We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little bed and breakfast right in the heart of Helmsley”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stilworth House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helmsley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stilworth House
Ranked #4 of 15 Helmsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great little bed and breakfast right in the heart of Helmsley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stilworth House is right in the middle of Helmsley so walking into the market square takes minutes. At the same time, the bedrooms are at the rear along the edge of a long, pretty garden with a big pond and the nearest neighbour is the ruined Helmsley Castle so it is extremely quiet and peaceful. Carol, the owner, is so welcoming and she does a mean bacon sandwich! The rooms are quite small but you can come and go as you please as they are separate from the house. I would heartily recommend this as a tranquil, friendly base for exploring the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
74
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

The accommodation is very comfortable and clean and in a beautiful spot with views of Helmsley Castle from the rear. The owners are very welcoming and breakfast was enough to keep me going through until tea time!
PS. Thanks for the pies from the shop round the corner (don't forget to ask about these when you stay)!

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Hidden away in Helmsley from the hustle of milling tourists. Super breakfast with so much choice and perfectly cooked and presented. Lovely garden with guest rooms outside the main house. Everything you needed, small if you are used to a bit of space. The room was rather dated in its furnishings and decor but adequate.
Very helpful friendly owner.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnydaysLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Just had a lovely two night break in Helmsley staying at this little gem of a place. The twin bedded room was very warm and cosy and equipped with everything we could possibly need. Carol the owner was really welcoming and helpful and the breakfast was extremely good with lots of choice. We will definitely return and wouldn't hesitate in recommending Stilworth House to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsCatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Stilworth House as a base for visiting nearby Pickering during the Annual Wartime Weekend, 14th-16th October, 2011. The event is organised by the North Yorkshire Moors Railway. We chose Helmsley as most if not all accommodation was fully booked in Pickering by the Spring. However Helmsley and Stilworth House proved to be a bonus. The B&B is ideally located, with friendly efficient hosts. Superb breakfasts. I have no reservations in recommending this exceptional accommodation. K.B. Chorley.

Room Tip: I understand the twin bedroom may be a little larger than a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Set in a delightful area this B&B will take some beating. It is very clean, the food is excellent and the hosts are most welcoming and make you feel at home. The gardens are well maintained and the fish pond alone is worth a visit. I would not hesitate to recommed Stilworth House

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

There is not much more that can be said about this B&B that other reviewers have not already said. This is one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. The location, facilities and friendly service would put many hotels to shame. Little thoughtful touches like an umbrella in your room and mini fridge with fresh milk and chilled water make Stilworth House stand out from the others. The rooms are accessed from the garden, this gives you the feeling of being in your own little private cottage.

Helmsley is a delightful market town full of tempting tea rooms, bakeries and pubs; Stilworth House is an ideal place to stay and enjoy the town and the surrounding countryside. We would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helmsley hotels
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.2 mi away
The Carlton Lodge
The Carlton Lodge
#9 of 15 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.8 mi away
Plumpton Court
Plumpton Court
#1 of 2 in Nawton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stilworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stilworth House

Property: Stilworth House
Address: 1 Church Street, Helmsley YO62 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Helmsley
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Stilworth House situated just off the market square with views of Helmsley Castle to the rear . Our aim is to provide good food and comfortable accommodation in a cosy and informal atmosphere. There are comforortable en-suite ground floor bedrooms with dtv,radio alarm,hairdryer,tea/ coffee making facilities and fluffy towels. Award winning full English breakfast. In house beautician also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stilworth House Helmsley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing