We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“le tour séjour .... magnifique”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carperby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had the most magnificent stay over Le Tour de France weekend at the Wheatsheaf. Thank you Clare + Emily and your team for making it very memorable. Everyone was very friendly and helpful - Matt was very obliging with a particular menu dish for me. We stayed in the Annex and it was very nice, with our own 'front' door onto the car park. Lovely walks to be had from the door. We look forward to visiting you again - many thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 467 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was a bit of a last minute booking for a stop over whilst walking in the dales. Set in a quaint little village the inn has a friendly pub atmosphere. Dinner on the evening was excellent with good sized positions and a wonderful dessert. The rooms were basic but very comfortable and a nice hot power shower that was ideal after a long trek. A bargain for the price and a very tasty breakfast included.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarahjr1w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Great location with really helpful staff. The accommodation is basic but very clean and adequate without being glamorous Very helpful staff and a great pub atmosphere. The food is simple but enjoyable. Location is quiet and picturesque with lovely walks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonBTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband took me for a weekend away with my sister and her partner for our birthdays. I was expecting a pub with a few rooms above which would be in a great location for the dales. It is so much more. The hotel has about 13 rooms and both of ours were lovely. Very comfy beds and great powerful large double shower. Breakfast was great too. We ate there both nights, We were only planning on eating there once but the food was great. Lovely home cooked meals so we stayed in both nights. The best bit about this lovely hotel is the staff. Emily (one of the owners I think) couldn't do enough for us and was so friendly it made our weekend. She even offered to tumble our clothes after a walk in the pouring Yorkshire rain. Free wifi just topped it all off when my husband could watch the rugby on our iPad! We love the Dales and have stayed in a few more pricey hotels but I think this is my favourite. Try it......

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I stopped here for a rest as we rode part of "Stage 1" on our tandem. Despite it being before opening time we were allowed to wait around and had a very refreshing half-pint before continuing on our way. Thank you very much to the very friendly barmaid.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Flatliner3544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Just got back today from two lovely nights at the Wheatsheaf. We took the dog with us they charged £10.00 for the dog to stay. He was able to come and sit under the table at breakfast in the snug area, and dogs are allowed in the bar at night. He was allowed in the room, and the owner offered us towels if needed to clean him. Lovely walks right from the door, nice 7 mile one which takes in waterfalls and a castle. Emily and her staff were very helpful, and filled our flask every morning when asked. The breakfast was very tasty and toast and tea was refilled if requested. We ate in the bar each night the food was lovely especially the burger and puddings. We will defiantly return to this hotel and this part of the country. Make sure you take everything with you need as no shop in the village and its 9 miles to get to the town. Thank you Emily and the team for a lovely stay we have come back very relaxed and refreshed ready for work.

Room Tip: We had a room over the bar, this was a little louder on Friday night, with people talking in the bar...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PookyCleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have just thoroughly enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Wheatsheaf in Carperby.The inn is reassuringly traditional with mod-cons for those who require them.If you want a 'get away from it all and relax' place to stay then book here. The welcome is warm and the whole ambience of the place is homely and comfortable.This does not mean the inn lacks class, as the place is owned by 2 fantastic ladies, Emily + Clare who,along with their staff really work hard to ensure your every need is met and more. If you want a contemporary wine bar experience book elsewhere but if you want a genuine welcome with clean,comfy rooms,a good menu and a friendly bar with a log fire-look no further,they also allow dogs.Our kids aged 12 and 14yrs loved it,even the walk across fields and woodland to Aysgarth Falls. Thank you Clare + Emily,Adam + nippers,Cuddlyman + Co will be back!! XX

Room Tip: The road at front of hotel is a busy one but I can honestly say it didn't bother us.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carperby
8.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
411 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
23.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
18.0 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
988 reviews
16.1 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale

Address: Main Street, Carperby, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Carperby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carperby
Price Range: $102 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheatsheaf is a traditional, family run inn set in the beautiful countryside of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Walker and dog friendly, the Wheatsheaf is on a spectacular walking route between the historic Bolton Castle (where Mary Queen of Scots was kept captive in 1568)and the world famous Aysgarth Falls. The Wheatsheaf was also where Alf White (more famously known as the vet and author James Herriot) and his wife had their honeymoon in 1941. Featuring real ales, log fires, and good food, the Wheatsheaf prides itself on its welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Residential Hotel, Restaurant And Bar
The Wheatsheaf Residential Hotel, Restaurant & Bar Hotel Carperby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing