We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in a pretty location. Probably...”
other travelers have booked this property
The Granary (Sleeps 8) Front Elevation Showing Private Lawned Area With Garden Furniture
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Granary (Sleeps 8) Front Elevation Showing Private Lawned Area With Garden Furniture
The Granary Ground Floor Lounge/Sitting Area With Open Fire - Seats 8 (View 1) The Granary Ground Floor Lounge/Sitting Area With Open Fire - Seats 8 (View 2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Granary (Sleeps 8) Front Elevation Showing Private Lawned Area With Garden Furniture
The Granary Ground Floor Lounge/Sitting Area With Open Fire - Seats 8 (View 1)
The Granary Ground Floor Lounge/Sitting Area With Open Fire - Seats 8 (View 2)
The Granary Ground Floor Dining Room/Sitting Area (View 1) - Seats 8
The Granary Ground Floor Dining Room/Sitting Area (View 2) - Seats 8
The Granary Kitchen - Fully Equipped -Recently Refurbished
The Granary Groundfloor Toilet/ Shower Room
The Granary 1st Floor En-suite King Size Bedroom - Sleeps 2
The Granary 1st Floor King Size Bedroom En-suite Bathroom With Toilet
The Granary 1st Floor Double Bedroom - Sleeps 2
The Granary 1st Floor Twin Bedroom - Sleeps 2 (Bed Configuration/ Layout May Change Between Lets)
The Granary 1st Floor Small Twin Bedroom - Sleep 2
View From The Property Into Pencroft Private Wooded and Lawned Areas
View Of Castle Bolton From Penhill
Manor Farm Cottage (Adjacent Property) - Sleeps 5 - Site Ref. 717512
Our Property At West Burton - Craven House - Sleeps 5 - Site Ref. 604019
Prospect Farm House - West Witton (Sleeps 8) Site Ref: 6570593
Prospect Barn - West Witton - Sleeps 2 - Site Ref. 1388276
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Carperby, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kirsty S
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a pretty location. Probably better suited to adult families than children.”
Reviewed June 5, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We visited during May half term, two families consisting of four adults and three children aged 5-7. The local area is pretty with plenty to do within about an hours drive - including Aysgarth Falls, Brimham Rocks, Forbidden Corner, Brymor Dairy, Wensleydale Creamery and Hawes, Fountains Abbey, Reeth and Richmond Castle. I would absolutely recommend the local pub and food in The Wheatsheaf, the staff being ever so friendly and accommodating and the food delicious at very reasonable prices. We also ate at The Streethead Inn, which was again very well priced with enormous portions and polite and friendly staff.
The house itself is extremely well stocked, more so than many of our self catering experiences. The kitchen is fully prepared for cooking indoors, with everything you could want, washing up liquid and a few dishwasher tablets to get you started, plus toilet rolls and hand soap in all the bathrooms with large and face towel set for all 8. The dining room was stocked with books and games, with basic Sky TV in the sitting room, all lovely touch above and beyond our previous experiences. Free wifi and a folder with local information/menu's etc were handy to have. The only thing I felt to be missing was a long handled broom, as the hard surfaced floors do tend to get quite messy throughout the week, with 7 or 8 people.
The furniture is modern, and comfortably seated all 7 of us. We did have ongoing problems with the fire, which would not draw and stay lit. We mentioned this to Mike but we found he became rather defensive and patronising at any criticisms! It should be noted, I feel, that when the house information says owners live 'nearby', they actually mean next door. Personally I value my privacy on holiday in order to relax, so this was not a wonderful realisation to me. The owners take great pride in their properties and were very regularly seen outside gardening or doing maintenance, and more often than not, present as we left and arrived back to the house or even if we just popped out to the car. The nature of the property is the Granary's dining room and kitchen backs onto the back of the owners house, where we saw Mike on a couple of occasions just outside our window. Also on leaving day, we were supposed to have until 10am to vacate, but at 9.30, Mike was prowling onto the property, taking the washing line down etc, making us feel obligated to leave earlier than we had planned.
The single beds in the twin rooms, the children reported were very comfortable with no complaints there at all. The rooms are spacious with plenty of draw/wardrobe space etc. The double bed was found to be very uncomfortable, with springs felt through, to the point one of our party ended up sleeping in a twin bed for the last few nights. This was again mentioned to Mike and met with rather rude defensiveness.
Overall, the bed and fire aside, a lovely house and extremely well stocked, in a pretty area with plenty to do. If privacy is not an issue to you, I would happily recommend this house to adult based families. Due to the outside restrictions of fragile walls and limited garden space, I would suggest families with children look elsewhere a little more child friendly, if you were hoping for outdoor space. A 4/5 holiday experience for my family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2018
Thank you for your comprehensive review and your comments and observations are noted

To all future prospective guests I would recommend you read all the reviews for this property, and our other properties, to gain a more rounded view of the Holiday Experience that can be enjoyed by Families and Groups of Friends, with or without children, at the Manor Farm Cottages Holiday complex in Carperby

For clarity of purpose I would confirm we do live on site not 'Nearby' or 'Next Door' which is clearly stated on our property information details and in communications from us prior to guests arrival and to date has not presented an issue with 'Privacy' or 'Prowling' during the maintenance and up keep of this one acre multi property site

I would confirm the 'Basic' SKY TV package referred too is actually the 'Full' package including, Entertainment, Sport, Cinema and Children's Channels.

In respect of the ' Open Fire' I did offer to show the guests the basic techniques and light a fire for them which they declined. I have subsequently lit a roaring fire without any problems to ensure there is no issue in the chimney stack. The mattress on the Double Bed is currently under review and will be upgraded if found to be necessary but this being the first time it has been brought to our attention we could not foresee this as being a problem prior to the arrival of these guests

On a personal note and to conclude I do not consider myself to be Rude, Patronising or in anyway over Defensive but I am always available and approachable, which I was to these Guests and their children on several occasions, to offer help, advice and discuss Guests needs in finding a mutual satisfactory solution to any issues that may arise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kellybU17...
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday”
Reviewed June 2, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Beautiful home, with plenty of space for 2 families. Everything was catered for, including enough dishwasher and washing tablets to get you started, tea, coffee, salt, pepper, washing up liquid etc, which is a thoughtful touch. Being families that love to cook, we were very impressed at how well stocked the kitchen was.

The only downside, hence 4 star rating was the double mattresses were very uncomfortable and the fire wouldn’t draw, but the owner assured us that they would fix these issues before their next visitors. This did not ruin our trip.

Please be aware that if you are bringing children and you are homebodies rather than out all day like us, your kids may get a little bored as they are not allowed ball games. The house outdoor area is small but as the owners live right next door they are fine with the kids using their garden. Our bunch love to run and jump and make lots of noise, so this may not suit you if you are planning to stay home a lot. Not a criticism, just a thought, may be worthwhile providing a wooden fort/pirate ship or something of the like to stop the temptation of climbing and jumping where they are not supposed to.

Lovely area, with a short walk to aysgarth falls which is a must see. Great first trip to Yorkshire Dales and won’t be the last as we thought it was beautiful and local people were very welcoming. The local pub The Wheatsheaf was fantastic with amazing fish and chips and a kids menu. Lovely staff who could not have been more helpful, with a very reasonably priced menu.

Also worth a mention as they are not in TripAdvisor yet, is The Falls cafe just behind The Falls hotel, with a local council car park. The most friendly welcome and lovely cake!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2018
Thank you for your review and we pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated what The Granary and local area has to offer.

For clarity of purpose for future guests the site we occupy falls within a protected conservation area, within the Yorkshire Dales National Park, with residential premises in close proximity having a bearing on how the site is managed in the best interests of all parties on and around the site. Local planning restrictions are also in place governing what we can and cannot do which severely impact on the development of the site.

Addressing the specific issue of the mattress this is subjective depending on the individuals needs but we are addressing the matter and will upgrade if found necessary and having had a roaring fire in the Granary in last few days user error may be the answer to this concern!

T
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heikecaro...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place with space.”
Reviewed May 10, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Location great for walking. Our cars didn't move and we still spent 3 days visiting Aysgarth Falls, Bolton Castle, the Templar Chapel and the gorgeous surrounding area. A beautiful sunny May bank holiday meant we could breakfast outside, dip our toes in the River Ure at Aysgarth Low Falls and watch herons hang out too. The Granary is great as it has 3 bathrooms, plenty space and is very clean and well equipped.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2018
It is always pleasing to receive a positive and appreciative review which gives us the encouragement to continue Holiday Letting our properties. We are pleased the Granary met your needs and expectations and we look forward to accommodating you at a future date. Thank you for choosing us for your short break and your positive review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2018
Thank you for your positive review. We endeavour to please which on this occasion we appear to have succeeded and met your needs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 14, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Granary and would thank you for your positive review and choosing us for your holiday break .. Your appreciation of what we have to offer encourages us to continue holiday renting our properties .. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Armstrong...
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great property in a really good location. Very clean and spacious, there were 8 of us and there was plenty of space indoors. Well equipped kitchen with lots of utensils, cupboard space etc, large dining table and plenty of seating in lounge. Beds very comfortable, plenty of towels and hot water. Location great, Aysgarth Falls and Bolton Castle only a short drive away. The only thing I would do to improve this property is to maybe have the wall at the front built up a little and add a side gate. This would make it more secure for pets, and young children . Although the owner did tell us beforehand that the wall was low, we could only really let our dogs into the garden on a lead or very closely supervised in order to stop them venturing on to the lovely shared garden area and neighbouring properties, every time we opened one of the external doors it was a bit of a challenge to stop them getting out! Otherwise perfect, a lovely property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2017
Hi Tracy

Thank you for taking the time to review the Granary and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us .. We strive hard to meet our guests expectations and your comments and views are well received and will no doubt encourage other prospective guests to spend time with us .. Thanks again ... Kind Regards Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBoulton1...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Home from home in a beautiful location”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a three night break here for two families consisting of 4 adults, three children (9,10 & 14) and a dog. Property is just perfect - spacious and clean and really well furnished. Booking was amazingly quick and easy and all communication done via email with really quick responses.
We cooked in two nights and ventured to the local pub one night (also fantastic) All cooking utensils & cleaning provisions provided - fully working cooker, toaster, microwave. Plenty of cupboard space for your provisions. Full set of towels provided for each person (and nice sized bath towels - not the little things that hardly cover anything!) There was at least one hairdryer on site - although I had brought my own.
Main bathroom had a full shower facility - the other two bathrooms had mixer taps. If I was being picky I would say that the other bathrooms would have benefited from a hook on the wall for the shower head and a shower curtain - but a couple of days sat in the bath while showering off wasn't a hardship!
Kids would have liked Wi-Fi to have been available - but again, it was no hassle without. A few games provided (the Jenga made an appearance) and the Movie option on the Sky package kept them more than entertained in the evenings.
We used this as a base to walk and visit local attractions including: Aysgarth Falls, Ingleborough Caves, Castle Bolton & Bolton Abbey.
A truly fantastic place to stay in a stunning part of the country.
We will definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2017
Hi Sarah We are pleased your family enjoyed The Granary which does prove time and again to be our most popular affordable 'family/group gathering' property .. We look forward to your next visit and you never know your 'picky bits' may be in place for you (no promises though!) .. Thank you for your kind words and positive review which gives us the encouragement and incentive to continue Holiday Letting .. Kind Regards Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing