We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxing break”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for our 40th Wedding Anniversary - having stayed a few years ago when the pool was under construction.
The room was very nice - on the front of the hotel - bathroom quite small but fine. We enjoyed a visit to the spa - very relaxing though you need to book any treatments before you arrive to be sure of getting in. The food was excellent - our only complaint was that the menu was quite small - and the same on both nights of our stay. This was not an issue as we had the Tasting Menu on one night but could be if staying longer. Breakfast was great too.
We had a package including a picnic - we chose our sandwiches, cake, fruit and drink the night before and collected our hamper after breakfast. It was very enjoyable - especially the soup as the weather was not great.

We would certainly stay here again for a special break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    330
    212
    116
    48
See reviews for
159
865
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Having enjoyed a stay 2 years ago and recommend to friends we had high expectations of the feversham. We stayed on this occasion in a poolside suite, £330 for one night. The room was spacious, but tired looking. Marks on furniture, dirty marks on tv and remote, fitting on bathroom wall hanging off, cracked tiles, broken paving stones outside,area outside around the pool littered with cigarette ends all day and still there the next. Crockery left round the pool area for hours on end.The hottub was out of order, something we had hoped to use, seemed it had been for several days. Ordered coffee, never arrived, ordered cocktails before dinner, took so long we were seated and had starters before they were served. Overall a real disappointment, and certainly not what you would expect for £330 a night. We left a feedback form with our observations, this just generated a standard letter from the manager several weeks later stating feedback was useful to them.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarahdow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feversham A, General Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Feversham and offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment that you experienced during your stay in May. Needless to say that we have remedied the technical issues with the hot tub and the maintenance defects in the poolside suite. We have introduced new operating procedures and systems to address the poolside and the bar service. I would also like to say that we endeavour to reply to all feedback left in the hotel and we appreciate you making the effort.
Kind regards & sincere wishes
Charles Merchie, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Third stay. Special occasion destination. Can not believe the negative reviews. Rooms are amazing. Pay for what you get. Want a special break then pay for a suite with balcony and pool view. Food v nice if maybe verging on too expensive. Service can be slow around pool and maybe more staff to be seen around. Reception v welcoming and friendly. Spa again was so good. Another lovely massage. As for noise from church. No chimes til 7 and only heard this time as left window open!
All in all a wonderful treat. Not cheap but a luxury experience. Third stay and have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank legalbegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

After booking this hotel through a lovely description from a work friend, nothing could of opened my eyes to what me and my partner saw it was absolutely amazing!! Fabulous sorroundings, friendly and fantastic staff, although it was pricey I can understand why! The food and quality of service was outstanding! I myself work in a hotel and know how stressful it can be but nothing was too much trouble it was fantastic from stepping out of the taxi to leaving! Me and my partner will definately re visit in the future! Thank you for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Such a curates egg... Great weather , makng the pool and poolside terrific, but such a small room with no A/C led to uncomfortable nights.Asked for a table fan, no response from staff. It should be said we did not visit the spa so cannot comment.
Great breakfasts, but dinners fair quality but lacked any excitement on the plate or general ambience. Mistakes made with tabs, final bills etc.
If it did not have the great pool etc , it would be a 2-3 star hotel at most.Needs a bit of a re think, perhaps a new chef, different managerial style, or something...Perhaps the key staff should stay there and experience it first hand

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dalle2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently had afternoon tea for a friends birthday, we chose the hotel from past experiences.
to say that all 5 of us were disappointed would be a fair comment.

the service was awful, served by miserable teenagers who cant take an order or remember to bring water to the table - 3 times after being asked.

Some of the other clients there that day seem to lower the tone of the hotel now, drunks lazing around the pool shouting and making a spectacle of themselves really does not fit in with what the hotel is trying to achieve.

i suggest, get some motivated and happy staff, ditch the offers which is lowering the tone, give it all tidy up and bring it back to its 4 star rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sophie21j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Came here with a group of friends to celebrate a birthday, and was very disappointed. The bedrooms were no better than OK, and the public areas needed a bit of TLC (shabby carpets in need of replacement). With one or two notable exceptions, the service was poor, and we constantly had to ask over and over to be served.

As for the food, the menu was described as A La Carte and although the individual dishes were individually priced (or over- priced), the choice was extremely limited. With a choice of four main dishes, for two of them to be fish and one veal didn't leave much choice for those who aren't partial to fish and who won't eat veal on ethical grounds. As this same menu was on place for both nights of our stay, and given the small portion sizes, left us unimpressed.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shug402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,561 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
706 reviews
23.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
376 reviews
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
20.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Property: Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing