We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveler rating
331
143
30
17
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
331
143
30
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub coffee machine market square steak pie full english breakfast excellent breakfast would stay again cleveland way good size comfy bed central location stayed for one night well worth a visit good nights sleep an evening meal bar area north yorkshire
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 534 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2019

Stayed here many times over the years but this time was poor. Tv didn’t work, mouldy silicone around bath. Noise all night even after pub closed Complained next day but owners didn’t even come down to address it

Room tip: Don’t bother till this place sharpens it’s game Charging fair price but not as it is now
Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jonmC1327OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2019

Came here for a meal with my husband as we were stopping in Helmsley for a spa break. Lovely country pub with a roaring fireplace. Staff very pleasant and welcoming. Couldn’t do enough for us. Food very reasonably priced. Really tasty and home cooked dishes. Really enjoyed it. Would definitely return.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ScottyT1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2019 via mobile

Visited The Royal Oak today, on entering the pub we were greeted by friendly staff. Even though there was a large party already in the pub we were shown to a table. Our order was taken and we didn't wait long for our food. The food was amazing, my wife had the Steak & Ale pie and I had a chicken parmesan both outstanding.

We will definitely return.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 184janetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2019

We would highly recommend this place to anyone. The room was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Situated in the heart of Hemsley with the most beautiful shops within a stone's throw and walks for all within easy distance.
Pet friendly too with a log fire to warm the coldest of hands.
We will be back, many thanks Royal Oak.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2019

The twin room was absolutely fine and the staff were friendly and helpful. There's no parking, but we parked on the road at the back, which is free. There was a quality coffee machine in the room and breakfast was great - even did a full veggie breakfast.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SP120413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews