We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely place to pop into to.”
Review of The Cocoa Tree

The Cocoa Tree
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Description: We are a small family owned cafe/coffee shop serving a wide selection of light lunches,snacks,cakes,waffles,cream tea's,award winning ice cream and milkshakes.A specials board is also available along side a varied menu. We also have a good selection of gifts. All dogs are welcome inside the cafe.Muddy paws are not a problem. Entrance is wheelchair friendly. In the hot weather we have air conditioning for your comfort. Myself (Julie) and Mark are the new owners of THE COCOA TREE and since taking over a year ago 2014. We would like to thank all of our customers old and new for all the lovely comments and support. We aim to provide good quality local produce with a friendly relaxed atmosphere. At the moment payment is cash only but we will be looking into payment by card in the near future.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a small family owned cafe/coffee shop serving a wide selection of light lunches,snacks,cakes,waffles,cream tea's,award winning ice cream and milkshakes.A specials board is also available along side a varied menu. We also have a good selection of gifts. All dogs are welcome inside the cafe.Muddy paws are not a problem. Entrance is wheelchair friendly. In the hot weather we have air conditioning for your comfort. Myself (Julie) and Mark are the new owners of THE COCOA TREE and since taking over a year ago 2014. We would like to thank all of our customers old and new for all the lovely comments and support. We aim to provide good quality local produce with a friendly relaxed atmosphere. At the moment payment is cash only but we will be looking into payment by card in the near future.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really lovely place to pop into to.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We popped in for a drink and a sandwich. The food was lovely and the service excellent. I would definitely recommend a visit. Next time I'd try some cake. It looked lovely.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clarabelle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    44
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Coffee and chocolate plus more”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Popped in for a quick coffee while in Helmsley...good choice!
Warm welcome, coffee refills and very yummy warmed chocolate fudge cake.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fabulous coffee”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A lovely friendly cafe with lovely fresh food and decent coffee, what more could you ask for. Perfect Americanos, the only problem is its not open all week.!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 2bluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coxwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We are regular customers of the Cocoa Tree mainly on a Sunday when we just want to take it easy and have coffee and a cake in a friendly place. The owners are great people who alway chat away and somehow manage to include anyone who wants to be involved. They are very kind and considerate and this is what makes this cafe my favourite. The coffee is very good and the cakes delicious,try the teacake with marmalade and you will definitely want another.

Don't miss this place when you are in Helmsley it knocks spots off all the other coffee shops and I have tried them all

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

That this little coffee shop has a devoted following of locals speaks volumes. Friendly, chatty owners, excellent quality food and drink, the best ice cream in Yorkshire and a large variety of edible and non edible gifts. Don't be put off by its size. If it is crowded, take a turn around town and return. You will feel better for the experience!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cocoa Tree also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Cocoa Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing