We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Feversham Arms Food Lovers Break.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Reviewed July 28, 2012

A lovely hotel in a beautiful market town. The room we stayed in was lovely and spacious; we stayed in a larger double room and the welcome cake was an added bonus alongside great facilities. The food was lovely; especially the afternoon tea and breakfast. We had the 6 course taster menu on the evening which was also lovely but my husband was still hungry afterwards! The spa is what makes this hotel stand out; especially it's heated outdoor pool but this is what also makes this hotel very expensive! If you're not bothered about the pool or spa then The Black Swan Hotel around the corner, also owned by the same company I believe, is also lovely.

Room Tip: We were in a room by the road which could be a little noisy for some people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel and spa. Hot tub and pool area very nice. Beautiful spacious suite and bath for two complete with candles. Faultless. Negatives are that service not quite uo to scratch for this class of hotel. Long delays for drinks in bar and menu at dinner limited and unexciting and very small portions but very good service. Spa very nice and would reccomend a massage. Second visit and would return again as a very romantic hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legalbegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a DBB/Spa package as part of our silver wedding celebrations. Our suite was spacious and well appointed, but like many others have said, far too hot
We chose the tasting menu, which was in all honesty just a 5 course dinner! We've experienced proper tasting menus at various locations and this was very disappointing
Driving home it was clear that there was an "elephant in the room" scenario regarding the value of our visit. Once we started discussing it, we both agreed that it didn't warrant the £400+ price tag
I'm sad to report that we won't be returning

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wayward22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I got a spa day deal for full use of spa and lunch for £110. We arrived at 10am were showed to changing room and when changed asked to order our lunch before we used the spa. We were shown around the facilities , an aromatherapy steam room, a salt inhalation room and a sauna room also in the spa area was a sink with ice in it and two footbaths. The three rooms were very nice and the whole spa area was ok, just a bit small! The hottub outside was really relaxing , it did have a few leaves in it but on the whole fine. The pool area was smaller than the picture on the website makes it look , well in reality the whole place is much smaller than the website would suggest!! The relaxation area was nice plenty of sofas but in the same room that is where you also eat your lunch and there was a grop of noisy girls when i was trying to chill.
The lunch was dissapointing, i ordered a chicken caesar salad, it was a tiny portion the chicken was slightly undercooked. My husband ordered a burger it looked nice again slightly on the small side the burger bun was far too big for the burger, but it was cooked very nice and looked very presentable. After lunch we ordered a drink each and it stated on menu came with a piece of cake, the piece was literally a bite of cake .
On the plus side the place has a relaxing ambiance about it and the rooms are beautifully decorated, there are plenty of luxury soap, shampoo and conditioners to use in the facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bops6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is important for us to receive such feedback both positive and negative so that we are able to constantly improve our standards, quality and service that we offer our guests. This has been shared with our team.
I do apologise for not meeting your expectations, but I do hope that overall you did enjoy your day in our Spa.
Should you wish to discuss your experience with me further or book a further Spa day with us, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Many thanks

Kind Regards

Roddy Whiteford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our experience chimes with many others. There were a few inconsistent details not expected of a hotel of this calibre/price bracket i.e. some shabby decor (especially in the bathroom), scruffy robes and overly warm rooms. However, these negative points were balanced out by the wonderful food, pool and spa and very good and friendly service throughout. The cheese board is itself worthy of mention!

Room Tip: Room 3 is over the bar and fronting on to the road - spacious but often noisy. One to avoid if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_of_Bris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the friendly service, food, spa and swimming pool, but I was equally disappointed that we did not meet your expectations entirely during your recent stay with us.
Your constructive feedback has been shared with the team in order for us to continually improve our service which we offer our guests.
We do look forward to hosting you again sometime soon and should you need to discuss anything further with me, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Many thanks

Kind Regards

Roddy Whiteford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was a three night weekend birthday treat from my husband booked on an internet deal. The setting of an outside heated pool warm enough to swim in and hot tub accessed straight from the room was sublime. The food was good. Only four choices but when we pointed out this wasn't a la carte for people staying three nights they offered some excellent alternatives. The hotel ambience is attractive. After that it was downhill:

- we were charged the full rate of an extra £100 per night on top of £280 for db&b and didn't get this sorted until the last day which put a dampener on things -no management around for three days

- apart from the bed looking pristine, the room, bathroom and floors weren't cleaned the whole three days and bins not emptied until the last day

- on arrival there was evidence of the previous occupants with half-eaten biscuits and dead flowers in the room. Had to request decaffeinated sachets, quantities for two, not one, and room coffee is the very cheap variety

- there were various inadequate toiletries which took two days to be delivered after a reminder. We also ran out of toilet paper

- my robe was so frayed I thought it must be the new trend until I noticed three holes in it and torn seams

- spillages over us and near us were the norm. Some of the restaurant seating is so tight I was nearer to my neighbour than my husband opposite me. No dress code...men in jeans and T shirts and open toe sandals Wine was served below room temperature. At breakfast plates weren't cleared. We would be asked to hold up our dirty plate so the waitress could put the next course down.

- a relative had rung in to order a birthday cake and was wrongly told one had already been ordered. I arrived to find boxed chocolates - with a soiled lid - but cards placed elsewhere so didn't know who to thank

- a generator outside our bedroom made sleep impossible

At these prices I would never re-visit this establishment which seemed to be patronised by many people being treated, either by family or employer, which perhaps makes objective assessment seem ungrateful.

It's as though the hotel was set up and then management went home. Totally lacking in management ownership and quality control. A shame because the staff were generally pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabeth060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for your review which you wrote on trip advisor. I was most concerned to read your feedback as this is certainly not the high standard of service that we strive to achieve at our hotel. Your constructive feedback has been shared with the team in order for us to learn from your experience and make sure that we only improve our service delivery in the future.
Please do accept our sincere apologies for not delivering on this occasion. I would very much like to discuss your stay in more detail so if you could kindly contact me at the hotel, I would appreciate this very much.
We do hope to welcome you back soon to The Feversham Arms Hotel.

Many thanks

Kind Regards

Roddy Whiteford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at The Feversham Arms for 5 days as part of a party of 22 people. We had a small double room which was ok although the bathroom was very tired i.e. a chip in the bath and mucky tiles! When our bathrobes came, the day after we arrived, they were the shabbiest robes we had ever seen!(see photos). Also the toilettries were lacking as they left us 1 tiny tube of shampoo 1 conditioner and 1 shower gel for both of us! Not nearly enough and NOT L'Occitaine that is promised on there web site!We purposely didn't take our own because of the said promise on website. Every day we had to ask for these as one day we came back and they hadn't left us any at all. On the plus side the food was fabulous, even though we had to wait sometimes as long as an hour! I have emailed the hotel and expressed my concern, they have replied offering us a further stay with them at a reduced rate but we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHARON A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your time spent at our hotel, but I do know that overall your group did have an enjoyable stay with us. The concerns which you have raised in your review were dealt with in the most professional way whilst you were at our hotel. We did experience a delivery problem with our L’Occitaine products, but we did our best to make sure that all our bedrooms had an alternative supply of bathroom amenities.
I thank you for your constructive feedback in regards to the maintenance and housekeeping issues which has been shared with the team. I have already replied to your correspondence which you sent directly to the hotel and I do hope to welcome you back soon to The Feversham Arms Hotel so that we can show you our excellent customer service.

Many thanks

Kind Regards

Roddy Whiteford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,686 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
869 reviews
23.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
20 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range: $182 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing