We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, just not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very nice, just not perfect”
Reviewed April 30, 2011

The Feversham Arms is a well-designed hotel in a beautiful location, right in the middle of the pretty market town of Helmsley. We recently stayed for one night in a suite overlooking the pool. The interior was beautiful with original artwork on the walls and high-quality furnishings - pure luxury. However, the overall experienced was slightly marred by a discoloured shower unit and lukewarm treatment from a few staff members. We would definitely return, but only as part of an offer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    330
    212
    116
    48
See reviews for
159
865
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Simply cannot fault any aspect of our visit. The service was absolutely fantastic, a reason to go there alone in my humble opinion. Our room was very stylish with high quality fittings and a huge comfy bed and very well appointed bathroom. As we went for the 'foodies' break I ought to mention the food really. The cream tea was lovely, our earl grey particularly good. Nice bar area with good range of well made cocktails. We had the tasting menu in the evening- delicious, nicely portioned and delivered at a sensible pace. Of particular merit was the 'main' course: an excellent fillet of beef dish accompanied by a foie gras & braised shin croquette..mmmm.
An all round excellent trip!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouldilox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

My mother often visits Helmsley, but never stayed there till we took her to the Feversham for her 80th birthday. She loved it, and so did we. Everyhing was perfectly presented and attention to detail was outstanding.
As the person who paid the bill I hope it won't sound churlish to say I was a bit disappointed to find there was an offer avaialble which we hadn't been made aware of when we booked which would have taken about £200 off the bill. We were happy with what we got for what we paid, but finding that out was a bit of an irritant.
That said, food was superb and the whole weekend spot on.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyke1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

My husband and I went to the Feversham Arms Hotel for a relaxing week before Easter. I can only say that everything met our expectations. Everybody was so friendly and helpful (even with checking us in for our flight home!), the room was spotlessly clean, and the food at dinner was absolutely fantastic. We will definitely go there again and can recommend it to others.
I cannot understand the negative comments people have given after their stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornwall03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed at the Feversham Arms over the Easter weekend - we went with great expectations - and unfortunately it didnt live up to them. Service, decor, and food all ranged from 'ok' to 'awful'...and predominantly veered towards the 'awful' end of this scale.
The service was extremely patchy - at times obsequious, and at other times - non existent. We had to search out staff to give our drinks orders to, having been ignored by several waiting staff inititally.
Perhaps the biggest problem with Feversham is that it needs to decide what market it is is catering for. We gathered at the hotel as a family across 3 generations, given the promotional literature, and having read some reviews we understood the hotel to be child friendly. (Having stayed at child friendly places like Calcot Manor (Tetbury) we have perhaps been spoiled.) Suffice is to say that apart from the pool area (which is undoubtedly its best feature) there is little consideration for children (ie am fine with restricted dining times if applied to everybody - we observed the guidance on this, only to find that others had not.)
In summary The Feversham Arms provided a convenient location for our family to meet and spend a happy time together - fantastic attractions nearby ie Castle Howard and Newby Gardens. However, perhaps it has rested on its laurels for too long...and standards are beginning to slip.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xanadu-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

I have just enjoyed a 'March Madness Weekend ' at the Fevesham Arms with my sister, it was only 1 night but I can honestley say this is a place I will never forget. The welcome, from arriving at the front door to leaving by the same the next day was exceptional. All the staff were so friendly and could not do enough to help you. The food, afternoon tea, evening meal & breakfast was superb. The Verbena Spa was exactly the same and I recommend anyone visiting the gorgeous Yorkshire market town of Helmsley to try this hotel. If you can't afford a room (this was a special occasion) then just try the afternoon tea, the scones are 'to die for'. we are already saving up to go back next year.

Room Tip: If you go to the Spa take your own flip flops
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherbert_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful one night stay. The ambience, staff, food and facilities were second to none. We thoroughly enjoyed the verbena spa experience. We look forward to visting the Feversham Arms Hotel and Spa again - hopefully in the near future!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaBaiaHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,561 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
705 reviews
23.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
376 reviews
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
20.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Property: Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing