not cheap - but you absolutely get what you pay for. The Spa is very modern & trendy, the hotel traditional, cosy & warm but will modern touches - B & O TV, ipod docks etc.
Bar far the most memorable aspect of the visit was the outstanding service of the waiting staff in the restaurant. Worthy of only the very highest praise - not forgetting the superb food quality & choice of dishes. A true gem.

Room Tip: We booked a junior suite - it was up 2 flights of stairs but had a nice seating area with a real woo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awayagain_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you! This is a fantastic review, particularly to all the members of the team who work so hard to make each guests’ stay memorable. Everyone was so pleased when they heard your comments and we all hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards,

All the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
20.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Property: Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HRS, Agoda, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing