We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really special occasion with lovely food & brilliant service”

Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Ranked #18 of 37 Restaurants in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A really special occasion with lovely food & brilliant service”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The occasion was my mother's 80th birthday lunch. The event was co ordinated perfectly by the hotel in the weeks leading up to the lunch with a very flexible attitude towards the menu to ensure the options suited everyone. The food was quite adventurous, with the starters & puddings being particularly good. The foie gras & soup were beautifully flavoured & the beef tender & tasty. Andreas was magnificent at keeping everyone happy & content with the timings of the food & the barman was also really efficient considering he had one arm in a bandage. We didn't stay at the hotel or visit the spa but they both looked lovely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    40
    35
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We returned here to celebrate our wedding anniversary after having held our wedding at The Feversham. The original experience was fantastic and we were treated like royalty, which isn't surprising given that you have to take over the hotel for the day. The return was a different experience altogether. With the exception of one waitress, no one else was interested in the fact that we were returning for a celebration and we were not remembered. The service was appalling to the point that the dessert was completely forgotten about and the suggested recompense of a drink from the bar on the house was frankly an insult. We have not returned since and doubt that we will do again. We now live locally to Helmsley and do not regard The Feversham as some where to go

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vernon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Aloof!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Lovely décor and spotlessly clean, but not really a welcoming place. I felt there was no connection between staff and customers and I wouldn't want to revisit. Apart from the lovely décor, the ambience here was rather similar to the Black Swan ie lacking.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila7181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Disley,UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awful service. Food ok.”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Dinner not served until 10.30 despite 8.30 booking. Staff arguing with each other in front of diners. Menu very limited, no chicken or steak for example and all dishes bereft of carbs! Trying too hard. They should take a leaf out of the The Star at Harome which is much better in every way.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladydodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5 course tasting menu”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Meal was really very good and we ate things which we would not normally have chosen from a menu but enjoyed the whole idea of the tasting menu, together with the chosen wines, very much.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa also viewed

 
Harome, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing