We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing - lacked consistency”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
York, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disappointing - lacked consistency”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights to celebrate my husbands birthday and parents(significant) wedding anniversary - they joined us for 2 nights.
We paid for two double rooms with a DBB rate of £260 per room per night.

So, the good parts - upon arrival our car was valet parked and the luggage taken straight to the room. The staff were excellent - friendly and courteous and some in particular were exceptional. We both had spa treatments which were fantastic and just what we needed. The food (with one exception - see below) was excellent. The choice at Breakfast was very good. Both my parents and my husband received small cakes as a token of their celebrations.

Now for the bad parts. We were staying in the old part of the building - rooms 3 and 5. The rooms were very hot (no aircon) which meant leaving the windows open. Our room was over the front door where people congregated to smoke and one night in particular was very noisy. The bathroom in room 3 was tiny - the toilet was wedged between the bath and the wall. The decor in the room was tired - it definitely needed a facelift and the grouting round the shower needed a good clean. The shower in the spa area was disgusting - full of mould.
On arrival we ordered some afternoon tea and sandwiches - the food took 40 minutes to arrive. On the second morning my sausages were burnt on the outside and pink in the middle. Whilst the food at dinner was very good the choice was very limited - four starters and four mains to choose from and the same menu for three nights (although on the last night they did give us an extra choice.)
We were really glad that we did not take our dogs - they advertise as being dog friendly and yet the dogs aren't allowed anywhere - the suggestion in the hotel guide is that you leave your dogs in the car whilst you eat dinner so they can access your room for turn down - ridiculous.
If you are not having a spa treatment over £50 as a hotel guest you have to pay £25 for the use of the heat experience including the hot tub. We used these as part of our treatment but if I had paid £25 I would have been very disappointed. These facilities should be available to hotel guests free of charge.

Our bill came to just under £1,000 for three nights which was extorinate given the inconsistencies I have listed above.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    322
    206
    112
    46
See reviews for
152
835
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Had a great time at the hotel, the staff were lovely. the only issue is that the Spa needs a good refurbishment as many things are broken and others are looking tired.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Hotel is very over priced. We paid £280 a night for a suite. When we arrived we were up graded to room 18 a delux suite. All I can say is I am pleased we did. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world and I can say this does not fit the criteria. The service was shocking and the spa mediocre. The only positive was the food in the restaurant which was fantastic. All I want to say to you is read the reviews before you go. I didn't but anything from 3 ratings down got it right about this hotel. A total waste of money !

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jochesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Superb (upgraded) suite. Complementary champagne & cake superb touch. Spa was delightful and all staff went out of the way to be helpful. A la carte evening meal imaginative and high quality. Breakfast followed on in the same fashion.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We chose to stay at Feversham Arms because it had been listed as dog friendly. Unfortunately we really struggled as our dog was not welcome, and we ended up leaving to go home half-way through our stay. We emailed in advance to check that our young French bulldog really would be welcome and were assured she would. We then rang up and had a long chat to a very nice receptionist who explained that dogs were very welcome and that she could stay with us in the room, the only area she couldn't enter was the restaurant. However, the hotel would be very happy to serve us the restaurant food in our room, should we want to stay with her. This sounded great. It was very expensive (£210/night for the cheapest room), but we wanted a nice holiday with our dog. On arrival, we found that the dog was NOT allowed in ANY public places -- not the lounge, the bar, or the restaurant. The room was TINY -- not enough room to swing a cat, let alone a dog. The use of space was also really badly thought out. However, because of our dog we were confined to this tiny space (£210 a night!) throughout our stay, having to eat our food perched at a tiny table. When another very nice receptionist took pity on us and let us in the bar (our dog was commended for her good behaviour!) our hopes were raised. But then another person told us that we could not have food in the bar. Arghhh.

Although the staff were nice and the food really excellent, the whole place is too stuffy (must wear a collar and tie for dinner!) and not hospitable to dogs, despite styling itself as a kind of hunting lodge. Further, NO WHERE in the surrounding area allowed dogs in either, so we had to eat out in the garden, huddled under an umbrella as the rain came down in stair-rods. Very sorry to say that this part of North Yorkshire is a terrible place to go on holiday with a dog. We gave up on day 2 and went home to Glasgow, where dogs are very welcome!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rhian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Me and my friend visited the spa on Sunday 7 August. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. We found staff very friendly and helpful. The back massage and facial was so relaxing. Even though the spa was busy we were looked after all day. We have visted many of the top spas in the UK and this is up there with the rest, well done all at Verbena Spa. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

My 2 sisters and I wanted somewhere special to stay to celebrate our Mum's birthday. Mum had sadly passed away earlier in the year but we always spent it together so this year was going to be no different.
I am fortunate to have stayed in some pretty expensive and highly recommended hotels but this one ticked all the boxes and more.
From the moment we pulled up and our car was valet parked to the moment we left as as we settled the bill the service and friendliness of the staff was impeccable.
They were unpretentious and down to earth as will as utterly professional.
The meals were first class and the suite we stayed in was very comfortable.
There is no facility to make tea and coffee so we had to use room service quite a lot.
The Spa and outdoor pool were relaxing and clean with a convenient bar menu which was not too expensive.
Helmsley itself is a lovely market town and well worth the stay.
We walked to Rievaulx Abbey and enjoyed a lovey cream tea.
Well worth the money. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our suites overlooked the pool and were ideal. Some of the suites by the pool were a little dark ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
20.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
23.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Property: Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS, LateRooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing