We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house in the centre in Helmsley”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Helmsley, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
D_Skipton
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous house in the centre in Helmsley”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We visited Helmsley as a group of two families, in all there were 9 of us and 2 dogs. The house was easily large enough to accommodate us without us getting under each others' feet. Every room is beautifully decorated, with four good sized bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and a lovely large kitchen, living room and conservatory. Plus a really nice, secluded garden and decking area, with private parking for one car. On arrival, it was clear that the house was spotlessly clean, and there was even a small welcome gift awaiting us. The owners provided logs for the fire, use of bicycles, ideas for things to do / see / eat, and really everything anyone could need for a great holiday on the edge of the North York moors. We spent most of our time walking, but also used Helmsley's outdoor pool, visited the castle, Rievaulx Abbey and Mount Grace Priory. We mostly ate in the house kitchen in the evening and then retired to the conservatory for a glass of wine. We did venture into the village for a wonderful meal at the Black Swan one evening - thoroughly recommended, but with prices to match the quality of the food!

In all, a wonderful relaxing week in a beautiful part of the country. Thinking of returning, maybe for a winter break.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: The wifi was a bit hit and miss, but this is a very minor point.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2016
We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your break at Castle View, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. It is great to hear that you had everything you needed to hand there for your group, and your evening routine of dining at the property and retiring for a glass of wine sounds perfect for unwinding at the end of a day walking! We will be sure to pass your comments along to the owner and hope you return for another holiday soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunnerbil...
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Always going to be good when you want to buy the place”
Reviewed May 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This house is superb. Space, location, bedrooms, bathrooms plenty of all. Truly minutes away from market square and all the delights on offer. Lovely view of the castle from my bedroom. Thanks to the owners for !taking this place available. Oh and the sun is shining.

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2016
We couldn't be happier that you've had such a wonderful experience at Castle View, thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay there. Having views of the castle from the bedroom sounds fabulous, and having such a great place to call 'home' after being out and about exploring all that the area had to offer sounds just perfect! We certainly hope that you will be back for another holiday soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“brilliant house”
Reviewed April 16, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

this house had it all for my family lovely comfortable furnishings (the pillows are the best ever) and with parking for us all (one on the drive plenty of parking in the street) this house is close to the town centre and attractions, when we arrived the house was spotless with lots of small extra touches to make our stay even better, I think we spent most of our time in the house in the conservatory which was lovely in the mornings then late evening with the lights around the garden made this even more special.
We are hoping to visit here again

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loved the conservortory in the evenings
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful feedback with us all, we couldn't be happier that you and your family enjoyed your time at Castle View. It is great to hear that you had everything you needed to hand, as well as those extras on top, and sitting in the conservatory relaxing in the evening sounds fabulous! We hope that you return again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnP634
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday cottage”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed for the week with husband,father,daughter,son in law and 2 of my grandchildren, to enable my father to attend the Palestine Reunion Parade at Eden Camp. Love!y cottage in an ideal location, warm and comfortable. Looking forward to staying again.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucycrye
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location, pretty town!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a very nice cottage, in a fabulous location for the town. Except you can't see the castle so the name is a little misleading. It was plenty big enough for the 9 of us and there was lots of kitchen equipment, towels, bedding, games etc for everyone.

The bedrooms are spacious and nicely presented. The whole cottage was impeccably clean. The bathrooms are modern and clean and there are enough for the number of people which was nice to not queue! Hot water was ok although went cool at times. Having wifi was good as phone signal is poor.

The cottage was a little cold at times and it would have been good if we could have controlled the heating. However underfloor heating was a nice touch though, as is the real fire.

Overall a very pleasant stay in a lovely area with nice walks and things to do around.

Date of stay: February 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar
Reviewed January 7, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Date of stay: October 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belgium
Reviewed June 27, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Date of stay: April 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing