We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday treat!”

Verbena Spa, Helmsley
Ranked #12 of 18 things to do in Helmsley
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Verbena Spa, Helmsley, Yorkshire. Nestling in Helmsley, on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors National Park. Verbena Spa is within easy reach of Leeds, York, Whitby & Teesside.Elemis products feature strongly in a menu of day spa packages and individual spa treatments. We also offer Anne Semonin for bespoke treatments designed especially for you. Verbena Spa is part of the award-winning Feversham Arms Hotel, so why not complete the experience with an overnight getaway? Elemis products feature strongly in a menu of day spa packages and individual spa treatments. The Verbena Spa is part of the award-winning Feversham Arms Hotel, so why not complete the experience with an overnight getaway?
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Birthday treat!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Have just returned from a birthday mini spa package. Arrived to be greeted in the car park by a very polite gentleman who took the car and parked it for us in the underground car park, very impressed! We were then shown where the spa reception was and were again greeted by polite and friendly girls. After a speedy signing in we were shown the changing rooms , lockers etc. On opening the locker waiting for us were crumpled folded up fawn coloured robes, not the nice white fluffy ones we were expecting. As this been our first ever spa day we didn't complain, put them on and went to enjoy the facilities. No one showed us where these were, but we soon found them after walking through a nicely seated lounge area with soft music playing. A lovely sunny morning, so we went out to the lovely outdoor heated pool for a swim. The hot tub was fab, quite new and no more than 2\3 people were ever using it at once, it seated 6. The facilities inside of the sauna, salt steam room, monsoon shower and foot spa were all excellent. After a very chilled out morning and lunch taken outside round the pool, then reading, from the huge choice of magazines we had our planned half hour back massage. Very professional, felt amazing, could have stayed there all afternoon! The Verbena Spa is one present on my Christmas list. Such a lovely way to chill out on a bank holiday. The only negatives were the old bath robes and the lack of an outside wall clock (useful for knowing it's time to go in for treatment appt) , Feversham Arms please sort it and next time 5* !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing spa, could do with upgrading to match price”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I visited the spa with a friend, we have very much enjoyed the spa in the past but the standard is slipping, in the changing rooms to toilet would not flush, and the robes they provide are shabby. When we entered the facilities the steam room was'nt working nor was the aroma theropy room which is missing quite a few tiles so carefully where you sit! the girls finally got the monsoon shower to work , but outside the outdoor pool was freezing so also out of use, and the hot tub was made of wood and slimed up well ready for a good scrub clean. Unfortunately we arrived early to make the most out of the spa but we were hanging around as only the sauna was working, so we had a sandwich which was also disappointing as it was'nt fresh bread and I ordered ham but there was more chutney than ham, but the chips were nice, I don't think it was a £10 sandwich though.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“very nice to chill out at”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Recently visited the Spa, and it was very very nice. The sitting area with loads of comfy settees and blankets, candles lit and relaxation music playing. The treatement was lovely too. My only coplaint would be that the steps up to the the hot top were a little rotten and springy, and there were some tiles missing to certain areas in the heat treatment area ie sauna/steam vapour room etc which made it look a little tired. For the rates charged I would have expected better. The staff though were absolutlely amazing, nothing was too much trouble and the coffees served with home made shortbread were delicious. My lunch was very nice too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice treatment”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had nails and a massage. Did not use the other facilities but have in the past. All decent treatments and nice comfy area for sitting in. Staff friendly

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zoe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but not as wonderful as first thought”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Went for the 5-9pm spa by candlelight package with my mum for my birthday which all in all was a very lovely experience. Staff were more than helpful the whole time and very friendly. Great points would be the sauna, salty steam room, shower and foot spas, but not so much the other steam room as it didnt feel like anything and was rather small, also the ice fountain was out of order. Both robes were not as inviting as you would hope, felt like XXL size, very thick and heavy, and mums especially was VERY ragged and frayed, not very nice at all. Changing room in general was very nice and well catered for, however there are no signs on the doors to say what they are i.e. toilet, shower, changing cubicle, so stood opening every one to find the shower...which in the end I did not want to use as it smelt really foisty, and had significant mould growing around the shower head, tray and a fair few of the tiles,,,it was disgusting! One big frustration when you have time slots for treatments and food, is there are hardly any clocks around the place AT ALL! We found ourselves running back to the inside spa area where there was one tucked on a wall round a corner...a simple mistake but a very big downfall, we mentioned it all of the time we were there. Wooden hottub was amazing to sit in, very hot, really enjoyed sitting in it, but also very badly maintained, all wood everywhere around the spa was rotting, loose, and needed a good maintain. A couple of tables round the pool were left uncleaned of plates with pots of jam and butter when we arrived...and were still there entertaining wasps 3hours into our stay!! These were the bad points, but all in all the outdoor heated pool was very lovely (our favourite), treatments were perfection both staff, room and ambience, food was very nice but also expensive for what you got with very limited choice..Overall we would go again but will be writing to the spa management to outline our concerns.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verbena Spa, Helmsley also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Verbena Spa, Helmsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing