We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place in beautiful setting”
Review of Stilworth House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helmsley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stilworth House
Ranked #4 of 14 Helmsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from another perfect stay at Stilworth House. Owner Carol makes you feel so very welcome to this lovely place.
The accommodation is spotlessly clean and very comfortable with all the little extras Carol provides eg. robes, chocolates, selection of hot drinks, biscuits etc., you really couldn't wish for better.
Breakfast is delicious and definitely deserving of the awards that have been given.
The central location with stunning views of Helmsley Castle make this the perfect place to stay. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when visiting Helmsley and have no hesitation in recommending Stilworth House. We look forward to our next visit.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Annron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 143 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

A fantastic place to stay. Carol is an excellent host and nothing is to much bother. A great breakfast and very clean rooms in a lovely setting. A great place to stay where we ate at the brilliant Star Inn just along the road.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank craig_warkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We travelled to Helmsley to attend our friends wedding at the black swan. We were made welcome from our arrival. We parked in the Carr park which I noticed had CCTV. We were shown to our room which was at the back of the house and opened to the garden it was lovely and quiet and ideal for our stay as we didn't need to stagger through the house when we came back from the wedding. The room had tea and coffee facilities and a selection of biscuits my wife thought chocolates on the pillow were a nice touch.
In the morning we were greeted at breakfast by carol and a large selection of cereals and a full English breakfast unfortunately due to a heavy night I didn't feel up to this and so just opted for a bacon sandwich. I would recommend this b&b as it is very close to the market place in Helmsley and we were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This exceptionally friendly guest house was a fantastic place to stay. The room was a good size with large soft towels and really comfortable bed. The little extras such as chocolates in the room, plenty of biscuits and a wide range of complimentary hot drinks made it a cut above other places we have stayed. The full English breakfast would have rivalled any five star hotel and was cooked and served by Carol who was a friendly host. It is in a convenient location and the private car parking with CCTV was an added bonus. We would highly recommend Stilworth House for any couple or family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ros10uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Brilliant stay at Stilworth house with host Carol and her family, as a couple we have stayed there several times over a number of years, every visit has been excellent, the rooms are very comfortable, furnished to a high quality as is the cleanliness, the breakfasts are superb ! I would recommend this guest house to anyone wishing to stay in Helmsley.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mf004b1567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Had friends visiting, unfortunately we were not big enough to take everyone so the rest stayed at Stilworth House, Helmsley. Carol made them feel so welcome. They were very comfortable and the breakfast was to "die for". Carol was full of local information and sometimes our friends ended visiting places of interest before returning to us. They were pleased to have private parking and the garden was a delight. They loved to watch the fish in the pond.
Also one of our friends was lucky to enough to have her nails done while there. "Beautylicious" is run by her daughter Hannah and it was a great Birthday treat. When you visit ladies do try out the Beauty Salon you wont be disappointed. Our friends will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I wanted to take the opportunity to provide a review of Carol Swift's 'Stilworth House' hotel.
I have stayed there a number of times and every visit has been superb! Carol's hospitality is fantastic, as are her breakfasts - not to mention the choice of coffees!!
I would recommend that anyone visiting Helmsley or the surrounding area stay at Stilworth House, it is second to none!

Room Tip: Any room available!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helmsley hotels
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,645 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
787 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
2.8 mi away
Plumpton Court
Plumpton Court
#1 of 2 in Nawton
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carlton Lodge
The Carlton Lodge
#7 of 14 in Helmsley
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stilworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stilworth House

Address: 1 Church Street, Helmsley YO62 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Helmsley
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Stilworth House situated just off the market square with views of Helmsley Castle to the rear . Our aim is to provide good food and comfortable accommodation in a cosy and informal atmosphere. There are comforortable en-suite ground floor bedrooms with dtv,radio alarm,hairdryer,tea/ coffee making facilities and fluffy towels. Award winning full English breakfast. In house beautician also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stilworth House Helmsley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing