We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class Accomodation”
Review of The Carlton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Lodge
Ranked #8 of 15 Helmsley B&B and Inns
north of england
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“First class Accomodation”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Excellent B&B.Rooms were comfortable.Breakfast was enjoyable.Parking was available.Staff and service was friendly and obliging (providing early breakfast.)There is a sitting room with books dvds etc.Altogether a very nice place to stay,would be hard to find better at the price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellothereitsmehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    22
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were welcomed by the owner who carried our luggage to our room. The room itself was equipped with everything you would expect in a good hotel but with the nice added touch of free bottled water. Although evening meals are not served there are several places to eat within ten minutes walking distance. The English breakfasts were first class and came with fresh orange juice and proper portions of butter, not the usual wrapped variety. This is an excellent base to explore the lovely countryside and attractions.We thouroughly enjoyed our two night stay and hope to come again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlLondon_Pimlico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

The title says it all, ANOTHER stay at the Carlton Lodge.
It’s not often we ‘go back’ to the same digs, but the Carlton Lodge is one exception. It is an ideal base for those holidaying in and around Helmsley. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable, and I thoroughly recommend forking out that little bit extra for their ‘Superior’ Rooms (unlike a previous contributor!)
The place is (deservedly) rated as four star silver; there is plenty of on-site (free) parking, free wi-fi, superb facilities (the en-suites have shower, not bath – but don’t let this put you off), there is a residents’ lounge, although the rooms we have stayed in are so large we didn't need it, a well-stocked welcome tray.
The breakfasts are renowned, and it’s no surprise, a more than adequate cereal/ fruit etc bar, followed by a cooked breakfast to die for….do not miss the ‘Full English’, locally sourced produce cooked to perfection!!! And served with smooth and calming efficiency by mine (mein?)-host, Chris. No doubt, in the background, mine-hostess Margaret is paddling away furiously beneath the calm!!
The location is just a few hundred yards from Helmsley Market Square – so if you want an evening meal, you don’t even have to take the car.
Remember, it is no longer a hotel, which means that it doesn’t have a bar, or a restaurant, but it truly is one of the best ‘B & B’s’ in which we have stayed! And the pubs and restaurants are but a few minute’s walk away!!
Listen, you don’t need me to eulogise further, visit the website http://carlton-lodge.com/ .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobbyWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Beautiful house on the edge of this quaint little town. Host was most welcoming, room was tasteful, very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent. All in all, a wonderful place to stay. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucecleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I was directed to the Carlton Lodge by locals in the pub. Fortunately, I got the last room for the night. My single room was very small but clean, comfortable and well equipped. The owner/manager took me to see it before registering, which I appreciated. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was excellent. This facility is located in the heart of Helmsley, making it well suited for walking around the village and enjoying the atmosphere and architecture. Compared to better known and much more expensive local alternatives such as the Black Swan, the Carlton Lodge is an excellent bargain.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

In a very convenient location close to the town but on the main road.Traffic noise could be a problem in the busy season. Has off road private parking. The B&B is a converted old hotel with an attractive exterior but the interior is rather dated and tired looking including the bedroom/bathroom. We stayed in the superior en suite double room. It is spacious,clean,comfortable but nothing "superior" about it.
It was not particularly welcoming or friendly and the breakfast was fairly standard.
For a good evening meal try the Feather Inn in the main square.

Room Tip: Not worth paying extra for the superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeasonedTraveller37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Spacious room, tastefully furnished. Doggie friendly. Efficient and friendly welcome. Check out their website--it does exactly what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vrumvrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helmsley hotels
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
731 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,589 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
2.6 mi away
Plumpton Court
Plumpton Court
#1 of 2 in Nawton
93 reviews
5.3 mi away
Laskill Country House
Laskill Country House
#2 of 3 in Hawnby
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Lodge

Property: The Carlton Lodge
Address: Bondgate, Helmsley YO62 5EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling on the edge of the historic Market (Friday) Town of Helmsley the Carlton Lodge Award Winning Guest Accommodation operates under a sustainable visitor charter awarded by the North York Moors National Park.Spectacular scenery surrounds Helmsley and the Carlton Lodge, which is ideally placed to explore the Moors, historic York, the east coast resorts of Whitby, Scarborough, Robin Hoods Bay and the Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Carlton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Lodge Helmsley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing