We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value at the Alma Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alma Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Alma Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Colne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value at the Alma Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

If you are looklng for a base to explore the Pennines and the Dales, the Alma is ideal. The rooms are newly refurbished and the menu and wine list are outstanding. Clitheroe and Skipton are within easy reach.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConteAlmaviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    37
    13
    15
    17
See reviews for
56
77
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Visited at lunchtime and pleasantly surprised by the tasteful decoration and spacious dining areas.
Wide selection on the menu and specials board and quite honestly spoilt for choice.
We opted for the soup for starters which came with homemade bread roll and butter. Why place the butter on a paper napkin to which it sticks?
The potato and leek soup was sent back as it had been over seasoned with far too much pepper. Was informed the chef said 'that was how it was made', obviously, but suggest he had not tasted it as it left your mouth tingling. The replacement courgette soup could not be faulted as was the case with the other dishes served.
Young staff were friendly but service was a bit slow and would hate to be there when busy. Only around a dozen people having lunch when we were there.
We would go back as the food was excellent when it arrived.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prisoner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in Room 4 which is at the front of the Alma. It had far reaching views over the hills.We had stayed in another hotel the previous evening and came here as part of a wedding party, with all the other rooms being occupied by family and friends. Walking into the room was like a breath of fresh air! It was beautifully decorated with excellent facilities, coffee maker, radio with ipod dock etc. There is even a small cupboard in the foyer with items in it you may have forgotten for an overnight stay. The cleanliness was excellent. Complimentary slippers were provided and also the loan of bathrobes during our stay. The Alma have certainly thought of those small touches which make a stay more enjoyable.
The wedding breakfast was superb given the number of people attending and we would really like to come back another day to eat in the restaurant and have something off the regular menu.
It would make an ideal getaway for a large family gathering or a romantic break for two.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which had excellent views from the front of the Alma.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staceynco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just returned from a two day break at The Alma Inn. We arrived early, (11:30am), not expecting to be able to access our room until 2pm, but were really pleased to be able to go straight in. The room was tastefully furnished with a feature wall, coffee maker, ipod docking station, in addition to the usual features you would expect of 4* rated accommodation. Lovely snuggly dressing gowns too.
Food was available all day, though we were glad we had booked for dinner as it proved to be a popular venue, in spite of its relatively rural location. All the staff were very attentive (and well trained) and we were spoilt for choice with a wide and varied menu.The food we had was very good. Finished the evenIng on a comfy sofa in one of the bar areas.
After a good night's sleep we woke to discover it was 9;45 and assumed we had missed breakfast. We were very pleasantly surprised when half an hour late we received a call asking if we would like breakfast. Consequently we had a relaxing breakfast in the bar by the fire with equally excellent sevice to the previous evening.
All in all this was a most enoyable short break and I would certainly return to The Alma Inn.

Room Tip: Each room is individually decorated. We had room 6 with lovely views over the hills. Nice touches su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Visited the Alma for an afternoon Christmas meal. Having been to the Alma a number of occasions this year, including having our wedding night celebrations here, we expected the usual great meal and service. The food was great and couldnt fault it. However the service was very poor compared to usual. We arrived 10 minutes earlier than our table was booked for. we got asked if we wanted to sit in the sofa area so went through and we seemed to be forgotton about after that. We had to ask if we could sit at our table and ask for menus as they wanted to take our order, on more than one occassion, without us looking at a menu. We got told upon arrival our table wasnt ready but even when we were seated 30 minutes after we arrived they hadnt finished setting the table. When eventually at the table we asked for some drinks which they forgot about and had to be reminded about. When clearing the table they leant over us instead of walking round the table. It seemed to take a very long time to clear the table between courses. We appreciate time is left between courses as not to rush people however it took a very long time. There were only a couple of other tables in use whilst we were there and there were a lot of staff. It was as if they werent interested and didnt care. As good as the food is, we will be trying other pubs/restaurants in the area before returning here. We dont mind paying for good food but service should be equally good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beaks2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Over to many years to remember whilst travelling for work i have stayed in many types of accomodation.
Well, The Alam Inn is probably no definitely the best accommodation i have stayed in, from the friendly welcome from the front desk which ran through all the staff members.
Even the key ring, a real cricket ball with key attached was excellent.

The room was large warm, welcoming with a coffee making machine , free water, a proper Digital radio and of course TV, Molton Brown Toiletries , large fluffy towels and an incredible comfortable bed.

The food for both dinner and breakfast was outsatding.

Will back to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howardofheadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrowford, Lancs
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The inn sits on top of a hill with fantastic views of the local country side. A major extension and redevelopment took place a number of years ago and as a result you get the "feel" of an old inn but inside everything is fresh and modern.

Staff were numerous , attentive and friendly. The menue was large and varied. The food was tasty and of a good size! I would recommend it .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terryandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colne
2.0 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Burnley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Burnley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
9.8 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rye Flatt Farmhouse
Rye Flatt Farmhouse
#3 of 5 in Colne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alma Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alma Inn

Property: The Alma Inn
Address: Emmott Lane | Laneshawbridge, Colne BB8 7EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Colne
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Colne
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alma Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Alma Hotel Colne
The Alma Inn Colne, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing