We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Room - Poor Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Room - Poor Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

On arrival, we received a warm welcome and were allocated an excellent room (deluxe suite) with a pool view, but although we only stayed for one night, we had no television or radio throughout our stay. We highlighted this to reception, and one of the staff called to try and sort the problem out, but he soon left perplexed, saying that he would report the issue again to reception. About an hour and a half later, I passed the same lad at the bar, and he asked 'did you get the TV sorted out?' Again we contacted reception, who advised us that 'Housekeeping' would resolve the matter while we were out to dinner, but on our return, nothing had been done. We phoned reception again and a very pleasant member of staff came to the room, but failed to make much headway. We did mention the issue again on checking out, but the receptionist just laughed the whole thing off, saying 'at least you'll have had plenty time to chat to each other!' We hadn't dined at the hotel as they were undergoing emergency work to the kitchen floor, but we were made well aware of this and had made other arrangements. All in all, an excellent hotel let down by poor service.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hood40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    318
    202
    109
    45
See reviews for
147
819
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at the Faversham Arms for a long weekend last year and couldn't have been more happy with our stay. The staff were wonderful and the attention to detail and personal service was exceptional. The village where the hotel is situated is delightful and the hotel facilities excellent. The restaurant has to be one of the best in the country. The knowledge and care of the waiting staff was second to none. We had a lovely weekend and have booked to go again, we can't wait. This hotel should have a 5 star rating! Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Everything was right about the place. We were served by helpful, attentive staff, the room was large, comfortable and well-appointed, and the food was excellent. It's a brilliant location with activities and history all around. We're already planning our return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stonep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We booked this hotel on-line and it was a gem when we arrived. A beautifully designed boutique hotel in the midst of the Yorkshire Moors. The rooms are five star with all the comforts of home and more provided in the room. Tea making facilities, robes, slippers and bath products. We had a suite and two TVs. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable. A perfect retreat.

Room Tip: Choose a room that over looks the pool, in the inner courtyard. Not only quiet but a pleasant view t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helsbels575757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We were set for two days to escape from the hurly burly of daily life to the Feversham Arms, to enjoy the fabulous rooms, the outdoor pool, heat experiences, saunas and legendary food in the restaurant, and to walk around the surrounding Yorkshire countryside exploring the shops and local castle.
We were not disappointed. At the end of our stay, the effect of this warm and comforting place is really quite something; a feeling of total, utter relaxation, and after a couple of hours in the pool, heat experience an even mud chamber, you can see why we headed off to our gorgeous top floor suite with log fire, just reappearing in time for dinner. Dinner was spectacular and staff were very attentive without being overbearing.
It was expensive but if you deserve to feel pampered it was most definitely worth it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen_lenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I organised a Hen Party at the Feversham Arms last weekend and all in it was excellent. Every member of staff were friendly and worked hard to get thing right from parking cars to taking the Hen breakfast in bed. The Hen was upgraded complimentary as was the organiser :-) The rooms are luxurious and the hotel has a relaxed and friendly feel.

We had a five course taster menu and it was lovely but maybe in retrospect I would suggest ordering from the menu for a group this size, soak up the alcohol and it’s hard for everyone to like the same menu.

I'm a little surprised by the spa reviews as I never noticed anything remotely unclean, though I did notice the shampoo's etc weren't always topped up. However the details like cotton pads and cleansers are nice. It also has some great deals regularly, like the Spa by Candlelight which you just can't complain about.

It's not cheap; you know that before you get there. I think they could lower the drinks menu a tad. We would of had a lot more wine on the table if it closer to £20 for an entry bottle.

I do think it is good value and if you check out the regular offers they often have a lot of inclusive packages. It's especially good if they are mid-week or two nights, I can understand maybe thinking it's not so great value if you just arrive and pay the advertised room rates.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NMF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We went to this spa for a short weekend break a few months ago. After reading a number of reviews it seemed like it would be a really nice spa and the pictured looked good on the website.

Little did we know they were deceiving- the spa was disgusting; it had mould on the walls and needs a complete refurb. One of the toilets in the ladies changing room was leaking and the walls were covered in mould.

The accommodation in general was good but the food was disappointing for the price that we paid- we paid for a 5 course meal but the portions were so small me and my partner were both hungry after the meal. We were told if we were still hungry we could have cheese and crackers.... no thanks.

The staff in general all seemed polite, however the manager at the spa and the hotel were both rude.

We will not be going again and have told many friends to keep away!

Room Tip: keep away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fly2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
20.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Property: Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda, HRS and LateRooms so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing