We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look no further for a place to stay in Helmsley” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stilworth House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helmsley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stilworth House
Ranked #4 of 15 Helmsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Look no further for a place to stay in Helmsley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic place to stay. Carol is an excellent host and nothing is to much bother. A great breakfast and very clean rooms in a lovely setting. A great place to stay where we ate at the brilliant Star Inn just along the road.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank craig_warkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
72
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hull Epping
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We travelled to Helmsley to attend our friends wedding at the black swan. We were made welcome from our arrival. We parked in the Carr park which I noticed had CCTV. We were shown to our room which was at the back of the house and opened to the garden it was lovely and quiet and ideal for our stay as we didn't need to stagger through the house when we came back from the wedding. The room had tea and coffee facilities and a selection of biscuits my wife thought chocolates on the pillow were a nice touch.
In the morning we were greeted at breakfast by carol and a large selection of cereals and a full English breakfast unfortunately due to a heavy night I didn't feel up to this and so just opted for a bacon sandwich. I would recommend this b&b as it is very close to the market place in Helmsley and we were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This exceptionally friendly guest house was a fantastic place to stay. The room was a good size with large soft towels and really comfortable bed. The little extras such as chocolates in the room, plenty of biscuits and a wide range of complimentary hot drinks made it a cut above other places we have stayed. The full English breakfast would have rivalled any five star hotel and was cooked and served by Carol who was a friendly host. It is in a convenient location and the private car parking with CCTV was an added bonus. We would highly recommend Stilworth House for any couple or family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ros10uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Brilliant stay at Stilworth house with host Carol and her family, as a couple we have stayed there several times over a number of years, every visit has been excellent, the rooms are very comfortable, furnished to a high quality as is the cleanliness, the breakfasts are superb ! I would recommend this guest house to anyone wishing to stay in Helmsley.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mf004b1567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Had friends visiting, unfortunately we were not big enough to take everyone so the rest stayed at Stilworth House, Helmsley. Carol made them feel so welcome. They were very comfortable and the breakfast was to "die for". Carol was full of local information and sometimes our friends ended visiting places of interest before returning to us. They were pleased to have private parking and the garden was a delight. They loved to watch the fish in the pond.
Also one of our friends was lucky to enough to have her nails done while there. "Beautylicious" is run by her daughter Hannah and it was a great Birthday treat. When you visit ladies do try out the Beauty Salon you wont be disappointed. Our friends will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I wanted to take the opportunity to provide a review of Carol Swift's 'Stilworth House' hotel.
I have stayed there a number of times and every visit has been superb! Carol's hospitality is fantastic, as are her breakfasts - not to mention the choice of coffees!!
I would recommend that anyone visiting Helmsley or the surrounding area stay at Stilworth House, it is second to none!

Room Tip: Any room available!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was our second stay with Carol and once again we had a very warm welcome, a well supplied room and an excellent breakfast including porridge, fresh fruit and even a choice of coffees! The central location is excellent as is the private parking.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Margaretnelincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helmsley hotels
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.2 mi away
The Carlton Lodge
The Carlton Lodge
#9 of 15 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
2.8 mi away
Plumpton Court
Plumpton Court
#5 of 15 in Helmsley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stilworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stilworth House

Property: Stilworth House
Address: 1 Church Street, Helmsley YO62 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Helmsley
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Stilworth House situated just off the market square with views of Helmsley Castle to the rear . Our aim is to provide good food and comfortable accommodation in a cosy and informal atmosphere. There are comforortable en-suite ground floor bedrooms with dtv,radio alarm,hairdryer,tea/ coffee making facilities and fluffy towels. Award winning full English breakfast. In house beautician also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stilworth House Helmsley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing