We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family run pub”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carperby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed there for two nights Sept 2-4th and would highly recommend it for a visit,it was clean airy,and comfortable.We had our evening meal in the bar and very nice it was the bar staff and the locals were very friendly.All our meals were served quickly and the staff were all prepared to go that extra mile for instance I don't care for the milk in cartons which were in our room but the staff gave me a small jug to take to our room. All in all this was an excellent break and well worth a visit we would go back.The car parking was plentiful and not uneven as someone had mentioned

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maureenparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 489 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in Carperby in August 2013 and frequented the pub on several occasions.
Friendly staff, excellent beer and cider.
Food was excellent, good choice on the menu and reasonably priced, very friendly and quick service.
Would consider staying here for a short break on the strength of the pub.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over three nights last weekend. The first thing you notice is the lovely warm welcome. The food was excellent as was the service, this was first class. we stayed in one of the Apedale suite rooms, these are modern rooms whch offer more space. The mattress was really comfy and we were afforded three good sleeps, I usually struggle in strange beds, but not here. Some changes have been made since we last stayed here. The bar area which was a little dated has had a lick of paint which makes the area much brighter and more welcoming, also little touches include colour photos and pictures instead of the previous black and white. There is a new wood burner in the huge Inglenook in the residents lounge which looks inviting. The dining room has a new floor and has been opened up since our previous visit. All in all we have had a lovely relaxing time, the staff were all really attentive and friendly, as I say the service was superb, already looking forward to our next visit, this will be when the weather has changed and the wood burner is in full flame! Well done to the owners and staff for continuous improvement.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Apedale are I think dual aspect, you do pay a little extra but it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed just the one night (31st August) The location is perfect for walkers with easy access to the Dales. Staff are friendly as are the locals!
We were at the front of the pub in one of the older rooms, there is a later extension on the back. We had everything we needed i just think it needs to be brought up to date as the decor and furniture are a bit tired.
Breakfast was really good, and perfect fuel for long walks!
Overall really good stop over for one or two nights tops.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shamusthefunmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I booked into the Wheatsheaf at short notice for a one night stay and were very happy with our choice. We had our dog with us which wasn't a problem at all as dogs are welcomed in the bar area. The food in the bar was excellent and the staff couldn't be faulted. All in all a very enjoyable stay and we will hopefully be returning for another stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank durhamfamily036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stop. The hotel is a great mix of visitors and locals.
We stayed in the four poster room at the front of the hotel because of our dog and the room was clean, tidy and perfectly acceptable.
We ate in the bar at night and had a very nice steak at a reasonable price, the service was very attentive, perhaps too much. Breakfast was what you'd expect a cooked breakfast to be, perfect to set you up in the morning for all the great walks in the area.
The hotel is in a great location as a base for walking

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our three day stay at this family run pub. Previous reviews have made reference to the warm welcome provided to guests and the most friendly attitude of staff and it would be right to say this was very evident throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff to ensure everything was just right for us.
There is very little in Carperby however other than The Wheatsheaf. There are numerous enjoyable walks to take in the area however and having explored several of these what better than to return to the pub each day --sample the local beers whilst watching the evening sunset---then make your meal choice from the more than adequate menu. We had different meals during our stay and all were of a very high standard indeed.
We opted for a superior room at the back of the pub. It was more than generous in size and although situated alongside the car park was very quiet indeed. The bathroom was adequate with a power shower situated in what many people describe as a shower cubicle. This was perfectly adequate for our needs however. If any criticism had to be made it concerned the very hot water in the sink tap. Whilst this gave no problems to us we feel this might not be the same for other less travelled guests.
However it would be totally unfair to end this review with a negative thought. With this in mind It must be said not only is the food excellent and the rooms more than comfortable but the staff are a credit to their employer. In fact everything in the pub is run in a most professional way.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the rear of the pub---it's silent night time there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carperby
8.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
428 reviews
18.0 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,035 reviews
20.5 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
298 reviews
8.6 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
20.1 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale

Address: Main Street, Carperby, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Carperby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carperby
Price Range: $103 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheatsheaf is a traditional, family run inn set in the beautiful countryside of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Walker and dog friendly, the Wheatsheaf is on a spectacular walking route between the historic Bolton Castle (where Mary Queen of Scots was kept captive in 1568)and the world famous Aysgarth Falls. The Wheatsheaf was also where Alf White (more famously known as the vet and author James Herriot) and his wife had their honeymoon in 1941. Featuring real ales, log fires, and good food, the Wheatsheaf prides itself on its welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Residential Hotel, Restaurant And Bar
The Wheatsheaf Residential Hotel, Restaurant & Bar Hotel Carperby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing